AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Building a New System...
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/18/2004 03:58 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/18/2004 03:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
emilsoft
Senior Member

Posts: 235
Joined: 09/18/2004

Hi, I currently have a 1.7GHz Celeron PC and am planning to upgrade my motherboard, CPU, and memory only. I want it to be under $300, so this is what I could come up with:

CPU: AMD Sempron 3100+ (Newegg' ">http://www.newegg.com/app/view...a=0&manufactory=BROWSE)
Motherboard: CHAINTECH "VNF3-250" (Newegg' ">http://www.newegg.com/app/view...a=0&manufactory=BROWSE)
Memory: Mushkin Basic 512MB PC-2700 DDR (Newegg' ">http://www.newegg.com/app/view...a=0&manufactory=BROWSE)

I already have a 60GB IBM Deskstar HDD and an ATI Radeon 9600XT 128MB to use with this upgraded system, so my question is will this be a good setup for good gaming and development performance, and also, will it allow me to upgrade to future Athlon 64 Processors?

Also, if you have any comments or a better setup, please tell me.

Thanks.

-------------------------
Emilsoft Software
 09/18/2004 05:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Megadeth
Senior Member

Posts: 7822
Joined: 08/14/2004

You will be able to upgrade to A64 in the near future. It's a good setup, I suggest you use PC3200 memory cause the PC2700 will decrease performance. Your graphix card is good, but it can be better. What will this PC be used for?
 09/18/2004 05:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
emilsoft
Senior Member

Posts: 235
Joined: 09/18/2004

QUOTE (Megadeth @ Sep 18 2004, 01:28 PM) You will be able to upgrade to A64 in the near future. It's a good setup, I suggest you use PC3200 memory cause the PC2700 will decrease performance. Your graphix card is good, but it can be better. What will this PC be used for?
I'll be using this system mostly for Visual Studio .NET 2003 development, but also some gaming once in a while... most games will be RTS (like: Rise of Nations, Codename: Panzers) and maybe also UT2004 and Doom 3.

-------------------------
Emilsoft Software
 09/18/2004 10:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
emilsoft
Senior Member

Posts: 235
Joined: 09/18/2004

Ok, here is an update... I've decided to go with an ASUS Motherboard, because I want the nVidia Firewall so badly!

CPU: AMD Sempron 3100+ (Newegg' ">http://www.newegg.com/app/view...a=0&manufactory=BROWSE)
Motherboard: ASUS K8N (Newegg' ">http://www.newegg.com/app/view...a=0&manufactory=BROWSE)
Memory: Mushkin Basic 512MB PC-2700 DDR (Newegg' ">http://www.newegg.com/app/view...a=0&manufactory=BROWSE)

What do you think?

-------------------------
Emilsoft Software
 09/19/2004 12:42 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
eddaweaver
Senior Member

Posts: 1390
Joined: 03/10/2004

buy an AMD64 3000+ instead, as it is faster and only a tad more expensive.

Do not get PC2700 ram, it is outdated. Get PC3200 ram
 09/20/2004 07:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
emilsoft
Senior Member

Posts: 235
Joined: 09/18/2004

QUOTE (eddaweaver @ Sep 18 2004, 08:42 PM) buy an AMD64 3000+ instead, as it is faster and only a tad more expensive.

Do not get PC2700 ram, it is outdated. Get PC3200 ram
Thank you for your advice... after a bit researching, I have decided to do the same, OCZ PC-3200 RAM & AMD Athlon64 3000+

-------------------------
Emilsoft Software
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information