AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Yet another machine restarting unexpectedly...
Topic Summary:
Created On: 08/18/2006 07:01 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/18/2006 07:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
lordehellig
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Joined: 08/18/2006

Hi. New poster here.

I decided to reach for help since I'm at my last wits with my home computer!

I run an AMD Athlon 2400+. The motherboard is the one-in-all type, with video and sound card embedded on the board.

It restarts without warning. It might even do it as I type this.

Here's the latest error log:

BCCode : 9c BCP1 : 00000000 BCP2 : 8054D370 BCP3 : C43AC000
BCP4 : 00000136 OSVer : 5_1_2600 SP : 2_0 Product : 256_1



Here's what I noticed, though: It happens EVERY TIME I watch a video on YouTube or stream audio, or play a web-based game like Zuma. Also, it seems like it coincides with the motherboard temperature reaching 75 degrees Celsius, which is high I know. The CPU temperature, however, is a cool 25 degrees C.

I thought at first that it was a blown fan on my power supply, so I replaced it. Still doing the same thing. Temperature still running high. It shoots up pretty fast too. In 15 minutes sitting here, it went up from 45 C to 72 C where it now sits.

I have 2 side fans blowing inward. They both work. All air vents are unobstructed. I even got the wires/cables inside the box out of the way of the air flow.

I've tried error logging, checking for specific viruses....

Is the motherboard high temperature the culprit? If that's the problem, why now? I've had this machine for 2 years now.
 08/18/2006 07:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
srg86
Senior Member

Posts: 3455
Joined: 05/06/2004

If you go into system properties (right click my computer and select properties), Advanced tab, Button "Settings" in Startup and recovery, then deselect "Automatically restart". Then rather than just restarting you should get a BSOD with a STOP message.

Get back to us with the STOP message and that may shed light on your problem further.

-------------------------
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ (Manchester) 2.2GHz, DFI LanParty UT nF4 Ultra-D, 1GB Corsair XMS DDR400 Dual Channel, 80GB WD Caviar SE SATA, 80GB Maxtor DiamondMax 9 SATA, NEC 4550A, Radeon X800GTO 128MB DDR, M-Audio Audiophile 2496, Tagan TG480-U01.

Commodore Amiga 1200, MC68060 50MHz CPU (FPU Built in), 2MB Chip RAM, 16MB Fast RAM, AGA Graphics Chipset, 20GB IBM Travelstar 40GN, Kickstart 3.1 ROM, Workbench 3.1
 08/18/2006 10:35 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CoolDudePT
Senior Member

Posts: 588
Joined: 07/06/2005

Welcome to the forums!

I'd suggest reversing those 2 fans (getting the HOT air out of the case). It might not fix it but it'll get your PC a lot cooler (you see, just because you push cool air inwards doesnt mean the hot air is going out.)

cya

-------------------------
Why can't you CTRL+Z in real life?
 08/18/2006 10:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

A CPU temp of 25'C for a xp2400+, cooled by air does not sound right, that can be a readout from another sensor. the xp2400+ usually go 45-54'C with normal air cooling.
When it reboots after the crash, if you go into BIOS, PC Health Status, what does it read for CPU temp, vcore and rpm ? Ambient temp should also be below 60'C preferably.

Is it possible the ambient temp is 25'C and CPU 75'C( this depends on what program you use for monitoring)?

-------------------------
 08/18/2006 10:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bruneauinfo
Alpha Geek

Posts: 2823
Joined: 08/27/2004

could be a bad ethernet driver...

how old is your os install?

-------------------------
asus P6T Del V2 w/i7 920 6g ddr3 1600
Sapphire HD5770
Win7 Ultimate 64-bit
Smilodon case is STILL the best ever, ever, ever!!!
 08/18/2006 05:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
lordehellig
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Joined: 08/18/2006

I will post the answers to your questions tonight. I was at work all day and could not get to my machine.

Thanks.
 08/18/2006 11:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
lordehellig
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Joined: 08/18/2006

OK...answering your questions:

- I disabled "automatically restart" in My Computer. The machine restarted anyway. No STOP message.

- I couldn't get to BIOS setup to check temperature because the machine kept asking me to choose a way to reboot the OS since it had ended abruptly. I tried it many times, with different Fkeys.

- The programs I use to check my CPU and motherboard temps are SANDRA and SpeedFan.

- I have the latest ethernet driver.
 08/18/2006 11:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bruneauinfo
Alpha Geek

Posts: 2823
Joined: 08/27/2004

to get into BIOS turn off the computer.

turn on the computer.

immediately start tapping the delete key.

you didn't answer how old your os install is.

-------------------------
asus P6T Del V2 w/i7 920 6g ddr3 1600
Sapphire HD5770
Win7 Ultimate 64-bit
Smilodon case is STILL the best ever, ever, ever!!!
 08/18/2006 11:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
3246251196
Linux Ninja

Posts: 4502
Joined: 11/24/2003

it most certainly seems like a SWARE problem. not an HWARE
 08/18/2006 11:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
lordehellig
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Joined: 08/18/2006

- Tried getting into BIOS with your instructions 4 times, by tapping the 'delete' key constantly. Didn't work.

