AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: installed new processor...
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/06/2007 01:13 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/06/2007 01:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zosimas
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 02/06/2007

Hi, I made the mistake of buying a processor off e-bay, been a while since I worked on a computer. Bought an Athlon Xp-M 2200+ for my ABIT KT7 motherboard. Not realizing the M stood for mobile. Yes, it works, it runs and I haven't had any problems, and it's fast enough, but the BIOS on boot says unknown processor type.
What should I do? I updated the BIOS, but didn't help.

-CD
 02/06/2007 03:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bogey
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5643
Joined: 03/25/2005

It's not surprising it shows as unknown. The bios just doesn't have the mobile on its list. What's important is what speed it's running at. The correct stock speed is 12.5x133~1667MHz if it's a barton and 13.5x133~1800MHz if it's a Tbred.

Run cpu-z and check the bus speed, multiplier and core code. http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php


-------------------------
MSI K7N2 Delta2 LSR|35w XP-M2400 11x214 1.62V|2x512MB OCZ EL 2 2 2 11 2.9V|9600XT|Seasonic 350w
Abit AN7|XP-M2800 10.5x227 1.62V|2x512MB Mushkin XP4000 2 3 2 11 3.2V|9600XT|Seasonic 550w
Asus A7V600|XP-M2600 6-11x202 1.6V|2x512 Crucial PC3200 2.5 3 3 9 2.7V|PCI 32MB gfx|Corsair 450w
 02/06/2007 11:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zosimas
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 02/06/2007

thank you for the tip. I checked out the BIOS, but when I set to 13.5 it won't boot. If I select CPU operating speed to 1800+ it boots, seems fast enough, but won't let me set the multiplier to 13.5 and remains at 11.5

If I set the multiplier to 13.5, I have to select [user define] under CPU operating speed, and then it won't boot. Guess I have to read the manual again and try to see if I missed something.

CPUID it shows as a 1500, probably because the multiplier is 11.5? oh, and it's a thoroughbred.

It works, for about $18 I can't complain I guess. If you have any other tips let me know.

thx. CD
 02/07/2007 04:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bogey
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5643
Joined: 03/25/2005

The Tbred xp-m2200 should have a x13.5 default multiplier. I don't know why it would post at x11.5 unless the cpu has been modded.

-------------------------
MSI K7N2 Delta2 LSR|35w XP-M2400 11x214 1.62V|2x512MB OCZ EL 2 2 2 11 2.9V|9600XT|Seasonic 350w
Abit AN7|XP-M2800 10.5x227 1.62V|2x512MB Mushkin XP4000 2 3 2 11 3.2V|9600XT|Seasonic 550w
Asus A7V600|XP-M2600 6-11x202 1.6V|2x512 Crucial PC3200 2.5 3 3 9 2.7V|PCI 32MB gfx|Corsair 450w
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information