AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: help info...Sorry about bothering yall..didn't know this was private..dont know how to take it off sorry yall
Topic Summary: would like to upgrade AMD processor
Created On: 01/12/2011 11:08 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/12/2011 11:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
airboat233
Lurker

Posts: 1
Joined: 01/12/2011

(.)(.)..hello ..i have a EL1352G-01w which im happy with except ..it has an AMD 145... sempron ..socket AM3 (938)..2.8 GHZ ..MB version p01-01..chipset NVIDIA MCP61..revision A3..BIOS is upto date as well as all drivers ect..(.cpu usage runs to high for for my application). now after all that (which i dont't know if you needed or not).Is it possible to upgrade the processor to more efficent one or duel core..and if so could you help me with what i need....now i am pretty old (63) and dont know a whole lot but im upgrading from my old pc which ive had 12 yrs and put all together myself from parts people threw away..any help for this old man would be greatfull...Tks airboat233

-------------------------
hello..i have an EL1352Gl-01w which im happy with except i would like to upgrade the AMD sempron 145.(cpu usage a little to high for my apps,RAM is fine)..?? is it possible to upgrade and stay single core or even duel..socket Am3 938. MB ver.P01-1..CS ven NVIDA MCP61 Rev A3. BIOs is upto date.any help much app.tks jerry

Edited: 01/13/2011 at 06:53 AM by airboat233
 05/14/2011 11:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Arwen
Lurker

Posts: 16
Joined: 08/21/2008

Yep, you should be able to upgrade the CPU.

However, that said, here are the limitations. First, power. That particular PC has a limited power supply, (220 watts if my
memory serves). The Sempron 145 2.8Ghz, is a 45 watt part. So I personally would stick to similar parts. At most, a 65
watt part. But, if you put in a PCIe x16 graphics card, then sticking with a 45 watt CPU would be a safer bet.

Next is cooling. That PC, (which I just picked one up last week), does not have a system fan, just CPU fan. Can't tell if
the power supply has a fan. Anyway, just keep that in mind if you up the wattage power of the CPU. A CPU fan upgrade
may not hurt, and may help, (though may increase the noise).

So, their are some nice 45 watt Athlons that meet these requirements;

Athlon II x4 615e 2.5Ghz
Athlon II x4 620e 2.7Ghz (my first choice)
Athlon II x2 250e 3.0Ghz
Athlon II x2 255e 3.1Ghz (my second choice)

In the 65 watt range, (which I would not recommend due to this particular PCs limited power supply);

Athlon II x4 910e 2.6Ghz
Athlon II x2 B28 3.3Ghz

-------------------------
Arwen Evenstar
Rivendale, ME
 08/27/2011 05:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
edalbkrad
Newbie

Posts: 32
Joined: 08/22/2011

You have an emachines OEM, I dont know what motherboard they have in that but its AM3.
Get either an Athlon II X3 dualcore or look for a low power quadcore.
Dont get any cpu above 95W TDP because your motherboard may not support it.
SM Residences

-------------------------
CPU: Phenom II X4 B55 3.3 Ghz
Motherboard: ECS MCP61M-M3
Graphics Card: Sapphire HD5670
Memory: 4GB Kingston DDR3 1333

Edited: 10/21/2011 at 02:11 PM by edalbkrad
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information