AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: strange code identifying the new cpu
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/30/2005 05:51 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 3 Previous Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/25/2005 05:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ZONIAN
Senior Member

Posts: 724
Joined: 04/27/2005

QUOTE(MD Willington @ May 25 2005, 01:57 PM)...LOL...

no Tom usually sides with Chipzilla (Cough, Intel, Cough)

PS

Conservative-leaning Libertarian here...but thats for another forum...
[right][snapback]424895[/snapback][/right]


hey !!
that's no way to be!!

i would never buy any cpu made by the folks at Bowers and Central in santa clara california.

they don't know better that's all.

MD!!

i got two bad guys put in jail this morning.
see this link.
http://www.theeldergeek.com/fo...x.ph...topic=10843&hl=' ">http://www.theeldergeek.com/fo...hp?showtopic=10843&hl=
http://www.cp-pd.com/' ">http://www.cp-pd.com/



-------------------------
Zonian
 05/25/2005 05:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ZONIAN
Senior Member

Posts: 724
Joined: 04/27/2005

the vendor that i got my bad cpu from has sent me an email and he is sending one of his associates to go buy me an athlon xp3200+ and send it to me.
this vendor is enetshoponline.com.
the owner/manager is Mr.Kevin Chou,and he is doing everything the right way.
i want everyone to know that they are alright to go to for anything you need.

i will be buying from them again.

Mr.Clarke/Zonian



-------------------------
Zonian
 05/25/2005 07:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jwsm
Senior Member

Posts: 491
Joined: 08/02/2004

That is great! Glad to hear that you are going to get the issue resolved to your satisfaction.

-------------------------
There are two kinds of people in the computing world.....those who have lost data, and those who will.
If your data is worth anything, back it up!
 05/25/2005 09:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Quentin
Senior Member

Posts: 1116
Joined: 01/25/2005

QUOTE(ZONIAN @ May 24 2005, 06:12 AM)I HAVE THE xp3000+fsb333 in my ASUS A7V8X,if i put the one that i had bought for the other board when i got the bad one,3000+fsb400, in this a7v8x, i don't know that that will do any good.
it may not work right 'cause the fsb on the board is 333MHz.

right now, the A7V8X is running the 3000+333fsb and two sticks of pc3200 ddr400dimms and it's doing just fine as i type.

i just might test it and see what happens with that configuration/combination of h/w....[right][snapback]423913[/snapback][/right]


I meant to respond to this earlier. You're right, ZONIAN, the 400MHz XP3000+ would not be a good choice in a 333MHz motherboard since it would run at 10.5x166 or 1750MHz when it should be running at 10.5x200 or 2100MHz. Your 333MHz XP3000+ should be running at 13x166 or 2167MHz.


-------------------------
K8N Neo2, Opteron 180, 2GB G.SKILL PC3200, 9600XT, Cooler Master CM 690/RP-600-PCAR
GA-K8NS Ultra-939, Opteron 175, 1GB PNY Verto PC3500, 9600XT, CM Centurion 5/RS-450-ACLY
A7N8X-E Deluxe, XP-M 2600+ @218x11, 1GB KVR PC3200, 9550, Lian Li midtower/RS-450-ACLY
AN7, XP-M 2800+ @218x11, 1GB HyperX, AIW 9600XT, Antec Super LB/TPII Blue 480
http://classicplatforms.com Keeping "Old Tech" new.
 05/25/2005 10:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ZONIAN
Senior Member

Posts: 724
Joined: 04/27/2005

QUOTE(Quentin @ May 25 2005, 06:50 PM)I meant to respond to this earlier. You're right, ZONIAN, the 400MHz XP3000+ would not be a good choice in a 333MHz motherboard since it would run at 10.5x166 or 1750MHz when it should be running at 10.5x200 or 2100MHz. Your 333MHz XP3000+ should be running at 13x166 or 2167MHz.
[right][snapback]425050[/snapback][/right]


you know the little utility called crystalmark?

it says i'm running at 2166.42 right now.

another one called cpuid says in real time i'm running at 2166.44

that's ok with me,Quentin.



