AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Wrong CPU in "Processor in a Box" Package?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/13/2003 12:36 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/13/2003 12:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bernhard G.
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 12/13/2003

Hello,

I bought a new Athlon XP 2500+, at least the label on the box says that. It was "processor in a box" that comes with a heatsink and a certificate of authenticity. But the BIOS and Linux say it is only a Athlon XP 1900+.

Here is the contents of /proc/cpuinfo:

processor : 0
vendor_id : AuthenticAMD
cpu family : 6
model : 10
model name : AMD Athlon™ XP 1900+
stepping : 0
cpu MHz : 1466.647
cache size : 512 KB
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 1
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 mmx fxsr sse syscall mmxext 3dnowext 3dnow
bogomips : 2899.96


Is it possible that AMD accidentally put the wrong CPU into the box? The packing was unbrocken and I think it is almost impossible to open the box without damaging it.

I haven't read the label on the processor before installing it and now it is masked by the heatsink. I have however written down the serial number.

Regards,
Bernhard
 12/13/2003 12:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
klrk1400
Senior Member

Posts: 962
Joined: 11/04/2003

Sounds like you have your FSB set at 133 instead of 166. Reset in the bios or change the jumper setting on your motherboard whichever your motherboard takes.

-------------------------

Folding for Team #34106' ">http://forums.amd.com/index.php?showforum=27
 12/13/2003 01:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bernhard G.
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 12/13/2003

Thank you. That solved the problem. Silly thing, I should have read the manual of my new motherboard.

Regards,
Bernhard
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information