AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: And now for something completely different...
Topic Summary:
Created On: 05/21/2005 05:11 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/21/2005 05:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Shielder
Senior Member

Posts: 303
Joined: 10/07/2003

Hi folks, I'm back after a forced break (lost my login and have been hellishly busy these last few months) with a question I thought I'd posted ages ago, but I can't find it now;

My set up is as given in my sig (apart from the burnt out 450W Q-Tec PoS erm PSU) and I was wondering if anyone has ever experienced their computer clock running about 50-100% too fast? At the moment, the Windows clock seems to advance 1 hour in about 30-45 minutes. Benchmarking gives normal results, so I can;t tell if my system has overclocked itself of whether the Windows clock is screwed!

Any ideas would be gratefully recieved.

Andy

P.S. I'm going to be reinstalling Winblows in the near future and putting SuSe 9.2 Pro on board. Wish me luck...

-------------------------
Athlon XP 2500+ (stock) on an Asus A7N8X with 1Gig Crucial PC3200, 30GB Maxtor and 60GB Seagate Drives (both ATA100), Asus 9560 GeForce FX5600 graphics card, on board sound and dual booting with WinXP Pro and SuSe 9.2 Pro with a 400W Q-tec PSU. Using Firefox and Thunderbird for internet and emails and OpenOffice.org for work.
 05/21/2005 05:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Stone_age
Alpha Geek

Posts: 2523
Joined: 03/16/2004

Check the clock in your bios, and see if that is at the same time as windoh's.

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1055T, Asus M4A89GTD Pro/USB3
Phenom II X4 945, Gigabyte MA785G-UD3H
Zacate E-350, MSI E350IS -E45

http://classicplatforms.com
 05/21/2005 05:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TLH
Moderator

Posts: 3641
Joined: 11/19/2004

Do you think stopping and restarting the service might have any effect?
I'm pretty sure it just does syncronization of time though.Still,might work.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

1100t on M5A99x-EVO with 2x4gb and 6870 running Win7 on Force120 ssd in Corsair 600t cooled by H100. Folding for team 34106
 05/23/2005 05:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Shielder
Senior Member

Posts: 303
Joined: 10/07/2003

Whenever the computer is rebooted, the system clock is correct. It's just when Winblows get's hold of it that it goes haywire...

-------------------------
Athlon XP 2500+ (stock) on an Asus A7N8X with 1Gig Crucial PC3200, 30GB Maxtor and 60GB Seagate Drives (both ATA100), Asus 9560 GeForce FX5600 graphics card, on board sound and dual booting with WinXP Pro and SuSe 9.2 Pro with a 400W Q-tec PSU. Using Firefox and Thunderbird for internet and emails and OpenOffice.org for work.
 05/23/2005 05:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMD808
Moderator

Posts: 3771
Joined: 10/09/2004

So, the time and date is set correctly in the bios?

Check out the service configuration. At the "Run" box, type "services.msc". Scroll down, and find "Windows Time". Verify that this is set to "Automatic".

-------------------------
MODERATOR

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information