AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Miscellaneos sempron questions
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/11/2005 06:05 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/11/2005 06:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
matato
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Joined: 06/05/2005

I just bought an ASUS a7v880, and it says that its only for Athlon XP's, however after googling I found out that Semprons are also well supported. I haven't decided what model of Sempron should I buy, since Athlon XP's are already phase out in the market, but one thing I'm sure of, I want it the fastest my board can support. Right now, I'm just looking at the Semprons socket A processor chart and I have few questions:

1. Is there a great difference in terms of processing power when comparing sempron 2800 with a 256 L2 cache against sempron 3000 with 512 L2 cache.

2. Is sempron 3000 already available in the market? I've been looking at some of the computer retailers here in our place but none of them seems to be selling sempron 3000 for socket A.

3. My board says it can run on 400 mhz while the sempron processor at only 333 mhz, does that mean I will not gonna be utilizing my board's full capacity?


4. The board also says it has dual channel memory, will it be also applicable to sempron processors, it terms of utilizing its full capacity?


5. Why are there 3 different models of sempron 2800 running at 2000mhz and also 2 different models of sempron 2200 running at 1500 mhz. Are there any difference between the said models?
 09/13/2005 04:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMD808
Moderator

Posts: 3771
Joined: 10/09/2004

QUOTE(matato @ Sep 11 2005, 12:05 AM)1. Is there a great difference in terms of processing power when comparing sempron 2800 with a 256 L2 cache against sempron 3000 with 512 L2 cache.
[right][snapback]500193[/snapback][/right]

No. Given both are running at the same clock speed with the same FSB, there will be no difference with raw processing power. There will be instances where the extra cache will help, though. However, the difference often isn't that great - depending on what you do.

QUOTE(matato @ Sep 11 2005, 12:05 AM)2. Is sempron 3000 already available in the market? I've been looking at some of the computer retailers here in our place but none of them seems to be selling sempron 3000 for socket A.
[right][snapback]500193[/snapback][/right]

The Sempron 3000+ (Both Sockets) processors have been available for quite a while now - though, that will depend on your location.

QUOTE(matato @ Sep 11 2005, 12:05 AM)3. My board says it can run on 400 mhz while the sempron processor at only 333 mhz, does that mean I will not gonna be utilizing my board's full capacity?
[right][snapback]500193[/snapback][/right]

Yes, and no. You will not be utilizing your board's full potential (per-se), but you will be utilizing your processor's full potential. Any further than what the processor is spec'd to run at will be overclocking.

QUOTE(matato @ Sep 11 2005, 12:05 AM)4. The board also says it has dual channel memory, will it be also applicable to sempron processors, it terms of utilizing its full capacity?
[right][snapback]500193[/snapback][/right]

Dual Channel is dependent on the motherboard's chipset (at least in the case of Socket A). There is not much of a performance increase using dual channel with AMD processors (K7 and K8). K7 (Socket A) gains, on average, about a 2-5% increase in 'real world' performance. K8 (Socket 754, 939 & 940) gains, on average, 8-10% in 'real world' performance. Again, not much, but if 2 or more memory modules (of same size, speed, etc) are in your posession, then it is practically a free performance boost.

The motherboard manual will explain how to setup dual channel configurations.

QUOTE(matato @ Sep 11 2005, 12:05 AM)5. Why are there 3 different models of sempron 2800 running at 2000mhz and also 2 different models of sempron 2200 running at 1500 mhz. Are there any difference between the said models?
[right][snapback]500193[/snapback][/right]

The 2800+ you will see in different variants due to the difference in socket types being used - Socket A and Socket 754. The Socket 754 parts all have advantages over their Socket A counterparts - integrated memory controller (just like the A64), HyperTransport, 64-bit capability on the Sempron 64's, SSE2 (and SSE3 in some cases).

Though, if they have the same ratings, they should perform similarly, but that will differentiate from person to person.

-------------------------
MODERATOR

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information