-------------------------
Zonian
 05/25/2005 10:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Silk_the_Absent1
Senior Member

Posts: 15221
Joined: 02/02/2004

I wouldn't worry about that. There will always be minor fluctuations in the FSB, which cause these little discrepencies in speed.

-Adam
 05/25/2005 11:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ZONIAN
Senior Member

Posts: 724
Joined: 04/27/2005

QUOTE(Silk_the_Absent1 @ May 25 2005, 07:54 PM)I wouldn't worry about that. There will always be minor fluctuations in the FSB, which cause these little discrepencies in speed.

-Adam
[right][snapback]425098[/snapback][/right]


I'm happy with the way this machine runs,Silk.

no trouble with it .

i'm still working on my new asus a7n8x E Deluxe, that's going to be my new internet machine, this one will not go back on the internet.
record keeping only.




-------------------------
Zonian
 06/06/2005 09:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ZONIAN
Senior Member

Posts: 724
Joined: 04/27/2005

well they have my cpu and i just got a reply to my latest email.
and i think i have to make a complaint to the los angeles sherrifs dept, they provide law enforcement to the city of industry under contract.
here's the email i just got a few minutes ago.
*********************************************************



-------- Original Message --------
Subject: Enetshoponline.com Order pcmemory-stores-60569
Date: Mon, 6 Jun 2005 13:36:30 -0700
From: RMA Dept. <rma@enetshoponline.com>
To: <removed>


Dear customer:

Here is the functionality test result that we made for your returned microprocessor.

(Microprocessor has 2 parts: the Central Processing Unit and the Floating Point Unit)

CPU Test

Protected Mode instructions


Passed

Stack Manipulation


Passed

Flag conditions


Passed

Arithmetic instructions


Passed

Data Transfer Control


Passed

Execution Control


Passed

Processor Control


Passed

String Operations


Passed

IA MMX Instructions


Passed

Intel IA MMX-2 Instructions


Skipped (for Intel processors only)

AMD 3DNow! Instructions


Passed (for AMD processors only)

Intel Streaming SIMDI


Skipped (for Intel processors only)






FPU Test

FDIV Bug


Passed

FPU Busy Status


Passed

FPU Stack


Passed

FPU Tag Condition


Passed

Data Transfer and Constants


Passed

Compare Functions


Passed

Arithmetic Instructions


Passed

Transcendental Functions


Passed

Floating Unit Control


Passed

Physical Examination: No Damage.

This only shows that the Microprocessor mentioned above works and looks fine. We can’t just replace it because it might not work either in your computer.

At this point, we have two suggestions for our customer:

1. Customer want to keep this item, we will ship it back to you, we do the free testing for you, just charge $3.00 for second shipping and handling fee;

2. Cusotmer want to return to us, we still accept it, but we need to charge the 20% re-stocking fee under store warranty policy.

Please read our return policy at: http://www.enetshoponline.com/returnpolicy.html' ">http://www.enetshoponline.com/returnpolicy.html about restocking of the product.

Thanks for choosing ENET.

RMA Dept.

ENET Marketing, Inc.




-------------------------
Zonian
 06/06/2005 09:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ZONIAN
Senior Member

Posts: 724
Joined: 04/27/2005

i never should have sent it back to them.
i should have turned it over to the lawenforcement peole from the beginning.


-------------------------
Zonian
 06/21/2005 05:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ZONIAN
Senior Member

Posts: 724
Joined: 04/27/2005

i just ordered another xp3200+ from an online vendor.
http://www.acortech.com/.sc/ms...9081...-AMD%20XP%20CPU' ">http://www.acortech.com/.sc/ms...%20AMD--AMD%20XP%20CPU

i actually spoke to the tech support guy first and told him about the first bad cpu and he wanted pictures,so i sent what i had.
i wish i had taken pictures with a higher DPI setting when we did it the first time.

he seemed to know about the cut bridges on the counterfeit ones although he said that they had not received any complaints.
i gave him links to the threads here about the issue.
i also told him about the guy at this company;
http://enetshoponline.com/' ">http://enetshoponline.com/
because this is where the original bad cpu had come from.
he said he would inspect the cpu before he shipped it.
and i asked for them to scan it and send me pictures before sending it and i'm not sure if they will do that.

but i won't open the thing without the local cops being present,they're friends of mine.



