AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Changing FSB
Topic Summary:
Created On: 05/30/2005 06:53 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/30/2005 06:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cowen1000
Senior Member

Posts: 857
Joined: 06/15/2004

Hi Guy's,
Does anyone know why after changing the FSB of an Athlon XP 2800+ about 8 - 10 times using an Abit KV7 mobo it resets it back to 'stock' and won't allow you to change it again.
I have tried 5 processors know and have exactly the same effects with all of them. I put in a new cpu and can alter the fsb upto around the 200 mark but after messing about with this in my bios about 8 times the mobo auto resets it to 'stock' and if I change it the computer won't boot up (even if I only increase it by 1 mhz), but as soon as I put a new cpu in I can change it again /mad.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='mad.gif' /> I have tried to pull the old one out and put it back in to see if that will confuse my computer into thinking it's a different processor but it doesn't work.
Has any got any idea's into this strange phenomena

-------------------------
http://www.danasoft.com/sig/hankthomas.jpg
 05/30/2005 07:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Stone_age
Alpha Geek

Posts: 2523
Joined: 03/16/2004

Tweakguard, similar to Asus CPR. http://www.abit-usa.com/technology/tweak_guard.php' ">http://www.abit-usa.com/technology/tweak_guard.php With an asus, you can bypass it by selecting halt on No errors in the CMOS menu.

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1055T, Asus M4A89GTD Pro/USB3
Phenom II X4 945, Gigabyte MA785G-UD3H
Zacate E-350, MSI E350IS -E45

http://classicplatforms.com
 05/31/2005 11:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cowen1000
Senior Member

Posts: 857
Joined: 06/15/2004

Thanks Stone Age. You have answered the question that has been puzzling me for ages. I'm now able to alter my FSB again /biggrin.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='biggrin.gif' /> /biggrin.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='biggrin.gif' /> /biggrin.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='biggrin.gif' /> /biggrin.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='biggrin.gif' /> /biggrin.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='biggrin.gif' />

-------------------------
http://www.danasoft.com/sig/hankthomas.jpg
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information