AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Need Help for CPU Upgrade
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/05/2005 11:55 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/05/2005 11:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
VictorXerri
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 04/05/2005

Hi to everyone,

I have a Chaintech main board model CT-7AJA2 with 133 FSB & latest bios installed.

I am about to buy an Athlon XP 2400+ 133 fsb 2ghz

Now in order to run at full spec, the board must run at x15.

Does anyone know if the 7AJA2 can support that (in auto mode), I sent a mail to Chaintech but they did not reply.

The manual setting allows for a max of x12.5

Anyone can help me out?

Thank you.
 04/05/2005 12:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mark9
Member

Posts: 78
Joined: 03/26/2005

When you have your fsb set for 133 mhz then you have a 266 mhz data rate. I know it's confusing. The reason is that AMD clocks data in/out on both the rising and the falling edge of the system clock.

To find your fsb for certain, download a utility called CPU-Z. It'll tell you detailed information regarding your system.
 04/05/2005 12:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
VictorXerri
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 04/05/2005

Thanks for the swift reply,

So the 2600+ 266 FSB should work fine, right?

From where I can get CPU-Z?

 04/05/2005 01:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mark9
Member

Posts: 78
Joined: 03/26/2005

Correct.

Get CPU-Z here:
http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php' ">http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php
 04/05/2005 01:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MD - Moderator
Deployer of Mjölnir - House Keeping

Posts: 11102
Joined: 11/05/2003

QUOTE (VictorXerri @ Apr 5 2005, 08:25 AM) Thanks for the swift reply,

So the 2600+ 266 FSB should work fine, right?

From where I can get CPU-Z?
If you can find one...

The 266 bus XP2600+ are pretty rare, besides, you can get a XP2400+ and you not even notice the difference between the XP2400+ & the XP2600+, difference of 133MHz...

Chipset = VIA KT133A

Quite possible a XP-Mobile will run on it...

MD

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Physics? Ha! This is clearly magic and devilry at work. Prepare firewood! We have witches to burn!


MODERATOR
 04/05/2005 01:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
VictorXerri
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 04/05/2005

There is a shop here in Malta, which according to its web site, he still has the 2400+ 133fsb in stock, ie was there ever was a 2400+ with 133 FSB? or is it just a mistake on his part?
 04/05/2005 02:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mark9
Member

Posts: 78
Joined: 03/26/2005

VictorXerri:
Look on www.pricewatch.com. There's a number of places that are selling your 2600-266 chip..

You might even want to try a 2600-266 mobile chip - but you'll have to do Stone_age's wire mod in the cpu socket. The plus is that this is a low power chip that can be "hot rodded" up in speed easily. I put a couple mobiles in systems and wired them to run at a 3000+ rate. They work great and even under hard use the temps stay just under 50 degC.

The "cons" are that you do have to do the tedious "wire trick", but it's not difficult at all.
 04/05/2005 03:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
VictorXerri
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 04/05/2005

Thanks Mark9,

I think that I`ll call the shop here in Malta (first thing in the mornig) that has the 2400+ 133 fsb 2gb, selling price about 89 euros. And it`s just a few minutes drive from my home.

(Is there really a 2400+ 133 fsb?)

Thanks for the help.

 04/05/2005 03:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MD - Moderator
Deployer of Mjölnir - House Keeping

Posts: 11102
Joined: 11/05/2003

The XP2400+ runs at 15x133.33MHz, so yes there is a 133 model, the 266 rating is because that is the effective rate of 2x133 or 266 double data rate...

MD

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Physics? Ha! This is clearly magic and devilry at work. Prepare firewood! We have witches to burn!


MODERATOR
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information