AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: The long and sad story of my computer...
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/17/2003 08:07 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/17/2003 08:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ZuA
Junior Member

Posts: 19
Joined: 10/14/2003

DONT JUST CLOSE THIS THREAD CAUSE IT'S LONG!!!!I NEED YOUR HELP!!!
Ok this is the story...... Long time ago I was installing a new heatsink and and fan and when I was doing this I acidentally chipped the core of my xp athlon +1800. Well so I went out and bought a new xp athlon +2200 and tried it out. When it started all the lights on the keyboard would light up, the cd-rw would flash like once, and the floppy light would go on, but never started up! So I had someone I know come over and checked it out and they had no idea what was wrong with it. So i let him take my +1800 see if that was bad, and it was. So I went out and bought a new motherboard, a new case, and new psu (came with case). I installed it all and started it up, well dumb me tightned one of the screws to much and it grounded out on the bottom of the motherboard on the case!!! So now mad and [content edited] I go out and buy the same motherboard and make sure the motherboard isn't touching at all when I installed it. Well I went to turn it on and.... SAME PROBLEM AS BEFORE WHEN I JUST HAD THE NEW CASE!!!! Keyboard lights go up, fans spin, floppy lights up, but no beeps no nothing!!!!!! It has been about 6 weeks now and about $225 AND MY COMPUTER IS STILL BROKEN!! Here are some specs of my comp if it could help you solve my problem.

ASRock K7S8XE motherboard
Athlon xp +2200
ATI Radeon 7000
Maxtor fireball (dont know model) 40 GB
anything else you need to know just ask.....PLEASE HELP MEEEEEE!!!!!!!! PLEEAAASEEE!!!!!!
 11/17/2003 11:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Java
Elite

Posts: 2298
Joined: 10/05/2003

OK, first, is the processor Retail or OEM?

2nd, have you tried a bench build yet?
Try removing all components except the processor and heatsink/fan. Power up system and see if you get any BIOS error beeps.

Also, see AMD's post regarding troubleshooting tips, it has a great deal of info.


[borg], can you link to your post regarding FAQ's? I don't remember where it is at.

-------------------------
There are 10 types of people in the world, those that understand binary and those that don't.

Java
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

System 1: A64 X2 4800 | A8N SLI Del. | 6800GT | TT Tsunami | WD 80GB HD | Plextor DVD R/W | 1GB Corsair Pro, 1GB Crucial Balistix<br>System 2 (Wife's): A64 460
 11/18/2003 12:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
woobang
Member

Posts: 26
Joined: 11/14/2003

Be very sure that the 4 pin power supply is plugged in the 2200 needs this, this will happen if you dont plug this in happens to alot of people!

-------------------------
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ Barton, NO OVERCLOCKING!
GA-7N400 Pro2 moBo/ FBS@ 400/11.0
1024MB / Geil Ultra Series PC3200 6-3-3-2.5 DDR X 2 (512) dual channel
WDC WD800JB-00CRA1 (80 gig @ 7200rpms)
Lite-On CD-ROM max 56x
Lite-On Re-Write 52x32x52x
Aslylum Geforce FX 5900 128MB / stock copper heatsink w/2 fans, NO OVERCLOCKING!
Enermax 420 (NoiseTaker) watt PSU / 2 fans
Cooling:
Thermaltake Extreme Volcano 12 CPU @4000rpm
2x front intake Cool
 11/18/2003 05:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SDA
Senior Member

Posts: 3895
Joined: 10/06/2003

Agreed with Java on the bench build, though if I were you I'd keep in memory and video card so you can watch the POST.

What sort of memory are you using?

