AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Help! Sempron Setup!
Topic Summary:
Created On: 08/24/2004 11:29 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/24/2004 11:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Megadeth
Senior Member

Posts: 7822
Joined: 08/14/2004

Hi! I'm thinking of selling my Intel Pentium 4 processor and buying an AMD Sempron based computer because my Pentium 4 based computer is giving me [content edited]! Anyways, that isn't the problem. I just want some people to check my Sempron computer components and see if they are the best ones I could get.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
System Components---------------------------------------------------------------------->
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. AMD Sempron 3100+ (1800/256/Hyper-Transport/Socket-754)
2. Gigabyte GA-K8NSNXP Socket 754
3. ATI Radeon 9550 (256 MB Memory)
4. ATI TV Wonder Pro PCI TV Tuner/Video Capture Card
5. PC3200 512 MB Memory
6. 9-In-1 Media Reader (w/ XD Card Support)
7. 60 GB HDD & 40 GB HDD
8. Floppy Drive
9. Dual Format DVD Burner
10. Microsoft Windows XP Professional
11. Case/Enclosure
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------->
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Please check this setup for any problems. I have a few questions myself. What is the difference between DDR400 and PC3200? Is Windows XP Professional worth it (I have Home Edition and Professional on two of my laptops and both seem exactly the same to me)? Lastly, where can I find an AMD Sempron 3100+ and I need a specific website? Sorry if I was a little pushy, but right now I'm on edge with my P4 and I'd love to bad-mouth Intel right now!
 08/25/2004 02:42 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Greyhound
Senior Member

Posts: 5449
Joined: 10/07/2003

Moved to A64 General info & specs since the Socket 754 Semprons are based on the same architecture minus 64-bit capability and some cache...also, they use the same Socket 754 motherboards as the Athlon 64 processors
QUOTE Please check this setup for any problems.
Nothing wrong with it as far as i can tell.
Do make sure you get a decent powersupply, tho - it should be able to provide atleast 18A on the +12V rail

Also, make sure to update your motherboards' BIOS to the latest version to ensure your Sempron will be recognized properly.
QUOTE What is the difference between DDR400 and PC3200?
There is no difference whatsoever - it's two names for exactly the same thing.

Over time, the PCxxxx naming scheme which denotes your memory's maximum theoretical bandwidth in MB/s has become more popular...probably because the numbers look 'bigger'
QUOTE Windows XP Professional worth it (I have Home Edition and Professional on two of my laptops and both seem exactly the same to me)?
Unless you need to connect to some larger networks(like at work or university for example) i don't think WinXP Pro would be much of an advantage over the home version, but that's just my own personal opinion...
QUOTE Lastly, where can I find an AMD Sempron 3100+ and I need a specific website?
You could get one from newegg' ">http://www.newegg.com/app/view...s&CMP=OTC-pr1c3grabb3r or monarch' ">http://www.monarchcomputer.com...tegory_Code=amdsempron for example.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

<center><font color=red>MODERATOR</center></font>

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 89W :: Asus M2N32SLI Deluxe :: 2x1024MB Muskin XP2-6400 DDR2-800 :: BeQuiet! Darkpower Pro 530W :: 2x WD Raptor 74GB/10k rpm, RAID 0 :: ATI Radeon X1950XTX
 08/25/2004 11:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Megadeth
Senior Member

Posts: 7822
Joined: 08/14/2004

Hi, Greyhound! I don't want an AMD Athlon 64 just yet. The processors are expensive and even for the 2800+ you have to pay a little over $200. I'm thinking of getting Sempron 3100+ right now because prices for the A64 will go down once 64-bit revolution is in full swing. Since Sempron 3100+ in on socket 754 it'll be easy for me to just upgrade to Athlon 64 by switching processors. I thought Newegg only sold Sempron 2200+-2800+ and no 3100+.
 08/25/2004 05:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Greyhound
Senior Member

Posts: 5449
Joined: 10/07/2003

QUOTE I don't want an AMD Athlon 64 just yet.
I am aware of that - i merely moved your post here because from an architectural point of view, the Socket 754 Semprons - i.e. the current Sempron 3100+ model *are* partially disabled Athlon 64s

The links i provided for you in the above post are direct links to the Sempron 3100+ on newegg.com(Retail box, 145$ - in stock) and monarch computer systems(Retail box, 129$ - ETA 08/30)

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

<center><font color=red>MODERATOR</center></font>

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 89W :: Asus M2N32SLI Deluxe :: 2x1024MB Muskin XP2-6400 DDR2-800 :: BeQuiet! Darkpower Pro 530W :: 2x WD Raptor 74GB/10k rpm, RAID 0 :: ATI Radeon X1950XTX
 09/03/2004 10:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
koolaidwa
Senior Member

Posts: 9068
Joined: 04/06/2004

2800+a64 are about 160-170 now not too much more then the sempron

-------------------------

[b' ">http://di.fm ..... CAT - "Oh no, I'm Dwain Dibley"
Just say no to Black Eyed Peas! ..... I Fish Therefore I Am!
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information