AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Audio problems
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06/26/2004 01:13 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/26/2004 01:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dazza30
Senior Member

Posts: 540
Joined: 06/05/2004

Please could some one advise me .
Ive been chasing this problem for two weeks now to no avail.
I have no sound or audio controlls in my task bar or controll panel, i have looked in device manager to see if there is a conflict but there isnt, and all the audio drivers and codecs are said to be working properly. Even though when i go into the controll panel and enter the sounds and audio devices menu i am told there is no audio device installed even though there is.
I have tried installing new a new audio driver with no results, and i have follwed all the online and windows help instructions i can get.
My system is a
Windows xp pro
AMD XP 2600+
Gigabyte GA-7VM400M mobo
Which is an all in one it came with on board sound VIA VT1617.
VGA VIA KM400 chipset
+lan etc
120gb maxtor diamond max 8mb cache.
512mb ram ddr400 running at 333


-------------------------
AMD ATHLON 64 3000+ (newcastle)
1024MB APACER DDR3200
ASUS K8V-MX MAINBOARD
EXPERT VISION 128MB 6600GT
MAXTOR 120GIG 8MB CACHE
300GIG EXTERNAL DRIVE
WINDOWS XP PRO SP2
 06/26/2004 02:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Aubrey
Senior Member

Posts: 3663
Joined: 12/03/2003

Make sure the onboard sound is enabled in the bios.

-------------------------
( Quote )
Possession of a powerful computer is no substitute for a working brain.
A working brain is no substitute for possession of a powerful computer.
 06/27/2004 05:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dazza30
Senior Member

Posts: 540
Joined: 06/05/2004

QUOTE (Aubrey @ Jun 26 2004, 10:39 AM) Make sure the onboard sound is enabled in the bios.
The only option im given in the bios is to disable the audio or to put it on auto,
Which it is set at.
Do you have any other ideas?.

-------------------------
AMD ATHLON 64 3000+ (newcastle)
1024MB APACER DDR3200
ASUS K8V-MX MAINBOARD
EXPERT VISION 128MB 6600GT
MAXTOR 120GIG 8MB CACHE
300GIG EXTERNAL DRIVE
WINDOWS XP PRO SP2
 06/27/2004 07:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
koolaidwa
Senior Member

Posts: 9068
Joined: 04/06/2004

for one make sure it is set to auto then, install the audio drivers, should be on ur mobo CD or u can download it of the net if u cant find ur cd

-------------------------

[b' ">http://di.fm ..... CAT - "Oh no, I'm Dwain Dibley"
Just say no to Black Eyed Peas! ..... I Fish Therefore I Am!
 06/27/2004 10:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dazza30
Senior Member

Posts: 540
Joined: 06/05/2004

QUOTE (koolaidwa @ Jun 27 2004, 03:05 AM) for one make sure it is set to auto then, install the audio drivers, should be on ur mobo CD or u can download it of the net if u cant find ur cd
Hi thanks for the advice.
But ive already done all the obvious things including installing new drivers.
But i still keep losing sound, even though in the device manager im supposed to have no conflicts but no audio device installed when i check the sounds & audio devices option, it just doesnt make sense.
Some times i have sound with bad distortion and then no sound the next time i boot up, its like the computer is tempramental even though its not even a month old.
Any advice would be great.

-------------------------
AMD ATHLON 64 3000+ (newcastle)
1024MB APACER DDR3200
ASUS K8V-MX MAINBOARD
EXPERT VISION 128MB 6600GT
MAXTOR 120GIG 8MB CACHE
300GIG EXTERNAL DRIVE
WINDOWS XP PRO SP2
 06/27/2004 10:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
parsifal
Senior Member

Posts: 1460
Joined: 05/07/2004

Go to "Add/Remove Programs" and remove the VIA drivers before you reinstall it from mobo's CD.
 06/27/2004 02:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Aubrey
Senior Member

Posts: 3663
Joined: 12/03/2003

Not to petty but check the speaker connections and make sure they are in the correct plugs and are all the way in. Just happened to me the other day.

-------------------------
( Quote )
Possession of a powerful computer is no substitute for a working brain.
A working brain is no substitute for possession of a powerful computer.
 06/27/2004 02:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
parsifal
Senior Member

Posts: 1460
Joined: 05/07/2004

QUOTE (Aubrey @ Jun 27 2004, 07:33 PM) Not to petty but check the speaker connections and make sure they are in the correct plugs and are all the way in. Just happened to me the other day.
Yeah, Aubrey, sometimes we just forget the "tinny" things Happened to me too.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information