AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Problems with AMD3200(Barton)400mhz
Topic Summary:
Created On: 08/29/2004 06:32 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/29/2004 06:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
chrisw666
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 08/29/2004

Fit a new Barton3200(400mhz) cpu to my Asus A7N8X Deluxe(latest bios) mother board also fitted a new Arctic Cooling Copper Silent 2l (blue Light) (maximum Support XP3400). Since i have fitted the the new cpu sometimes when i am useing the pc the screen will go blank for less than a second then come back on, the pc never locks up.

Please can someone help me to solve this problem.

Thanks
 08/29/2004 09:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
parsifal
Senior Member

Posts: 1460
Joined: 05/07/2004

Hi, welcome to forum.
It can be an OS problem if you are using an old install but, it can be also high temps, bad RAM, bad PSU, bad drivers or corrupted BIOS.
If is the OS, a repair or fresh install will fix the problem;
If you have high temps, you should try to drop down them;
Update all the drivers and the BIOS file.
To check the RAM, run memtest86' ">http://memtest86.com for several hours (overnight if you can);
Post the PSU brand, wattage and rails amperages (you can find the info in PSU's attached label) and post the system hardware too. Thanks.
 08/31/2004 09:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
chrisw666
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 08/29/2004

I have run the memory test for 6 hours and no problems.

Here are my system specs:

Crucial 512 DDR400 PC3200 x 2
Q-TEC PSU 550W Dual Fan Gold
Arctic Cooling Copper Silent 2l (blue Light) (maximum Support XP3400)
Lian Li PC 60 Aluminium Midi-Tower
Asus A7N8X DELUXE
LG DVD RW/RAM
NEC DVD RW 2500A
LITE ON CDRW
FLOPPY DRIVE
GEFORCE FX 5600

I got a feeling that its either the O/S(XP PRO) or temp. Any other help please.

Thanks

Chris
 08/31/2004 02:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
parsifal
Senior Member

Posts: 1460
Joined: 05/07/2004

Ok so the RAM is all right.
The PSU is a cheap one and i doubt i can really deliver 550W; anyway, your system doesn't need 550W to work; i can't find the PSU rail amperages anywhere so, do me a favor and check the PSU label. The recommended minimum specs are: +3,3v- 28A; +5v- 30A; +12v- 15A; -12v- 0,8A; -5v- 0,3A; 5VSB- 2A. Anything under this can result in serious power problems.
Do you know the system temps? If they are under 60ºC, they are fine. Not great but o.k.
Now, what about doing an OS repair or clean install?
 08/31/2004 05:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
chrisw666
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 08/29/2004

Done a full reinstall and the pc now locks up. Temps are 40c. I might try a new PSU can you recommend one? I am also thinking of changing the cooler. Any other ideas for me to try?

Chris
 08/31/2004 05:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
chrisw666
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 08/29/2004

Ok here i go again, still getting the blank screen. PC Probe is saying M/B temp 22c and CPU 36c. Am i right in thinking it could be the PSU or CPU faulty(2 days old).

Cheers
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information