AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: compatibility
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/28/2004 10:52 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/28/2004 10:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ritunjan
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 10/24/2004

My processor is Athlon XP 2600+(333 FSB) and DDR Ram is 256MB. Now problem is the processor specs are shown correctly but RAM is shown as 192MB only. The RAM is shown to be OK in other PCs. Also when RAM of 256MB from other PCs are installed on my motherboard same is the result. Is there a problem with my motherboard. My present motherboard is Jetway V2MDMP. Please advise on this and do I have to change my motherboard. Also do suggest a compatible motherboard if that is the case, preferrably MSI.
 10/29/2004 12:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
45 Auto
Senior Member

Posts: 514
Joined: 10/11/2003

Your board has integrated graphics. And all boards tat are equipeed with integrated graphics use some of the system memory as graphics memory. In your case, the board is using 64 megs of your ram for graphics. 256-192=64. Thereis nothing wrong. It is just the way the system works.

-------------------------
955BE/MA790GP-UD4H/HAF932/Corsair H5O/Sapphire 6850/2x2gig Ocz reaper dd2-8500/Corsair Tx650

Asrock 939dualie/5400Brisbane/6gig AData ddr2-800/4850/Antec basiq500/HSF from 955BE
 10/29/2004 01:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ritunjan
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 10/24/2004

But booting speed is also notably very slow. One of my friend has Athlon 2400+, 256 MB on MSI K7 motherboard. But the speed at which his system boots up is amazing.
 10/29/2004 09:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
45 Auto
Senior Member

Posts: 514
Joined: 10/11/2003

Again, same problem. You're using a portion of your ram for graphics. That memorry is dedicated for graphics use and not used for anything else. Since XP needs a minimum of 256megs of ram, anything less will result in a slower boot. Instead of everything being loaded in memory and booting from there, your system has to constantly seek information from the hard drive. This slows down the boot, as well as most everything else the system does. Your solution is to add memory, preferably at least another 256megs. And as to your friend, more than likely he is using a dedicated graphics card with its own memory. That would be the reason it boots faster.

-------------------------
955BE/MA790GP-UD4H/HAF932/Corsair H5O/Sapphire 6850/2x2gig Ocz reaper dd2-8500/Corsair Tx650

Asrock 939dualie/5400Brisbane/6gig AData ddr2-800/4850/Antec basiq500/HSF from 955BE
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information