AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: The long and sad story of my computer...
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/17/2003 08:07 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 Previous Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/20/2003 01:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sirarctic
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Joined: 11/14/2003

Is it possible that the "clear CMOS" jumper on the motherboard is in the clear position? Some manufacturers place the jumper in this position to prevent the battery from going dead.
 11/22/2003 10:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ZuA
Junior Member

Posts: 19
Joined: 10/14/2003

naw i tried it with it on and off niether worked...I serouisly dont know what to do!
 11/22/2003 11:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ZuA
Junior Member

Posts: 19
Joined: 10/14/2003

:-o O MEE GEE!!!! Could this be the problem!?

http://mirror.ati.com/products/radeon7000/radeon7000/' ">http://mirror.ati.com/products/radeon7000/radeon7000/
AGP 2.0 Compliant BUS - AGP 2X (3.3V), AGP 4X (1.5V), or AGP2X/4X based systems, PCI 2.2 compliant - PCI-33 and PCI-66, or Universal PCI based systems

http://www.asrock.com/Drivers/...SR_U...M/K7S8XE_UM.pdf' ">http://www.asrock.com/Drivers/...l/ASR_UM/K7S8XE_UM.pdf

Page 11 "Please do not use 3.3V AGP card on K7S8XE AGP slot! It may cause permanent damage!"

When it says that does it mean to the graphics card, the mobo, or both? If it's just the v-card its no biggy cause it still works.
 11/23/2003 07:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MadMarky
Senior Member

Posts: 1240
Joined: 10/06/2003

It could be the problem, now that you mention it.
On what motherboard was the card used previously?

-------------------------
AMD Athlon X2 4600+ @ 2.8Ghz
DFI Lanparty NF4 Ultra-D
2x 1GB G.Skill PC4000
XFX GeForce 7900GT
Antec TrueBlue 480w PSU
Thermaltake Xaser III case
 11/24/2003 10:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ZuA
Junior Member

Posts: 19
Joined: 10/14/2003

yea that was the card i was using the whhooolllee ttiimmee, but the thing is, i was using it when all i did was buy the processor and still used the old mobo, it was working fine in that mobo cept when i just bought the cpu. The only thing i can see why it didn't work is the cpu took out the mobo also in a sucidal bomb. I guess for now im gonna have to barrow some1 8x v-card and see if that is the prob.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information