AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Need help finding the right upgrade processer
Topic Summary: Need for speed O__O
Created On: 12/28/2010 09:57 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
Answer This question was answered by DJxBYRNE, on Thursday, December 30, 2010 11:04 AM

Answer:
Sweet! thanks for your help, I've got some shopping to do!
 12/28/2010 09:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DJxBYRNE
Lurker

Posts: 18
Joined: 12/28/2010

OK, so I have an AMD Sempron LE 1300 AM2 (940) socket, and a buddy of mine decided to give me his old Athlon II duel core AM2 socket. But when I went to install it, it wouldn't fit!

So I would like to be able to see a list of (affordable) processors I could look into.

Anything above $70 is perposterious with me being broke

Thanks ahead of time for those who do reply.

AMD/ATI FTW!

-------------------------
Home made
Motherboard - ASUS M4N68T-M-V2
Processor - AMD Phenom II x4 (3444.5 Mhz OC)
Ram - 4Gb DDR3 (1333MHz)
Video Cards
-Nvidia Geforce 7150SE (onboard)
-Palit Geforce GT 430
OS - Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
 12/29/2010 11:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

Can you provide the code from IHS(top of CPU) of Athlon II dual core CPU ?
The info you gave of the motherboard seem to suggest it is an AM2+ socket board, then the Athlon II should fit.
Have a look at the CPU socket, does it indicate AM2 or AM2+. If it is an older AM2 board, then the athlonII will not work.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Socket_AM2%2B

-------------------------
 12/29/2010 11:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DJxBYRNE
Lurker

Posts: 18
Joined: 12/28/2010

I don't think it's AM2+ cause both CPU's were the same size but there was a difference in the pin locations.

And I don't have the Athlon anymore, I gave it back to my buddy. I was just looking at Microcenter.com and thinking I should buy ether an AM2+ or AM3 motherboard, then save up for a phenom II ether x2 or x4.

But Running CS5 on this Sempron is putting some major strain on it, and the last thing I need is a dead computer. T_T

And so What I need now is a more powerfull processor that is compatable with the current Mboard that I have. And I'm sure it's AM2 (940) since that is what CPUid is telling me.

-------------------------
Home made
Motherboard - ASUS M4N68T-M-V2
Processor - AMD Phenom II x4 (3444.5 Mhz OC)
Ram - 4Gb DDR3 (1333MHz)
Video Cards
-Nvidia Geforce 7150SE (onboard)
-Palit Geforce GT 430
OS - Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
 12/29/2010 12:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

There are about nine different versions of that hp/compaq OEM board, and the fact that your friends Athlon II did not fit so need to make sure which variant of the M2N68-LA you have before selecting CPU upgrade.

Run also PCWizard2010 and Everest to get as much info as possible, especially the BIOS version and its info,as that is one way to determine which variant of the board it is.
Perhaps you can post a picture of the board, in case it would reveal more.

-------------------------
 12/29/2010 01:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DJxBYRNE
Lurker

Posts: 18
Joined: 12/28/2010

Pictures are out of the question, since I'm barrowing my neighbors dail-up (yes he is ok with it) and downloading is grossly slow .... so perhaps I can look for a model# on the board.

I'll give it a shot, but I don't know where to find it.

I'll post back if I find anything.

Thanks again.

OK. here is what I found, these were right nect to the M2N68-LA sticker

CT: P ASYU 0B 0Z YE 0O0

PN:513426-001 REV:A01

I don't know if this helps but this was all I could find.

-------------------------
Home made
Motherboard - ASUS M4N68T-M-V2
Processor - AMD Phenom II x4 (3444.5 Mhz OC)
Ram - 4Gb DDR3 (1333MHz)
Video Cards
-Nvidia Geforce 7150SE (onboard)
-Palit Geforce GT 430
OS - Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

Edited: 12/29/2010 at 01:38 PM by DJxBYRNE
 12/29/2010 02:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

well, did not help too much. Do you have a Compaq model number?
All info seem to indicate it is an Narra5-GL6 board, and they are AM2+ socket.

from compaq/hp :
Motherboard Specifications, M2N68-LA (Narra5)

"Motherboard supports the following processor upgrades:
Socket type: AM2+
TDP: 95 watt

*
AMD Phenom II Quad-Core
*
AMD Phenom II Triple-Core
*
AMD Phenom Quad-Core (A) 9xxx series (AM2+)
*
AMD Phenom Triple-Core (T) 8xxx series (AM2+)
*
AMD Athlon X4
*
AMD Athlon X3
*
AMD Athlon X2 (B) (AM2+)
"

I still do not know why you could not fit the Athlon II in there previously??

Here examples of $50-75 range:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/...6&IsNodeId=1&name=AMD

Could feel tempted for this one, and reuse the fan from the Sempron :

http://www.newegg.com/Product/...x?Item=N82E16819103725

-------------------------
 12/29/2010 09:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DJxBYRNE
Lurker

Posts: 18
Joined: 12/28/2010

Didn't think the phenom II would fit being as the athlon II wouldn't, but here is the Compaq model#

Model - CQ5300Y
Prod# - AY028AA-ABA
S/N - 4CE9530DH5

And thanks for the suggestion. ^^

EDIT:

The funniest thing just happend, after looking at the processors available, I decided to count the pins to see if the holes would match up. And they did, BUT, when I went to put my processor back in, I noticed something on the side of the socket mount. It said "SOCKET AM2" so I guess my socket is AM2 and not 2+ or 3.

But what adds to the confusion is the processor you suggested was the one I counted the pins, But that was AM3. Now I was under the impression that AM3 socket CPU's were not compatable with AM2 socket boards .....

Any idea as to why the pins match up but the sockets are different?

-------------------------
Home made
Motherboard - ASUS M4N68T-M-V2
Processor - AMD Phenom II x4 (3444.5 Mhz OC)
Ram - 4Gb DDR3 (1333MHz)
Video Cards
-Nvidia Geforce 7150SE (onboard)
-Palit Geforce GT 430
OS - Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

Edited: 12/29/2010 at 10:32 PM by DJxBYRNE
 12/30/2010 01:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

It is an AM2+ socket motherboard. The AM3 processors will fit physically. An AM3 processor has less pins, 938. Note that an upgrade CPU need be 95W or less of TDP for it to work.

From compaq/hp site, cq5300y info :

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfr...key=null&site=null#N33

-------------------------
 12/30/2010 11:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DJxBYRNE
Lurker

Posts: 18
Joined: 12/28/2010

Answer Answer
Sweet! thanks for your help, I've got some shopping to do!

-------------------------
Home made
Motherboard - ASUS M4N68T-M-V2
Processor - AMD Phenom II x4 (3444.5 Mhz OC)
Ram - 4Gb DDR3 (1333MHz)
Video Cards
-Nvidia Geforce 7150SE (onboard)
-Palit Geforce GT 430
OS - Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
 08/27/2011 05:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
edalbkrad
Newbie

Posts: 32
Joined: 08/22/2011

You're buddy's Athlon II dual core is AM3 not AM2. It will only fit on AM2+ boards.

If you have an AM2+ motherboard, check the manufacturer website for bios updates to support AM3.
If you have an AM2 motherboard, there is no chance of it working. Just buy a cheap AM3 one for $40

You also have to replace the RAM if you will buy AM3 board. You need DDR3
Besta Meyer

-------------------------
CPU: Phenom II X4 B55 3.3 Ghz
Motherboard: ECS MCP61M-M3
Graphics Card: Sapphire HD5670
Memory: 4GB Kingston DDR3 1333

Edited: 10/21/2011 at 02:11 PM by edalbkrad
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information