AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Overclocking for first time XP-M 2400+
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/14/2005 08:48 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/14/2005 08:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
brencat
Senior Member

Posts: 275
Joined: 10/11/2005

Hey All. Just trying to get my stuff in order before I attempt overclocking for the 1st time. My mobo is an A7N8X Deluxe, and I will be replacing the existing XP desktop 2200+ and 1G of PC2700 RAM with a shiny new XP-M 2400+ and 1G of Corsair XMS PC3200. Originally I was going to keep my old RAM but when I saw how cheap the Corsair RAM was and how many of you all seem to have an easier time overclocking with the FSB at 200mhz, I decided to switch it.

I also bought a Thermaltake Volcano 12 heatsink/fan.

I want to know the following:

1. After I install the new RAM, CPU, and heatsink/fan and power up the PC for the first time, what should my very first settings be in BIOS with regard to multiplier and Vcore? (I already know that I have to set the FSB to 200mhz, and the memory frequency to "By SPD").

2. FYI, my target mhz is 11 x 200, or 11.5 x 200 tops. I will most likely NOT be overclocking the FSB beyond 200 mhz because it will be plenty fast at that point. I'm just not sure how quick to push my system to get to those speeds having never done this before. In other words, should I start at 10 x 200, then 10.5 x 200, 11 x 200, 11.5 x 200?? Or can I just set it at 11 x 200 right away? What Vcores do I need at each of those settings?

Any advice you all have will be much appreciated. Rgds, B

-------------------------
XP-M 2400+ @2.23ghz (12 x 186), 1.575v | TT Volcano 12
A7N8X Deluxe Rev 1.04, Bios 1004
2 GB Corsair XMS PC3200 C2 (2-3-2-6 @ 2.7v)
80G WD HDD | GeCube X800XL @ 435/574
Enermax 350W (32A-32A-26A)

"It is better to die a free man, weapon in hand, than to live life as a coward and a slave."
 10/15/2005 12:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dannyj
Senior Member

Posts: 211
Joined: 09/02/2005

QUOTE(brencat @ Oct 14 2005, 05:48 PM)Hey All. Just trying to get my stuff in order before I attempt overclocking for the 1st time. My mobo is an A7N8X Deluxe, and I will be replacing the existing XP desktop 2200+ and 1G of PC2700 RAM with a shiny new XP-M 2400+ and 1G of Corsair XMS PC3200.  Originally I was going to keep my old RAM but when I saw how cheap the Corsair RAM was and how many of you all seem to have an easier time overclocking with the FSB at 200mhz, I decided to switch it.

I also bought a Thermaltake Volcano 12 heatsink/fan.

I want to know the following:

1. After I install the new RAM, CPU, and heatsink/fan and power up the PC for the first time, what should my very first settings be in BIOS with regard to multiplier and Vcore? (I already know that I have to set the FSB to 200mhz, and the memory frequency to "By SPD").

2. FYI, my target mhz is 11 x 200, or 11.5 x 200 tops. I will most likely NOT be overclocking the FSB beyond 200 mhz because it will be plenty fast at that point. I'm just not sure how quick to push my system to get to those speeds having never done this before. In other words, should I start at 10 x 200, then 10.5 x 200, 11 x 200, 11.5 x 200?? Or can I just set it at 11 x 200 right away? What Vcores do I need at each of those settings?

Any advice you all have will be much appreciated.  Rgds, B
[right][snapback]523745[/snapback][/right]


Since your CPU and and Ram etc. is new, you should start out at normal values for all untill you BURN IN the new hardware. You can download Prime 95 for free and set it up to run for 8 hours at first. ( the program looks for prime numbers, its into the millions of didgits now). After some general use and the Prime 95 burn in, you should see your cpu temps quit a bit lower than they started out. Then start your OC. I have found that pushing the FSB up and leaving the multiplyer alone on AMD chips will often get you better results that are stable, some others my tell you different. Start somewhat slow at first and you should be able to bump up your ram and cpu. CPU with air cooling and with good air flow in case you should be able to bump CPU up at least 200 to maybe 400 mhz. Your ram if you want to maybe 50. Watch your temps! If you OC to high, windows will not load and you start over a little lower. if windows loads, try prime 95 or 3dmark03( witch has a free download version) also sfi Sandra has a free download. Run these to see if your system is stable at your OC. You can set them to run several times in a row. If you can run these for several hours and your system dosn't crash and your temps are where you want them, your done. Good Luck.

-------------------------
DANNYJ

6000x2, Asus crosshair
1x 8800gtx ultra, Sound Blaster, Lian Li
2 136Raptors, dual boot, Windows and Fedora Core
4x Seagate 250's Raid 0, 1xWD 300
2x Plexor slot DVD/CD burner

 10/15/2005 09:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
brencat
Senior Member

Posts: 275
Joined: 10/11/2005

Thanks for the response. Based on what I've read in the forums, since this is a mobile chip I'm dropping into a desktop setup, it will default to 6 x 133mhz when I boot it up for the first time. Are you telling me I should run Prime95 etc. with the CPU effectively at 800 mhz just to break it in? Can't these chips handle a little more juice right off the bat?

