AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Sempron 3000+ drivers and BIOS
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/13/2008 06:35 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/13/2008 06:35 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Gouge
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 11/13/2008

I have a relatively old setup running XP Home with an AMD Sempron 3000+. Everything worked fine until I installed SP3. My system slowed right down. My audio software (Sibelius) and other programs started to misbehave. I read about SP3 problems with AMD processors and Creative soundcards, so I tried to uninstall SP3 and revert to SP2. OK, big mistake. It took ages to get everything running, but it seems so slow. It took over a minute to load the Help and Support page to get my systems information!

I've checked everything out within my limited knowledge, so wondered if it is actually a CPU problem.

Details:
OS Name Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition
Version 5.1.2600 Service Pack 2 Build 2600
System Manufacturer VIA
System Model K7VT4A+
System Type X86-based PC
Processor x86 Family 6 Model 10 Stepping 0 AuthenticAMD ~1999 Mhz
BIOS Version/Date American Megatrends Inc. P1.30, 19/07/2004
SMBIOS Version 2.3
Hardware Abstraction Layer Version = "5.1.2600.2180 (xpsp_sp2_rtm.040803-2158)"
Total Physical Memory 2,048.00 MB
Available Physical Memory 1.41 GB
Total Virtual Memory 2.00 GB
Available Virtual Memory 1.96 GB
Page File Space 3.85 GB
Graphics card nVidia GeForce FX5700LE

Having messed things up before, I'd appreciate advice on what to do and what further information you need to help me - remembering please, that I am not an expert so I need clear instructions.

Thanks, guys
 11/13/2008 08:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bogey
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5643
Joined: 03/25/2005

Make sure the memory is set to run at ddr333 in the bios. The board only officially supports 1GB of pc3200 in the first slot.

Run cpu-z, click on the memory tab and check the memory timings. ">http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php


Try uninstalling the sound card and see if it runs any better with the onboard sound. The onboard sound should be disabled in the bios if the Creative card is being used.

If it's still really slow I would consider a fresh install of windows.

-------------------------
MSI K7N2 Delta2 LSR|35w XP-M2400 11x214 1.62V|2x512MB OCZ EL 2 2 2 11 2.9V|9600XT|Seasonic 350w
Abit AN7|XP-M2800 10.5x227 1.62V|2x512MB Mushkin XP4000 2 3 2 11 3.2V|9600XT|Seasonic 550w
Asus A7V600|XP-M2600 6-11x202 1.6V|2x512 Crucial PC3200 2.5 3 3 9 2.7V|PCI 32MB gfx|Corsair 450w
 11/13/2008 08:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

and the drivers for your motherboard are here:

http://www.asrock.com/mb/downl...Model=K7VT4A%2b&s=462

The VGA driver at www.nvidia.com

-------------------------
 11/14/2008 12:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bogey
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5643
Joined: 03/25/2005

Also try a different pci slot for the sound card.

-------------------------
MSI K7N2 Delta2 LSR|35w XP-M2400 11x214 1.62V|2x512MB OCZ EL 2 2 2 11 2.9V|9600XT|Seasonic 350w
Abit AN7|XP-M2800 10.5x227 1.62V|2x512MB Mushkin XP4000 2 3 2 11 3.2V|9600XT|Seasonic 550w
Asus A7V600|XP-M2600 6-11x202 1.6V|2x512 Crucial PC3200 2.5 3 3 9 2.7V|PCI 32MB gfx|Corsair 450w
 11/14/2008 10:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Gouge
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 11/13/2008

I've run cpu-z and checked the memory timings:
Type DDR
Size 2048 MBytes
DRAM Frequency 166.6 MHz
FSBRAM 1:1
CAS# Latency (CL) 2.5 clocks
RAS# to CAS# Delay (tRCD) 3 clocks
RAS# Precharge (tRP) 3 clocks
Cycle Time (tRAS) 7 clocks

I don't know what these should be or where to look.

How do I ensure that the memory is set to run at ddr333 in the BIOS?

I've uninstalled and re-installed my Creative Audigy 2 ZS soundcard at least 3 times previously. I also booted up without the soundcard in place. It made no difference to the speed. In fact it took about an hour to re-install the software each time due to the slowness of the system. I've installed the latest Audigy drivers.

The BIOS is the latest available and I've already ensured that the latest Asrock drivers are installed - the ones mentioned by go-for.
 11/14/2008 04:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bogey
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5643
Joined: 03/25/2005

How do I ensure that the memory is set to run at ddr333 in the BIOS?


It's ok it all looks good. DRAM frequency is 166MHz which equates to 333DDR(DDR stands for double data rate) and the timings look good.

It sounds more like a software/malware problem.

If you had a spare hdd you could try a linux os and see how it works if you don't want to format and load a new windows os. Maybe a faster hdd would help as well.

-------------------------
MSI K7N2 Delta2 LSR|35w XP-M2400 11x214 1.62V|2x512MB OCZ EL 2 2 2 11 2.9V|9600XT|Seasonic 350w
Abit AN7|XP-M2800 10.5x227 1.62V|2x512MB Mushkin XP4000 2 3 2 11 3.2V|9600XT|Seasonic 550w
Asus A7V600|XP-M2600 6-11x202 1.6V|2x512 Crucial PC3200 2.5 3 3 9 2.7V|PCI 32MB gfx|Corsair 450w
 11/15/2008 05:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Gouge
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 11/13/2008

Thanks for your help, guys.

Now that I know that it's not a cpu problem, I can look elsewhere.

There are a number of possibilities - AVG8 and the soundcard to name but two!

Thanks again.
 02/09/2009 11:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CaptanBusDriver
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 02/09/2009

I have the exact same problem after I installed SP3 on my HP with a Sempron 3400+. I was getting a periodic buzz in the motherboard audio. My first thought was a bad motherboard component so I added a Creative soundcards and disabled the one on the motherboard. The Creative soundcards didn't have a periodic buzz but the bus was replaced with a periodic gap in the sound.

I also noticed that there was also the same hesitation or delay on the display when I ran a nVidia GeForce 5400 utility. I think an interupt from something must be steeling time from the CPU.

I was able to reinstall a clean copy of XP on a new partion and the problem went away and it did not come back even after I installed SP3.

To make things even more intersting though is that I installed Windows 7 beta build 7000 on a 3rd partion and it has the exact same problem as the original XP installation. ie the very same audio gaps and video delays.

My working clean install of XP proves to my satisfaction that this is not a hardware issue. I don't have a clue how to troubleshoot this any further except to see if I can rollback SP3 and Maybe SP2 on the orignal install of XP to see what happens.
 10/27/2010 10:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
hallahan
Lurker

Posts: 1
Joined: 10/27/2010

When I installed XP SP3 on my ACER laptop with a Semprom 3000+, had issue with extremely slow machine.. Thanks to forums, was able to determine that my old battery was generating many ACPI interrupts to warn that it was low.. Disabled ACPI battery in device manager, and things sped up.. Was able to convert from FAT32 , to NTFS and now machine runs well.. Also had temperature issues but a resting station with cooling fans helped
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information