- The OS was installed in 2004. WinXP.
 08/18/2006 11:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
3246251196
Linux Ninja

Posts: 4502
Joined: 11/24/2003

Delete may not be the key... resort to your manual or look on the internet
 08/19/2006 12:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
lordehellig
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Joined: 08/18/2006

It's F2. The BIOS does not have a PC Health feature.

Latest error:

BCCode : 9c BCP1 : 00000000 BCP2 : 8054D370 BCP3 : C4084000
BCP4 : 00000136 OSVer : 5_1_2600 SP : 2_0 Product : 256_1
 08/19/2006 12:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bruneauinfo
Alpha Geek

Posts: 2823
Joined: 08/27/2004

for the most part those error codes are meaningless unless you're a programmer who's working inside Microsoft's black box software team

sorry those instructions didn't work. some computers (especially proprietary) do things differently.

concerning the age of your os install....

your os install is quite old. early 2004 or later part?

either way, your install is like close to two years old. if you've been using your compy quite a lot it's a miracle that thing is still running at all.

you may want to consider starting with a fresh install.


-------------------------
asus P6T Del V2 w/i7 920 6g ddr3 1600
Sapphire HD5770
Win7 Ultimate 64-bit
Smilodon case is STILL the best ever, ever, ever!!!
 08/19/2006 12:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
3246251196
Linux Ninja

Posts: 4502
Joined: 11/24/2003

Lorde Hellig, instead of worrying over your computer and getting stressed out.. why dont you chill out with some of THESE:



/sleep.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid="-_-" border="0" alt="sleep.gif" />
 08/19/2006 12:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
lordehellig
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Joined: 08/18/2006

Won't that necessitate a full-on backup of every program and document I have?

Thanks for all your help, by the way.
 08/19/2006 12:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bruneauinfo
Alpha Geek

Posts: 2823
Joined: 08/27/2004

well.... if you're new to fresh installs you have a few things to learn about doing one.

yes, you can back up all your info... if you want.

what i do is i just copy my My Documents folder to a CD or DVD and then make sure i have all of my up-to-date drivers and whatnot either on a seperate partition or in CD or DVD and ready for the reinstall.

you don't really want to backup your system and restore it... you want to delete it, format the drive, and then reinstall everything - OS, drivers, and software. Then once you get things running stable and you feel good and confident you put your My Documents folder back on your computer.

this process can take anywhere from hours to days depending on how many times you screw up, the computer screws up, and really it's about experience.

usually once i do a reinstall i find my computer is all fast and responsive again.

i'm sure a number of people on this forum could give you other advice and ideas on how to do this the best way...

-------------------------
asus P6T Del V2 w/i7 920 6g ddr3 1600
Sapphire HD5770
Win7 Ultimate 64-bit
Smilodon case is STILL the best ever, ever, ever!!!
 08/19/2006 06:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

Lorde Hellig, so this is some OEM brand motherboard? About the temps, Speedfan tries to identify the sensors and make the readout based its database, for some motherboards, this does not work correctly and need be manually 'renamed' to distinguish correct sensor. What temps does everest report ?

Have you checked there are no bulging or leaking capacitors on the motherboard?

-------------------------
 08/19/2006 08:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
lordehellig
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Joined: 08/18/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: go_for
Lorde Hellig, so this is some OEM brand motherboard? About the temps, Speedfan tries to identify the sensors and make the readout based its database, for some motherboards, this does not work correctly and need be manually 'renamed' to distinguish correct sensor. What temps does everest report ?

Have you checked there are no bulging or leaking capacitors on the motherboard?



- It is. I bought it as a barebones. It's made by ASRock.

- CRAP! Everest is showing the temperatures switched around... Motherboard: 23'C, CPU 69'C
 08/19/2006 08:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
GrGaKC
Senior Member

Posts: 277
Joined: 08/19/2006

Those temps sound right now...
About those reboots... I don't know about ASRock, but my mobo has an option inside BIOS where you can set automatic restart temperature and 75 Celsius is the most common setting (I have it like that as well), so check that. I've got an XP2000+ and it also resets if I play something other than Tetris so I know how frustrating it can be at times...
And I sugest you get your fans working so that one blows in cold air and the other blows out the hot air, should lower the temps...

-------------------------
Athlon XP2500+ @ 2200MHz (Barton) | Soltek 75FRN2-LR nForce2 chipset<br>1GB Kingmax (2x512MB Dual Channel, 2-3-3-9) | GeForce 6600 256MB

http://classicplatforms.com/forum/index.php - a laid back place for computer-inclined
 08/19/2006 12:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
lordehellig
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Joined: 08/18/2006

well....It turns out the CPU was covered in such a thick layer of dust and dirt, that it was like a blanket!! As soon as I dusted it off with some canned air, the problem went away....

I learned a lot in the process, and appreciate everyone's responses on this. Thanks.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information