AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: sempron 145 to dual?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/15/2010 10:06 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/15/2010 10:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
syracuse32
Lurker

Posts: 3
Joined: 12/15/2010

I have a brand new HP desktop with a Sempron 145, however i'd like to switch to a dual core as i know the 145 single is lacking in power. Is it possible to just upgrade to dual AMD cpu's without switching out the motherboard? I've replaced graphics cards before (currently have the ati HD 5450 in it), is dropping in a new motherboard anywhere as easy? (btw baught the system single core because of a lack of $ at the time). any help is very appreciated...
 12/15/2010 10:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

Yes you can change the CPU. What is your hp model number? Note any hp warranty related issue when changing parts.

-------------------------
 12/15/2010 11:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
syracuse32
Lurker

Posts: 3
Joined: 12/15/2010

its the Pavilion p6600z
 12/15/2010 12:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

These will go in there without a hitch :

#
Athlonll X2 220 (Regor) 2.8 GHz (65W)
#
Athlonll X2 250 (Regor) 3.0 GHz (65W)
#
Athlonll X2 260 (Regor) 3.2 GHz (65W)

Furthermore, you can choose one of these :

Motherboard supports the following processor upgrades:
Socket type: AM3
TDP: 95 watt

* AMD Phenom II X4 9xx/9xxe/8xx Quad-Core (Deneb)
* AMD Phenom II X3 7xx/7xxe Triple-Core (Heka)
* AMD Phenom II X2 5xx (Callisto)
* AMD II Athlon X4 6xx/6xxe (Propus)
* AMD II Athlon X3 4xx/4xxe (Rana)
* AMD II Athlon X2 2xx/2xxe (Regor)
* AMD Sempron 1xx (Sargas)

link:
http://bizsupport1.austin.hp.c...01925534&printver=true

-------------------------


Edited: 12/15/2010 at 12:17 PM by go_for
 12/15/2010 01:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
syracuse32
Lurker

Posts: 3
Joined: 12/15/2010

wow thanx i appreciate it, way more than helpful
 12/15/2010 02:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

No prob. Please report back how it went.

-------------------------
 01/25/2011 02:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nkingz
Lurker

Posts: 1
Joined: 01/20/2011

am running a Toshiba l455D - S5976 which is quite dissapointing interms of perfomance,i wnted ti chuck in a dual core or triple core processor.Which would be most suited and would my fan(which is on like always) handle the TDP of the new processor
*AMD Sempron SI-42
*ATI Radeon 3100
*2GB DDR2 800MHz
250GB HDD
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information