AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Yet Another Fake Athlon XP 3200 From eBay
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/09/2006 03:13 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 Previous Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/13/2006 01:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
GigaBytz
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 09/06/2006

I can't believe it, I just did a google to see if my domain was listed yet, it's not but this page is. tipical /wacko.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":wacko:" border="0" alt="wacko.gif" />

Quentin thats a great phpbb template where did you get it?

googlebot follow http://gigabytz.co.uk
 09/13/2006 05:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Xtreeme
Senior Member

Posts: 2705
Joined: 05/04/2006

"http://www.motherboardpoint.co...uxe-104-vs-20-pcb.html"

just use google. See it appears Asus got the pickens on the nforce chips and therefore 1.04 and up run 200mhz with no weird mem trickery. Like I said I been using it since day 1. My mem benches same and I run DC no rpoblem.


Phpbb is easy. Make your own template. Thats the best. But you need to know some .php .html and .css the basic stuff really.

OK lets PUT this to rest...........hehe Im not making it up here read

http://support.asus.com/cpusup...supp...SLanguage=en-us

You gotta check the asus site for cpu support. This doesnt copy over right but check there if you think Im making it up. Here is the best I could paste it in here.

" A7N8X Deluxe

CPU
Since PCB
Since BIOS
Note

Athlon XP 3200 (400 MHz FSB)(Model 10)(Barton) 1.04 1004 Beta BIOS
If your motherboard BIOS version number is greater than the BIOS version listed above, then you will not need to flash your BIOS. However, if your BIOS version is smaller than the version listed above, then you will need to select and download the latest BIOS to update your system. We kindly remind you that there is a certain risk level involved in BIOS flashing, please refer to "BIOS Flashing Method ". If you still have doubts, we will strongly advise you to consult with a PC Professional or your PC dealer for further assistance. "





Bios 1004 board revision 1.04 and up. Case solved. That board WILL run the 3200+ at full spec.
 09/13/2006 09:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Quentin
Senior Member

Posts: 1116
Joined: 01/25/2005

GigaBytz, very glad to hear you discovered what was causing the rebooting issue! I was not in any way belittling your board, just passing on information that could have been the problem. Over the years I've seen dozens of similar problems where 200MHz was just a tad too much for the 1.0x revision.

Way to hang in there and get to the root of the problem!

Xtreeme, I'm glad you're happy with your board and can run an XP3200+, there are quite a few reports of people doing this. But you can't extrapolate and say ALL 1.0x boards will do it. Again, there is a reason most manufacturers, including ASUS, went with the Ultra400 NB.

There are reports that some of the last 1.x boards actually have an Ultra400 but the only way to find out is to pull the NB heat sink and bubble gum so you can read the top of the NB.

-------------------------
K8N Neo2, Opteron 180, 2GB G.SKILL PC3200, 9600XT, Cooler Master CM 690/RP-600-PCAR
GA-K8NS Ultra-939, Opteron 175, 1GB PNY Verto PC3500, 9600XT, CM Centurion 5/RS-450-ACLY
A7N8X-E Deluxe, XP-M 2600+ @218x11, 1GB KVR PC3200, 9550, Lian Li midtower/RS-450-ACLY
AN7, XP-M 2800+ @218x11, 1GB HyperX, AIW 9600XT, Antec Super LB/TPII Blue 480
http://classicplatforms.com Keeping "Old Tech" new.
 09/13/2006 09:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Xtreeme
Senior Member

Posts: 2705
Joined: 05/04/2006

what I am saying is Asus is telling you Not all 1x JUST 1.04 and up are 100% stable with 3200+ Take a second and look on there site. It clearly tells you. OH and its only deluxe. Most rumours said the deluxe 1.04 IS the newest nf2 chip but regardless of that. If you 1.04 board does NOT run at 200 you should have sent it back as its advertised AS supporting that cpu. Nothing to argue about it-its plain simple pure fact. Check the asus cpu support or asus deluxe. Heck I even posted it above. This does NOT apply to non deluxe or -x versions at all. Only A7n8x deluxe 1.04 and up. Not 1.02 or 1x.
 09/14/2006 05:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Quentin
Senior Member

Posts: 1116
Joined: 01/25/2005

When I bought my Deluxe in May 2003 both versions were on the dealer's shelf. I'd already read about the rev 2.0 so looked carefully at the boxes - all said "A7N8X Deluxe", "333MHz FSB" and "Dual-Channel DDR 400" but some of them also had a 1x2" yellow and red sticker that said "400 FSB Ready nForce2 SPP(Ultra 400) Chipset".

Which one would you have picked up? I got one with the sticker.

ASUS caught a tremendous amout of flak from people with the older boards so it's quite possible they released the rev 1.04/up 1008 BIOS with a neutered 400MHz ROMSIP to help achieve 400MHz operation and quiet the uproar. People saw DDR 400 and assumed FSB 400 so no wonder they were mad when the 2.0 soon came out, especially if they got a 1.x board in Spring/Summer of 2003; you could rationalize it more if you got a 1.x board in 2002. Of course there was an overlap of old and new stock for a few months and anyone would be mad if they got the older board.

What would be interesting is whether performance BIOSes like Trats still allow you to run at 400MHz or faster (with an aggressive 400MHz ROMSIP). I can run the Trats 1008 rev 2 mod at 1T over 220/440MHz on my rev 2.0. You'd definitely need the Ultra 400 Northbrige to do that on a 1.x. Hopefully you're right that later 1.x's do have it. No fun but you could pull the heat sink to be sure.

Apologies to the original poster, we sure have let this thread get off topic!

-------------------------
K8N Neo2, Opteron 180, 2GB G.SKILL PC3200, 9600XT, Cooler Master CM 690/RP-600-PCAR
GA-K8NS Ultra-939, Opteron 175, 1GB PNY Verto PC3500, 9600XT, CM Centurion 5/RS-450-ACLY
A7N8X-E Deluxe, XP-M 2600+ @218x11, 1GB KVR PC3200, 9550, Lian Li midtower/RS-450-ACLY
AN7, XP-M 2800+ @218x11, 1GB HyperX, AIW 9600XT, Antec Super LB/TPII Blue 480
http://classicplatforms.com Keeping "Old Tech" new.
 09/15/2006 02:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Xtreeme
Senior Member

Posts: 2705
Joined: 05/04/2006

ya, sorry done being off topic.....for the OP's sake.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information