AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Mobile Sempron 3000+ compatibility with desktop motherboard
Topic Summary: AMD Mobile Sempron 3000+ SMS3000BQX2LF with ASRock K8A780LM
Created On: 01/17/2011 02:51 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/17/2011 02:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ovisopa
Lurker

Posts: 7
Joined: 01/17/2011

I want to build a low power computer, and bought a Laptop CPU now I'm looking for a motherboard with video on board, SATA and Gigabit LAN.

Can anyone tell me if these are comaptible? both on 754 socket

SMS3000BQX2LF http://www.cpu-world.com/CPUs/...%20SMS3000BQX2LF.html

ASRock K8A780LM http://www.asrock.com/mb/cpu.asp?Model=K8A780LM

Thank you in advance.
 01/18/2011 03:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

That is a fairly new board and Asrock's own site does not refer to any mobile CPU support. I think the best is to ask Asrock.

-------------------------
 01/18/2011 05:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ovisopa
Lurker

Posts: 7
Joined: 01/17/2011

I will try now.

Anyone has any sugestions on what desktop motherboard with video on board and gigabit lan and SATA ports I might get instead of this one ?

I want to build a very low power PC using a picoPSU and passive cooling, but the main objective is to be as low power as it can be. Noise is not so important.

Thank you.
 01/18/2011 05:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bogey
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5643
Joined: 03/25/2005

If low power consumption is your priority you could try Socket A GeodeNX. It's old tech mind. Unfortunately socket A desktop motherboards with the maker's official bios will not allow undervolting the cpu to such a low voltage. Some modded bioses for certaian motherboards will allow Vcore down to about 1.1V - 1.2V
http://fab51.com/mobile/tbred/geode_nx-e12.html

-------------------------
MSI K7N2 Delta2 LSR|35w XP-M2400 11x214 1.62V|2x512MB OCZ EL 2 2 2 11 2.9V|9600XT|Seasonic 350w
Abit AN7|XP-M2800 10.5x227 1.62V|2x512MB Mushkin XP4000 2 3 2 11 3.2V|9600XT|Seasonic 550w
Asus A7V600|XP-M2600 6-11x202 1.6V|2x512 Crucial PC3200 2.5 3 3 9 2.7V|PCI 32MB gfx|Corsair 450w

Edited: 01/18/2011 at 06:27 PM by bogey
 01/18/2011 06:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ovisopa
Lurker

Posts: 7
Joined: 01/17/2011

Never heard about GeodeNX processors, and I had AMD all my life, since 2002 when I got the first computer, I think those processors are more hard to find .. and a motherboard with sata / video on board and gigalan even harder I belive. i will give it a try.

But what about the processor I already have, what is the issue ? the voltage 1,2 instead of 1,4v on desktop ? those things I think can be set on almost all boards, right ? I seen the motherboard I was looking at had some manual adjustments, but in the PDF manual I didn't seen the exact values for vcore or other features I have to set for this procesor.
 01/24/2011 01:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ovisopa
Lurker

Posts: 7
Joined: 01/17/2011

As I understood reading on the web the motherboard has to be able to lower the vcore to 1.2v, if the motherboard allows this it should work.

Is this the only thing (and maybe the mupliplier) ?

Can someone recommend a motherboard that supports undervoltage for this CPU ?

Thank you.
 01/24/2011 01:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

Here a link that covers Turion CPUs, and has some reference to motherboard voltages.

http://angelfall.s39.xrea.com/area2ch/turion-e.html

-------------------------
 01/25/2011 08:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

Here another link, the board works with an MT-40, voltages 1.2V and 0.9V. Think the board has a problem with mobile 4000+, due its multiplier, but lower mobiles should work.

http://translate.google.com/tr...k8a780lm_turion64.html

-------------------------
 01/26/2011 03:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ovisopa
Lurker

Posts: 7
Joined: 01/17/2011

Thank yopu for the list, I've search more than 10 motherboards on that webpage but none of those had gigabit lan and VGA onboard , I will try to search one by one to see if there's one.
 01/26/2011 03:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ovisopa
Lurker

Posts: 7
Joined: 01/17/2011

Originally posted by: go_for

Here another link, the board works with an MT-40, voltages 1.2V and 0.9V. Think the board has a problem with mobile 4000+, due its multiplier, but lower mobiles should work.



http://translate.google.com/tr...k8a780lm_turion64.html


WOW .. great news. So if it worked with the Turion it also should work with my Sempron 3000+
 01/26/2011 11:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

I think so, but do not take my word for it.

-------------------------
 02/07/2011 06:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ovisopa
Lurker

Posts: 7
Joined: 01/17/2011

I boght the Asrock motherboard, and I can confirm it detects the mobile sempron corectly and adjusts the voltage automatically.

The system is runing now with a DVD, one 2TB Green WD HDD, one cooler on the CPU and a normal power source with a 12cm fan (by normal, I mean it's not a high efficiency power source) and it consumes ~45 - 53w (in this momment I copy some large files through LAN with 9,5Mb/s , the source has a 10/100 lan so it's saturating the 100mbit link, and the power consumption is 48w)

I intend to buy a picoPSU (>96% eficiency) and hope the power consumption will be lower than this.

Thank you for all your help guys.
 02/10/2011 03:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

Thanks for reporting back. There is next to no review, test or benchmark of this board on the net, so it is useful to have some reference. Which OS are you using?

-------------------------
 04/11/2011 04:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
abla
Lurker

Posts: 2
Joined: 04/11/2011

Hi everyone! I'm new on the forum
Ovisopa, your work is very nice. Did you try to use your system with a videocard to play HD movies?
Maybe as Radeon HD 5450 or GeForce GT430.
I want to recycle my Turion MT-30 for an HTPC. I want also to create a system able to play bluray movies. So I've some doubt that Turion MT-30 can limit a entry level HD videocard.
Thanks

PS: If I wrote some error... sorry for my english
 04/14/2011 03:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
abla
Lurker

Posts: 2
Joined: 04/11/2011

Originally posted by: ovisopa

I boght the Asrock motherboard, and I can confirm it detects the mobile sempron corectly and adjusts the voltage automatically.

The system is runing now with a DVD, one 2TB Green WD HDD, one cooler on the CPU and a normal power source with a 12cm fan (by normal, I mean it's not a high efficiency power source) and it consumes ~45 - 53w (in this momment I copy some large files through LAN with 9,5Mb/s , the source has a 10/100 lan so it's saturating the 100mbit link, and the power consumption is 48w)

I intend to buy a picoPSU (>96% eficiency) and hope the power consumption will be lower than this.

Thank you for all your help guys.


Hi ovisopa, you tryed to put in your system a videocard able to play blu-ray movies?
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information