-------------------------
Zonian
 06/21/2005 07:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MD - Moderator
Deployer of Mjölnir - House Keeping

Posts: 11102
Joined: 11/05/2003

http://forums.amd.com/index.ph...pic=...98&#entry442698' ">http://forums.amd.com/index.ph...&p=442698&#entry442698

...Fake...

Bridges are totally different than a real 3200+

Call your friends...

I wish some one from AMD corporate would come in here and back this kind of thing up...

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Physics? Ha! This is clearly magic and devilry at work. Prepare firewood! We have witches to burn!


MODERATOR
 06/21/2005 07:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ZONIAN
Senior Member

Posts: 724
Joined: 04/27/2005

ok,
i got your email and the item is not real.
too bad.

thank you for the review before it shipped.

the problem is bigger than we thought.


-------------------------
Zonian
 06/21/2005 08:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ZONIAN
Senior Member

Posts: 724
Joined: 04/27/2005

I wish some one from AMD corporate would come in here and back this kind of thing up...
[right][snapback]442702[/snapback][/right]
[/quote]

they're not going to.
i called and spoke to a friend since the early 80's that is a member of the technical staff at AMD SUNNYVALE after my last post, i told him about what was going on with this new attempt to buy another XP3200+ OEM, and i feel that they know more about this than they are letting on about.
and they aren't going to get involved, they're letting the AMD investigations department do the investigations and then they will contact the prosecutors when they get enough information.
but i believe that this thread has been read sufficiently to get the attention of the people at AMD investors relations that have deleted my emails at the server without reading them.

they haven't returned any calls, and the only person that has made contact with me is anthony jackson in the investigations dept,and as far as i know, that name could be a pseudonym.




-------------------------
Zonian
 06/21/2005 09:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ZONIAN
Senior Member

Posts: 724
Joined: 04/27/2005

i just spoke to the secretary at the site and she says she will stop the order from being processed.

it looks bad, MD.

i'm going to do a search to see if i can find one other than the ones offered at zipzoomfly for $245.00 each xp3200+ OEM's.



-------------------------
Zonian
 06/22/2005 12:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MD - Moderator
Deployer of Mjölnir - House Keeping

Posts: 11102
Joined: 11/05/2003

I got the same response...

I'm not going to post the PM because of confidentiality reasons...

So I'll just tell everyone/anyone that reads this...

AVOID OEM K7 XP3200+'s LIKE THE PLAGUE

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Physics? Ha! This is clearly magic and devilry at work. Prepare firewood! We have witches to burn!


MODERATOR
 06/22/2005 12:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ZONIAN
Senior Member

Posts: 724
Joined: 04/27/2005

QUOTE(MD Willington @ Jun 22 2005, 09:42 AM)I got the same response...

I'm not going to post the PM because of confidentiality reasons...

So I'll just tell everyone/anyone that reads this...

AVOID OEM K7 XP3200+'s LIKE THE PLAGUE
[right][snapback]443142[/snapback][/right]


MD,
please start a new thread.
i can do it but it's your quote that i would use.
the reason i ask is that if the thread is started, then the title of the thread will be discovered by the GOOGLE SPIDER and when it crawls this site it will detect, analyse, and classify the topic and then catalog the item and cache data for the public to find when they GOOGLE the subject " COUNTERFEIT AMD ATHLON XP 3200+"

maybe the title should be like you just posted:

AVOID OEM K7 XP3200+'s LIKE THE PLAGUE

also, you could link the other threads to it and then when the public takes the links from GOOGLE they will get all of it like ONE STOP SHOPPING.


