AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Possible SSE problem with Athlon XP 1800+
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/07/2011 05:28 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
Answer This question was answered by go_for, on Monday, October 10, 2011 1:58 AM

Answer:
Hi.
If the current OS install is from a time before the system had SSE capable processor then that might be a reason.

Usually it is recommended to update BIOS to latest version, then a fresh install of OS to have the SSE picked up.

There are a couple of CPU stress testing tools that will detect if SSE is enabled.

e.g Hot CPU Tester Pro, StressCPU

http://www.ultimatebootcd.com/
 10/07/2011 05:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DarthNihilus
Lurker

Posts: 2
Joined: 10/07/2011

Hi there.
I have Athlon XP 1800+ on A7V8X-X mb. As far as I remember it does has SSE. BUT! Yesterday I'd installed Unity3D, and it crashed with a C000001D exception when I tried to run it. From my googling I learned that this is a problem with the SSE. So my question is - how to check if the SSE is ?enabled?, any tips where to find it in my BIOS, and is there smth with what I can "enable" it? Well any proper advice will do...

P.S. XP SP3.
 10/07/2011 03:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

Answer Answer
Hi.
If the current OS install is from a time before the system had SSE capable processor then that might be a reason.

Usually it is recommended to update BIOS to latest version, then a fresh install of OS to have the SSE picked up.

There are a couple of CPU stress testing tools that will detect if SSE is enabled.

e.g Hot CPU Tester Pro, StressCPU

http://www.ultimatebootcd.com/

-------------------------
 10/10/2011 01:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DarthNihilus
Lurker

Posts: 2
Joined: 10/07/2011

This is the only cpu that was on this MB.
 10/10/2011 11:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bogey
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5643
Joined: 03/25/2005

Does the software demand SSE2 instructions?

Your xp has SSE instructions but not SSE2.

-------------------------
MSI K7N2 Delta2 LSR|35w XP-M2400 11x214 1.62V|2x512MB OCZ EL 2 2 2 11 2.9V|9600XT|Seasonic 350w
Abit AN7|XP-M2800 10.5x227 1.62V|2x512MB Mushkin XP4000 2 3 2 11 3.2V|9600XT|Seasonic 550w
Asus A7V600|XP-M2600 6-11x202 1.6V|2x512 Crucial PC3200 2.5 3 3 9 2.7V|PCI 32MB gfx|Corsair 450w
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information