-------------------------
XP-M 2400+ @2.23ghz (12 x 186), 1.575v | TT Volcano 12
A7N8X Deluxe Rev 1.04, Bios 1004
2 GB Corsair XMS PC3200 C2 (2-3-2-6 @ 2.7v)
80G WD HDD | GeCube X800XL @ 435/574
Enermax 350W (32A-32A-26A)

"It is better to die a free man, weapon in hand, than to live life as a coward and a slave."
 10/15/2005 11:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dannyj
Senior Member

Posts: 211
Joined: 09/02/2005

QUOTE(brencat @ Oct 15 2005, 06:55 PM)Thanks for the response. Based on what I've read in the forums, since this is a mobile chip I'm dropping into a desktop setup, it will default to 6 x 133mhz when I boot it up for the first time. Are you telling me I should run Prime95 etc. with the CPU effectively at 800 mhz just to break it in? Can't these chips handle a little more juice right off the bat?
[right][snapback]524302[/snapback][/right]

If your heatsink and case air flow is good you can bump it up. check temps fairly often. Do you really need to OC a new rig right off the bat would be a better question. If it was your new dream car would you race it cross country the fist week. Burn in is very important to your PC's health, try to be paitient and go slow and easy. Believe me I know its hard. Good luck.

-------------------------
DANNYJ

6000x2, Asus crosshair
1x 8800gtx ultra, Sound Blaster, Lian Li
2 136Raptors, dual boot, Windows and Fedora Core
4x Seagate 250's Raid 0, 1xWD 300
2x Plexor slot DVD/CD burner

 10/16/2005 10:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Stone_age
Alpha Geek

Posts: 2523
Joined: 03/16/2004

The 2400+ XP-M will default to 6x. Mine runs without a problem to 12x2XX.
But each and every CPU is different, be it a mobile or desktop. Burning in at 6 x 133, could leave you with a CPU that won't like a higher multiplier and fsb. As burning in "conditions" the transistors to run at a certain speed at a certain voltage. So I would leave the burn in process for after you acheived your overclock. At least I get the best results that way. Here is a guide to read that explains the burn in process pretty well. It is merely a suggestion, but my results in my sig speak for themselves. http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.php?t=382751' ">http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.php?t=382751

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1055T, Asus M4A89GTD Pro/USB3
Phenom II X4 945, Gigabyte MA785G-UD3H
Zacate E-350, MSI E350IS -E45

http://classicplatforms.com
 10/16/2005 11:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
brencat
Senior Member

Posts: 275
Joined: 10/11/2005

QUOTE(Stone_age @ Oct 16 2005, 10:44 AM)The 2400+ XP-M will default to 6x. Mine runs without a problem to 12x2XX.
But each and every CPU is different, be it a mobile or desktop. Burning in at 6 x 133, could leave you with a CPU that won't like a higher multiplier and fsb. As burning in "conditions" the transistors to run at a certain speed at a certain voltage. So I would leave the burn in process for after you acheived your overclock. At least I get the best results that way. Here is a guide to read that  explains the burn in process pretty well. It is merely a suggestion, but my results in my sig speak for themselves.  http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.php?t=382751' ">http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.php?t=382751
[right][snapback]524568[/snapback][/right]

Thanks for the link Stone Age. Yeah, I stumbled upon Sentenial's thread earlier today /biggrin.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='biggrin.gif' /> . Another member also suggested I go right to 11 x 200 right off the bat too. I guess the $20k question is what Vcore to start with? Since it's a 1.45v chip, maybe 1.50 or 1.55 to start, then use Sentenial's method and lower it till I get 1 hour stability on Prime95 and burn in from there. I'm not really looking to seriously push this rig. Your speeds and particularly your voltage (1.5! is EXACTLY where I'd like to be... 2200 - 2300 mhz with the FSB fixed at 200 to make it easy. However, it looks like a lot of people end up settling with Vcores in the low 1.6s.

-------------------------
XP-M 2400+ @2.23ghz (12 x 186), 1.575v | TT Volcano 12
A7N8X Deluxe Rev 1.04, Bios 1004
2 GB Corsair XMS PC3200 C2 (2-3-2-6 @ 2.7v)
80G WD HDD | GeCube X800XL @ 435/574
Enermax 350W (32A-32A-26A)

"It is better to die a free man, weapon in hand, than to live life as a coward and a slave."
 10/17/2005 01:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Stone_age
Alpha Geek

Posts: 2523
Joined: 03/16/2004

Start it at default for your board, which will be 1.55. If it boots and loads windows, start running prime95. If prime kicks in the first set of 3 tests, bump the core a step and try again.

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1055T, Asus M4A89GTD Pro/USB3
Phenom II X4 945, Gigabyte MA785G-UD3H
Zacate E-350, MSI E350IS -E45

http://classicplatforms.com
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information