AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: K7VZA help!
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/12/2003 09:49 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/12/2003 09:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JasonD
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 11/12/2003

Okay here's the problem.

The K7VZA is a 200 FSB, socket 462 motherboard (which I have been told is the same as a Socket A, but don't know for sure).

I recently flashed the BIOS to ver 3.7. Before the BIOS flash, I believe that the max processor recognized was an Athlon 1300. After the flash, the AMD site said that it should recognize Athlon XP 2600+.

So here's my question.....

If I put in say an Athlon XP 1800, will it actually work? The 1600 has a FSB of 200/266, and is socket A. Not to mention that the processor speed is not normally recognized (but the BIOS flash said that it should allow more powerful ones now).

I just don't want to buy one and then find out it won't work...
 11/12/2003 05:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MadMarky
Senior Member

Posts: 1240
Joined: 10/06/2003

Since your board has a maximum fsb of 266, the fastest processor you can use is a AMD XP2400+ or a 2600+(266MHz fsb version).
Because that version of the 2600+ is very hard to find(almost all of them are 333Mhz fsb), i'd say a xp2400+ is the maximum.

-------------------------
AMD Athlon X2 4600+ @ 2.8Ghz
DFI Lanparty NF4 Ultra-D
2x 1GB G.Skill PC4000
XFX GeForce 7900GT
Antec TrueBlue 480w PSU
Thermaltake Xaser III case
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information