-------------------------
Zonian
 06/22/2005 03:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bogey
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5643
Joined: 03/25/2005

Hi Zonian.

I've just bought an xp-m2600 (mobile). It can run at over 2.2GHz on your board. You can reduce the multiplier whenever you want to to reduce temps. You can change the Vcore. As Stone_age would say, it rocks!

And it's cheaper! What more could you ask for?

-------------------------
MSI K7N2 Delta2 LSR|35w XP-M2400 11x214 1.62V|2x512MB OCZ EL 2 2 2 11 2.9V|9600XT|Seasonic 350w
Abit AN7|XP-M2800 10.5x227 1.62V|2x512MB Mushkin XP4000 2 3 2 11 3.2V|9600XT|Seasonic 550w
Asus A7V600|XP-M2600 6-11x202 1.6V|2x512 Crucial PC3200 2.5 3 3 9 2.7V|PCI 32MB gfx|Corsair 450w
 06/22/2005 05:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Quentin
Senior Member

Posts: 1116
Joined: 01/25/2005

I have to agree with bogey, Z. Hopefully you can get a full refund, especially since you are well connected. It just doesn't make sense to pay the inflated price for an XP3200+ (that likely will be fake) when the faster XP-Ms from 2200+ to 2600+ cost $77-95.

Yep, XP-Ms rock! One would rock quite nicely in your new A7N8X-E Deluxe.

-------------------------
K8N Neo2, Opteron 180, 2GB G.SKILL PC3200, 9600XT, Cooler Master CM 690/RP-600-PCAR
GA-K8NS Ultra-939, Opteron 175, 1GB PNY Verto PC3500, 9600XT, CM Centurion 5/RS-450-ACLY
A7N8X-E Deluxe, XP-M 2600+ @218x11, 1GB KVR PC3200, 9550, Lian Li midtower/RS-450-ACLY
AN7, XP-M 2800+ @218x11, 1GB HyperX, AIW 9600XT, Antec Super LB/TPII Blue 480
http://classicplatforms.com Keeping "Old Tech" new.
 06/22/2005 06:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ZONIAN
Senior Member

Posts: 724
Joined: 04/27/2005

quentin, i'm not all that well connected.
what i am is, associated with some people that are helping.
but, this issue with the vendor is not going to be resolved quickly unless they want to wake up and get it behind them.
i think i have already said it, that the price of a cpu is not going to break me if i never get the money back.
but don't kid yourself, that is going to be the hardest earned money that that fraud thief ever earned.
and those guys just do not know how to fly under the radar.
they seem to draw attention to themselves.
law enforcement people that i know live for the conviction of this type of crook.
they don't give up.
and the paper trail is so easy with federal banking laws now.
the crook won't even know that an agency has requested all banking records under subpoena.


as for the CPU,
i have an XP3000 FSB400...
there is not much performance gain from that to the XP3200+, and when i couldn't find a replacement for the bad one, i ordered it before the prices started changing.



-------------------------
Zonian
 06/22/2005 06:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ZONIAN
Senior Member

Posts: 724
Joined: 04/27/2005

QUOTE(MD Willington @ Jun 21 2005, 04:47 PM)http://forums.amd.com/index.ph...pic=...98&#entry442698' ">http://forums.amd.com/index.ph...&p=442698&#entry442698
I wish some one from AMD corporate would come in here and back this kind of thing up...
[right][snapback]442702[/snapback][/right]


i just thought about something,

i have since this started, changed my email address, maybe i need to send another email to the investigations dept at AMD to see if there is any news so that they can have a new email address to reply to.

one of the investigators at the INDUSTRY DIVISION of L.A.COUNTY SHERIFFS DEPT.
said" well both you and AMD have been victimised"
and i replied to him" i know, but they don't want to see the CPU and if i were in their position i would not want to take possession of it for the LEGAL issues that would arise from that."

they probably have enough BAD/COUNTERFEIT CPU'S to look at, they don't need another one.



-------------------------
Zonian
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information