AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: athlon xp 3000+ fsb
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06/11/2005 04:09 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/11/2005 04:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
roomonfire
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 06/11/2005

hi, im new to the forum and was wondering if you could help. I just upgraded from an athlon 1200+ to an amd athlon xp 3000+. Problem is that its only running at 1300mhz. I know that this is due to the fsb as its set at the default of 100mhz x 13. when trying to update it in the bios, it results in a boot failure and reloads these defaults. Any ideas because im fresh out of ideas /sad.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='sad.gif' /> ? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

AMD Athlon xp 3000+
Gigabyte GA-7VM33M-RZ
2 x 256mb corsair 2700 ram
80gb hdd
nvidia geforce fx5200
cd/rw
dvd

thanks a lot. ( i have a feeling im gonna be shelling out for a new mobo =[ )
 06/11/2005 04:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
elite_athlon
Senior Member

Posts: 7392
Joined: 06/07/2005

QUOTE(roomonfire @ Jun 11 2005, 03:09 PM)hi, im new to the forum and was wondering if you could help. I just upgraded from an athlon 1200+ to an amd athlon xp 3000+. Problem is that its only running at 1300mhz. I know that this is due to the fsb as its set at the default of 100mhz x 13. when trying to update it in the bios, it results in a boot failure and reloads these defaults. Any ideas because im fresh out of ideas  /sad.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='sad.gif' /> ? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

AMD Athlon xp 3000+
Gigabyte GA-7VM33M-RZ
2 x 256mb corsair 2700 ram
80gb hdd
nvidia geforce fx5200
cd/rw
dvd

thanks a lot.
[right][snapback]435819[/snapback][/right]

there shold be jumpers on mobo that 100 to 166

-------------------------
Join a real forum - http://www.compsupportforums.com/
 06/11/2005 04:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
roomonfire
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 06/11/2005

QUOTE(athlonxp2800+/333 @ Jun 11 2005, 08:14 PM)there shold be jumpers on mobo that 100 to 166
[right][snapback]435822[/snapback][/right]


when i try changing the fsb on the bios, there is one option that i have to enable. then i have to enter a decimal value up to 132. is this the max fsb because the board is supposed to support 333 or am i missing something blatantly obvious? Are the jumpers on the motherboard itself and if so, could anyone be kind enough to tell me how to change them?
 06/11/2005 04:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMD808
Moderator

Posts: 3771
Joined: 10/09/2004

The jumper pins on the motherboard, JP1, should not have a jumper on the pins. Remove it if there is one. The jumper will be located in the vicinity below, and to the right side of the AGP/PCI slots.

-------------------------
MODERATOR

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 06/11/2005 04:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
roomonfire
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 06/11/2005

QUOTE(AMD808 @ Jun 11 2005, 08:23 PM)The jumper pins on the motherboard, JP1, should not have a jumper on the pins.  Remove it if there is one.  The jumper will be located in the vicinity below, and to the right side of the AGP/PCI slots.
[right][snapback]435829[/snapback][/right]


ah ok. i'll go try this now and see if it works/ i can figure it out lol. thanks
 06/11/2005 04:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
roomonfire
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 06/11/2005

hmm. before i open up, this is my motherboard ;

http://www.giga-byte.com/Mothe...rodu...7VM333M-RZ.htm#' ">http://www.giga-byte.com/Mothe...oducts_7VM333M-RZ.htm#

does anyone know or see if there is any problems here, such as with the chipset? I also do not know anything about jmpers so any guidance here would also be greatly appreciated. Thanks for your help and im really pleased to see such quick replies and help /biggrin.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='biggrin.gif' />
 06/11/2005 04:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMD808
Moderator

Posts: 3771
Joined: 10/09/2004

QUOTE(roomonfire @ Jun 11 2005, 10:37 AM)hmm. before i open up, this is my motherboard  ;

http://www.giga-byte.com/Mothe...rodu...7VM333M-RZ.htm#' ">http://www.giga-byte.com/Mothe...oducts_7VM333M-RZ.htm#

does anyone know or see if there is any problems here, such as with the chipset? I also do not know anything about jmpers so any guidance here would also be greatly appreciated. Thanks for your help and im really pleased to see such quick replies and help  /biggrin.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='biggrin.gif' />
[right][snapback]435842[/snapback][/right]


Nope...chipset has full support for the 3000+ (333). Removing the jumper, then changing the bus speed in the bios should fix this. /smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif' />

-------------------------
MODERATOR

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 06/11/2005 04:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
roomonfire
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 06/11/2005

thanks a lot. fingers crossed an thanks for all the help /biggrin.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='biggrin.gif' /> right im off to give it a go

edit: all fixed. thanks a load, saved me foolishly shelling out £25 for a new mobo. who would have a tiny bit of plastic and metal could have caused me so much hassle ^^. thanks again =]
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information