AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: benchmarks?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/02/2004 09:56 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/02/2004 09:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
-Ro-
Member

Posts: 27
Joined: 02/29/2004

just wonderin which is faster? anyone benchmarked em yet or know stuff? i wanna know the differences between the 2600 barton and 2600 sempron.

ty

-------------------------
8 fans and climbing xD
1x 80 CFM Sunon 80x80x38mm (55dB)
1x ThermalTake v12 (45dB)
4x Rheobus controller
Packed in an Antec AMG1000 case
 09/02/2004 10:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ardrid
Heavy Wizardry

Posts: 12398
Joined: 10/08/2003

The Sempron 2600+ isn't tested, but the Athlon XP 2600+ is, so it should give you a good idea as to where everything stands.

http://www.anandtech.com/cpuch...howd...aspx?i=2139&p=5' ">http://www.anandtech.com/cpuch...howdoc.aspx?i=2139&p=5

-------------------------
Intel Core i7 860
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro
Corsair HX650W
Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 (4GB @ 8-8-8-24)
Sapphire Radeon HD 6870
Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
 09/03/2004 04:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
eddaweaver
Senior Member

Posts: 1390
Joined: 03/10/2004

the 2600+ Sempron is slower than the 2600+ Barton.
 09/05/2004 08:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Cow187
Senior Member

Posts: 1995
Joined: 08/13/2004

it would seem that all Socket A Semperons are performing rather poorley, however the socket 754 Semperon 3100+ beats out the Barton 3200+, so I would say your best bet is to go Semperon 3100+, its really a good deal for a budget system.

-------------------------
AMD64 3500+ Newcastle
Asus A8V Deluxe
2x512mb DDR400
ATI X850 Pro @ X850 XT
NEC 3500 16x DVD
470W Enermax Noisetaker
Viewsonic VP171b 17" 8ms LCD
 09/05/2004 10:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
eddaweaver
Senior Member

Posts: 1390
Joined: 03/10/2004

it'd be better to buy an AMD64 3000+ as it's faster and doesn't have 64-bit disabled.
 09/06/2004 04:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Greyhound
Senior Member

Posts: 5449
Joined: 10/07/2003

Semprons are primarily targeted at the value/low-end segment - they are meant to compete mainly with intels' Celeron D-line, NOT the Athlon XP, Athlon 64 or Pentium 4...consequently, their model numbers aren't meant to be comparable to those of the Athlon XP or Athlon 64-line either.

Obviously, an Athlon XP model 10('Barton' with 512KB of L2-cache will perform better than a Sempron with only 256KB of L2-cache at the same clockspeed.

The Sempron 3100+ is a totally different story, however - it benefits from nearly all architectural enhancements of the Athlon 64 with the exception of 64-bit capability and some cache - with an integrated memory-controller, Hypertransport-I/O as well as features like Cool'n'Quiet, Enhanced virus protection(Execution prevention/NX) and SSE2-support, it is clearly superior to any Socket A processor.
QUOTE it'd be better to buy an AMD64 3000+ as it's faster and doesn't have 64-bit disabled
You and me and most other people who build a system for themselves would certainly do that...however, in the OEM market where thousands of units are being manufactured and sold, every single cent makes a difference

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

<center><font color=red>MODERATOR</center></font>

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 89W :: Asus M2N32SLI Deluxe :: 2x1024MB Muskin XP2-6400 DDR2-800 :: BeQuiet! Darkpower Pro 530W :: 2x WD Raptor 74GB/10k rpm, RAID 0 :: ATI Radeon X1950XTX
 09/06/2004 12:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Klesk4000
Senior Member

Posts: 2857
Joined: 01/02/2004

Wait in those benchs are those Athlon XPs or just Athlons...............

-------------------------
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ || Temp Biostar 939 || Sapphire X1800XT 512mb|| 1.5GB OCZ || SB Audigy Platinum eX || 500w 34amps Aspire PSU
Klesk
 09/06/2004 12:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Greyhound
Senior Member

Posts: 5449
Joined: 10/07/2003

QUOTE (Klesk4000 @ Sep 6 2004, 08:21 AM) Wait in those benchs are those Athlon XPs or just Athlons...............
Athlon XPs.
Athlons don't have Quantispeed-ratings and only went up to 1.4GHz(Socket A) or 1.0GHz(Slot A) respectively

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

<center><font color=red>MODERATOR</center></font>

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 89W :: Asus M2N32SLI Deluxe :: 2x1024MB Muskin XP2-6400 DDR2-800 :: BeQuiet! Darkpower Pro 530W :: 2x WD Raptor 74GB/10k rpm, RAID 0 :: ATI Radeon X1950XTX
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information