-------------------------
DEC Pentium X2 5200+ w/ HyperCache (Ezra core)
Asus M7NCD-MAX3 (OPTi Vendetta 82C760)
6x Generic 32MB PC2700 RDRAM (50ns SIMMs)
2x nVidia Millennium X1800 Duo (SLI mode)
12x (daisy-chained) Quantum Medalist 180GXP (w/ separate SCSI-1 adapter)

"Oh, you started a Rube Goldberg machine. A Rube Goldberg machine... called JUSTICE." <a href='http://www.boomspeed.com/old_camper/amdforumsircchat.ht
 11/18/2003 08:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ZuA
Junior Member

Posts: 19
Joined: 10/14/2003

Ok the processor was OEM :\ and for memory kingston 256 pc2100 and a samsung 128 pc2100

and the 4 pin from the psu? I've saw that but where do I plug it into....
 11/18/2003 09:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
[borg]
Senior Member

Posts: 528
Joined: 10/07/2003

About the FAQ: http://forums.amd.com/index.php?showtopic=836' ">http://forums.amd.com/index.php?showtopic=836
And get someone to install everything for you, that was one expensive mounting-error spree

-------------------------
Barton 1833@2200 (11.0x200) AQXEA 0329 XPMW 1.75vcore
NF7-S rev2.0 + 2x512 DDR 400Mhz + SLK-947U + TT SF II
FX5600 256 DDR 350/450
 11/18/2003 10:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ZuA
Junior Member

Posts: 19
Joined: 10/14/2003

Well what am I supposta do, the motherboard doesn't have a 4 pin connector thingy http://www.newegg.com/app/Show...p?im...-157-009-01.jpg' ">http://www.newegg.com/app/Show....JPG/13-157-009-01.jpg thats where bought it from too so that is my exact mobo.
I MEANT TO SAY DOESN'T!!!
 11/18/2003 11:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
[borg]
Senior Member

Posts: 528
Joined: 10/07/2003

you didn't plug in that 4 pin connector thingy? plug the thingy in already

-------------------------
Barton 1833@2200 (11.0x200) AQXEA 0329 XPMW 1.75vcore
NF7-S rev2.0 + 2x512 DDR 400Mhz + SLK-947U + TT SF II
FX5600 256 DDR 350/450
 11/18/2003 02:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MadMarky
Senior Member

Posts: 1240
Joined: 10/06/2003

You said you tightened a screw too much, and the motherboard grounded. Normally this is impossible. You did use the spacers to mount the motherboard in the case, did you?

-------------------------
AMD Athlon X2 4600+ @ 2.8Ghz
DFI Lanparty NF4 Ultra-D
2x 1GB G.Skill PC4000
XFX GeForce 7900GT
Antec TrueBlue 480w PSU
Thermaltake Xaser III case
 11/18/2003 03:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ZuA
Junior Member

Posts: 19
Joined: 10/14/2003

Well I didn't really tighten it to much i just fogot the mounting thingy(my fav word) and pushed it down and screwed it in and..... (sniff sniff) Whats that smell
 11/18/2003 03:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MadMarky
Senior Member

Posts: 1240
Joined: 10/06/2003

QUOTE (ZuA @ Nov 18 2003, 09:06 PM) Well I didn't really tighten it to much i just fogot the mounting thingy(my fav word) and pushed it down and screwed it in and..... (sniff sniff) Whats that smell
I think i mean the mounting thingy (lol ).
But, why do you ask our help when hardware gets defective because of your fault? (cpu crushed, motherboard badly mounted)
Maybe you should have your computer assembled at the local computerstore, instead of doing it yourself (nofi)

-------------------------
AMD Athlon X2 4600+ @ 2.8Ghz
DFI Lanparty NF4 Ultra-D
2x 1GB G.Skill PC4000
XFX GeForce 7900GT
Antec TrueBlue 480w PSU
Thermaltake Xaser III case
 11/18/2003 05:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ZuA
Junior Member

Posts: 19
Joined: 10/14/2003

No I was just a dum dum.....and I'm not posting just cause of that I bought another new mobo, its in fine now, but with the 4 pin power thingy.... my mobo doesn't have one.... is there anything i can do or do I ahve to go out and buy another mobo?
 11/18/2003 06:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MadMarky
Senior Member

Posts: 1240
Joined: 10/06/2003

Most AMD motherboards don't have one, only few use it. It is mostly intended for Intel P4 systems. It doesn't matter if your motherboard misses that extra connector, your system will run fine without it.

