AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Windows 7 Home premium Edition on Sempron 140?
Topic Summary: Windows 7 Home premium Edition on Sempron 140?
Created On: 12/07/2009 11:46 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/07/2009 11:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
darkkid85
Newbie

Posts: 9
Joined: 09/13/2009

Hello Frends,

I want to know if i can run Win7 32 bit Home premium Edition on Amd sempron 140+ ASUS M2A - MX 68AM Combination

I am on a shoe string budget and am planning to buy the folowing combo:

1)Amd sempron 140
2)4gb Kingston ram
3)ASUS M2A - MX 68AM
4)500 gb hdd and 22x Lg optical drive

Please suggest a low end combination if this is not possible

Thanks
Ramu

-------------------------
darkkid85
 12/07/2009 12:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bogey
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5643
Joined: 03/25/2005

I don't think Windows7 is that memory-hungry, so you may be ok with just 2GB and spend a bit more on a better processor.

Maybe the post can be moved to the System Specs/Recommendations forum.

-------------------------
MSI K7N2 Delta2 LSR|35w XP-M2400 11x214 1.62V|2x512MB OCZ EL 2 2 2 11 2.9V|9600XT|Seasonic 350w
Abit AN7|XP-M2800 10.5x227 1.62V|2x512MB Mushkin XP4000 2 3 2 11 3.2V|9600XT|Seasonic 550w
Asus A7V600|XP-M2600 6-11x202 1.6V|2x512 Crucial PC3200 2.5 3 3 9 2.7V|PCI 32MB gfx|Corsair 450w
 02/18/2010 12:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TalonPro
Newbie

Posts: 2
Joined: 02/18/2010

Im running S140, 2gig Corsair Value Select on Win7 Ult 64bit. Im using this rig as a server, but i would recommend 4 gigs for a reg machine. My main rig is a 5000+ BE, 4gigs Corsair DHX XMS2, and during file transfers, Win7 can eat up 3.8gigs. Im buffering that with an 8gig flash drive as SpeedBooster, at least till i can afford another 4gigs of ram.

So yes, Win7 can be a mem hog, it just depends on what you do with it.
 02/18/2010 02:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
slaveondope
Case Modder

Posts: 1592
Joined: 01/25/2010

I run Win7x64 Ultimate on my old athlon64 3200 with 1.5gb of ram. Win7 runs better on it than XP ever did even with the low amount of ram though I wouldnt try to game on it like it use to do. 2gb min. 4gb recommended also your cpu will perform better than my athlon.

-------------------------
More Advanced Micro Devices than Intel
 05/31/2011 02:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Goose_Nipples
Lurker

Posts: 1
Joined: 05/31/2011

Running the following in a HTPC in the bedroom with Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit:

ASUS M4A785-M AM3/AM2+/AM2 AMD 785G
AMD Sempron 140 Sargas
(Not unlocked, too lazy, OC'd to 3.0 stable. Have been at 3.4 stable, backed off because it doesn't need it for HTPC use.)
XIGMATEK EP-CD901 92mm Sleeve CPU Cooler
Crucial 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR2 800
SAPPHIRE 100293DP Radeon HD 5570 1GB Low Profile
2 x 36 GB WD Raptors RAID 0 (These are crazy old, like, the first ones ever made, but they still work so why not?)

Runs like a BOSS.

Have run Fallout 3 and Fallout New Vegas on decently high settings at 1280 x 1024 (On the onboard video no less. The 5570 rocks even harder at higher settings)

Dawn of War II on middle settings runs fine. UT 2004 flies.

But as per OP, Win 7 64 bit really has ZERO slowdowns that I have noticed with this processor.

Also, quite a few people have had good success unlocking these chips to Athlon II dual core processors using mobos with SB710 and SB750 chipsets (I think, correct me if I'm wrong) And even if you can't or don't want to unlock the proc, this chip scared the bejeebus out of me by OC'ing straight to 3.4 first try, on a (let's face it) cheap aftermarket sleeve cooler, booting up to Win 7 and then went right on working like a champ for as long as I cared to play. (And even with Cool n Quiet running)

Steal this processor, I mean buy, BUY this processor!!!

BTW The total price for the processor, motherboard, RAM and HSF listed above (Obviously minus the video card and the HDD's) and a 500GB Caviar Blue, on the Egg right now, 5/13/11 is $213. I'll bet you could do even better if you switched to a newer board that uses (now) cheaper DDR3 memory.
(I'm sure the OP already purchased whatever they were going to purchase by now, but this is also for current and future viewers of this post)

Edited: 05/31/2011 at 03:13 PM by Goose_Nipples
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information