AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: 1.6 GHZ processor running at 1 in Bios
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/30/2004 04:44 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/30/2004 04:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
yaqz
Member

Posts: 20
Joined: 10/23/2004

I am using a sempron 2400 on the a7v600-X and the bios will not let me run it at the full speed (1.6) everytime I attempt to run it at 1.6ghz it restarts and runs bios in safemode. When I run the cpu speed at 1 ghz it runs fine. How can I run my rpocessor to its full capability. Note the motherboard is supposed to run this type of processor. Any help will be greatly appreciated!

-------------------------
Motherboard: Asus A7V600-X Graphics Card: nVIDIA Geforce FX 5200 Processor: AMD Sempron 2400+ RAM: DDR400 PC3200
 10/30/2004 09:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zir_blazer
Code Warrior

Posts: 2840
Joined: 03/19/2004

Your Sempron 2400+ should run at 166 MHz FSB with a 11x Multiplier for a total of 1666 MHz. Check your Motherboard Manual in order to know what you must change to set the FSB at 166 MHz (It can be either a option in the BIOS or a Jumper in the Motherboard itself). I have no idea about your Motherboard, but in many Motherboards when you raise the FSB manually, it raises also the PCI Bus and the AGP Bus, that should work at 33 MHz and 66 MHz respectively. Those two Buses are very sensible to overclocking, and can start to cause issues with your Hard Disk if you raise it. By the way, have you updated the BIOS?
 10/31/2004 06:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Greyhound
Senior Member

Posts: 5449
Joined: 10/07/2003

Make sure you have updated your BIOS to the latest version - download it directly from Asus' site, do not use LiveUpdate.

Also, make sure your FSB is set to 166MHz both in BIOS and via jumper on the motherboard - if such a jumper is present...refer to your manual for details.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

<center><font color=red>MODERATOR</center></font>

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 89W :: Asus M2N32SLI Deluxe :: 2x1024MB Muskin XP2-6400 DDR2-800 :: BeQuiet! Darkpower Pro 530W :: 2x WD Raptor 74GB/10k rpm, RAID 0 :: ATI Radeon X1950XTX
 10/31/2004 10:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
yaqz
Member

Posts: 20
Joined: 10/23/2004

Thanks, it worked. But for some reason it keeps crashing. So put it back to 1 ghz and it is fine.

-------------------------
Motherboard: Asus A7V600-X Graphics Card: nVIDIA Geforce FX 5200 Processor: AMD Sempron 2400+ RAM: DDR400 PC3200
 11/02/2004 09:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Armycop
Junior Member

Posts: 12
Joined: 11/02/2004

Checking the ASUS literature for our boards (AX series) doesn't mention or show any jumpers for setting the FSB; however, changing the BIOS settings to manual will allow us to change freqs, FSB, Vcore and others. I too have the 2400+ and it won't run stable above 1.33Ghz, and that's with: 11.5multiplier, 133/33 FSB and 1.6v Vcore (what I'm at now). If anybody knows what jumpers we can fiddle with to allow our chips to run at their rated speeds or higher, please, chime in!!
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information