AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: XPpro fails to boot with modem connected
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/09/2006 04:58 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/09/2006 04:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Galloway_Gypsy
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 06/06/2006

Newly built system. GigaByte GA-K8N51GMF-9 mobo, Athlon 64 3200+
2 X 256 Mb of Crucial memory fitted, XP Pro OS. HDD DVD &c

Machine built and ran without problems - until the modem was attached.
Fails at the Windows screen ( with the scrolling 'caterpillar' at the bottom. )
returns to POST, re-boots and offers safe mode.

If the modem is disconnected it boots up no problem, and the ethernet cable
can be connected later and the broadband connection seems fine!

Modem/router is a 'BT Hub' - has mobile phone and other funny gizmos
in-built.
Any advice would be appreciated - its a pain constantly unplugging the cable,
and the plug will doubtless fail before too long.




-------------------------
If you can remember the 60's - you weren't really there!
 10/09/2006 05:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mckennma
Senior Member

Posts: 2989
Joined: 06/01/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: Galloway_Gypsy
Newly built system. GigaByte GA-K8N51GMF-9 mobo, Athlon 64 3200+
2 X 256 Mb of Crucial memory fitted, XP Pro OS. HDD DVD &c

Machine built and ran without problems - until the modem was attached.
Fails at the Windows screen ( with the scrolling 'caterpillar' at the bottom. )
returns to POST, re-boots and offers safe mode.

If the modem is disconnected it boots up no problem, and the ethernet cable
can be connected later and the broadband connection seems fine!

Modem/router is a 'BT Hub' - has mobile phone and other funny gizmos
in-built.
Any advice would be appreciated - its a pain constantly unplugging the cable,
and the plug will doubtless fail before too long.



Did you try unplugging the modem power and seeing if you can boot? Leave the ethernet cable connected. Could be a conflict with the NIC.


-------------------------
Tyan Thunder K8WE
Dual AMD 280 Opterons
8GB NUMA enabled DDR333 2.5-3-3-7 RAM
PCI-X SCSI RAID
http://69.14.190.80
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information