-------------------------
AMD Athlon X2 4600+ @ 2.8Ghz
DFI Lanparty NF4 Ultra-D
2x 1GB G.Skill PC4000
XFX GeForce 7900GT
Antec TrueBlue 480w PSU
Thermaltake Xaser III case
 11/18/2003 06:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ZuA
Junior Member

Posts: 19
Joined: 10/14/2003

Then is there any other reasonable things that could be wrong with it?
 11/18/2003 06:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MadMarky
Senior Member

Posts: 1240
Joined: 10/06/2003

Well, you could try to boot without the processor or memory installed, then the motherboard should really start to beep(unless the pc-speaker is disconnected ). If it still doesn't beep, it is likely to be defective(again?).

-------------------------
AMD Athlon X2 4600+ @ 2.8Ghz
DFI Lanparty NF4 Ultra-D
2x 1GB G.Skill PC4000
XFX GeForce 7900GT
Antec TrueBlue 480w PSU
Thermaltake Xaser III case
 11/18/2003 06:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ZuA
Junior Member

Posts: 19
Joined: 10/14/2003

reading the manual and i dont even see system speaker or anything like that.... all i see is external speakers (allows you to connect external speakers) and panel audio connector. I tried both with the speaker but no beeps
 11/18/2003 07:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SDA
Senior Member

Posts: 3895
Joined: 10/06/2003

Have you tried a bench build? Remove the power connector from your hard drive, CD drive, floppy drive, etc., and unplug any PCI cards you may have, then try booting up.

I'll be able to help more in a second, as soon as my currently choked connection allows me to get your manual..

Okay, yes, the "external speaker connector" is in fact what you're looking for. Connect it to the speaker connector (it's the front panel connector that looks like it should have four wires coming out of it but only has two, one on either end of the plug-thingy).

-------------------------
DEC Pentium X2 5200+ w/ HyperCache (Ezra core)
Asus M7NCD-MAX3 (OPTi Vendetta 82C760)
6x Generic 32MB PC2700 RDRAM (50ns SIMMs)
2x nVidia Millennium X1800 Duo (SLI mode)
12x (daisy-chained) Quantum Medalist 180GXP (w/ separate SCSI-1 adapter)

"Oh, you started a Rube Goldberg machine. A Rube Goldberg machine... called JUSTICE." <a href='http://www.boomspeed.com/old_camper/amdforumsircchat.ht
 11/18/2003 07:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ZuA
Junior Member

Posts: 19
Joined: 10/14/2003

it's so weird I tried a new video card i have laying around same prob, did the test you said same prob cept the light dont go on from teh cd-rw and the floppy (hmm wonder why) It doesn't seem to post or anything i have no idea wtf is wrong! I think i might bring it to a local computer shop and have them run some tests on it. Think maybe the CPU is faulty? I mean what else could be wrong with it?! I unscrewed the mobo and made sure nothing was shorting it out on the bottom er anything and nothing. What else could the problem be!?
 11/19/2003 04:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MadMarky
Senior Member

Posts: 1240
Joined: 10/06/2003

QUOTE (ZuA @ Nov 19 2003, 01:40 AM)it's so weird I tried a new video card i have laying around same prob, did the test you said same prob cept the light dont go on from teh cd-rw and the floppy (hmm wonder why)
Why the lights don't go on?
Well, maybe because you've pulled the power cord out of the drives, like SDA told you to (lol )
QUOTE It doesn't seem to post or anything i have no idea wtf is wrong! I think i might bring it to a local computer shop and have them run some tests on it. Think maybe the CPU is faulty?  I mean what else could be wrong with it?! I unscrewed the mobo and made sure nothing was shorting it out on the bottom er anything and nothing. What else could the problem be!?
Did you connect the speaker to the motherboard yet? Please, stop hassling around with other parts and such, and just try to connect the pc speaker to the frontpanel connector of your motherboard. We can't help you if we don't know if the pc motherboard is still able to beep...

-------------------------
AMD Athlon X2 4600+ @ 2.8Ghz
DFI Lanparty NF4 Ultra-D
2x 1GB G.Skill PC4000
XFX GeForce 7900GT
Antec TrueBlue 480w PSU
Thermaltake Xaser III case
 11/19/2003 05:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ZuA
Junior Member

Posts: 19
Joined: 10/14/2003

I was being carcastic....
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information