AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Confusion or what....
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/29/2004 06:05 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/29/2004 06:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
spikey
Member

Posts: 126
Joined: 10/14/2004

ok, now im really confused

aparently there is a sempron 3000+ and it has a 512kb L2 cache. on this amd website there is no word of a sempron 3000+ and it sais all semprons have a L2 cache of 256kb? which is wright?

also, i found this website that said semprons had a fsb of 333 but on this website again it said the maximum is 200. which is wright?

plz hlp me cause i am realy confused on knowing which ones are right and i kneed to know the wright facts because i am considering upgrading to sempron.

cheers will,

-------------------------
2x Maxtor DiamondMax Plus 9 Sata-150 8mb Cache
2x Cosair 1gb pc3200 ram
AMD Sempron 3000+ @ 2.4Ghz & 400Fsb
Asrock K7vt4a+ Kt400
Sapphire 256mb X800gto Agp
Antec 350W SLK1650
Adaptec Sata Connect ASH-1205SA
 12/29/2004 07:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
koolaidwa
Senior Member

Posts: 9068
Joined: 04/06/2004

what website are u taljking about first off



-------------------------

[b' ">http://di.fm ..... CAT - "Oh no, I'm Dwain Dibley"
Just say no to Black Eyed Peas! ..... I Fish Therefore I Am!
 12/29/2004 07:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMD808
Moderator

Posts: 3771
Joined: 10/09/2004

QUOTE (spikey @ Dec 29 2004, 01:05 PM) ok, now im really confused

aparently there is a sempron 3000+ and it has a 512kb L2 cache. on this amd website there is no word of a sempron 3000+ and it sais all semprons have a L2 cache of 256kb? which is wright?

also, i found this website that said semprons had a fsb of 333 but on this website again it said the maximum is 200. which is wright?

plz hlp me cause i am realy confused on knowing which ones are right and i kneed to know the wright facts because i am considering upgrading to sempron.

cheers will,
There is a Sempron 3000+ with 512KB L2 cache, and some people do have them. However, they are not readily available. All other Socket A Semprons have 256KB L2 cache (the Socket 754 3100+ as well) and their stock FSB is 166 MHz (333 effectively).

-------------------------
MODERATOR

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 12/30/2004 05:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
spikey
Member

Posts: 126
Joined: 10/14/2004

the website i found the only 3000+ on was microdirect.com. previously i could only get the 2800+ on dabs.com. also the 3000+ was the same price as the 2800+. any ideas?

also is the sempron 3000+ compatible with a asrock kt400a?

cheers again will

-------------------------
2x Maxtor DiamondMax Plus 9 Sata-150 8mb Cache
2x Cosair 1gb pc3200 ram
AMD Sempron 3000+ @ 2.4Ghz & 400Fsb
Asrock K7vt4a+ Kt400
Sapphire 256mb X800gto Agp
Antec 350W SLK1650
Adaptec Sata Connect ASH-1205SA
 12/30/2004 05:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMD808
Moderator

Posts: 3771
Joined: 10/09/2004

QUOTE (spikey @ Dec 30 2004, 12:43 AM) the website i found the only 3000+ on was microdirect.com. previously i could only get the 2800+ on dabs.com. also the 3000+ was the same price as the 2800+. any ideas?

also is the sempron 3000+ compatible with a asrock kt400a?

cheers again will
That is indeed a 3000+ on their website. Just not available everywhere, just in certain places and websites.

And the 3000+ should work just fine with that motherboard. You probably will need to update the BIOS before hand.

-------------------------
MODERATOR

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 12/30/2004 12:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MD - Moderator
Deployer of Mjölnir - House Keeping

Posts: 11102
Joined: 11/05/2003

QUOTE (spikey @ Dec 29 2004, 03:05 PM) on this amd website there is no word of a sempron 3000+ and it sais all semprons have a L2 cache of 256kb? which is wright?

At the top of this forum is the following title: "Important Topics"

Inside are the Sempron specs...



MD

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Physics? Ha! This is clearly magic and devilry at work. Prepare firewood! We have witches to burn!


MODERATOR
 01/05/2005 03:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
spikey
Member

Posts: 126
Joined: 10/14/2004

hi,

i bought the sempron 3000+ with the board i mentioned above and 512mb pc2700 and everything is set up so the motherboard identifies the cpu corectly. because im stupid and dont reed the instructions i think i through out the peace of paper that came with it about the correct temp.

is this arond the normal working safe temperature? the temp is around 40c

cheers will

-------------------------
2x Maxtor DiamondMax Plus 9 Sata-150 8mb Cache
2x Cosair 1gb pc3200 ram
AMD Sempron 3000+ @ 2.4Ghz & 400Fsb
Asrock K7vt4a+ Kt400
Sapphire 256mb X800gto Agp
Antec 350W SLK1650
Adaptec Sata Connect ASH-1205SA
 01/05/2005 05:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MD - Moderator
Deployer of Mjölnir - House Keeping

Posts: 11102
Joined: 11/05/2003

40*C is just fine...enjoy your new toy!

MD

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Physics? Ha! This is clearly magic and devilry at work. Prepare firewood! We have witches to burn!


MODERATOR
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information