AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: amd 2800+
Topic Summary:
Created On: 05/03/2005 09:11 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 3 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/03/2005 09:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tyko
Member

Posts: 20
Joined: 05/02/2005

iv just installed a 2800+ AMD chip but my pc is still runing at 1.6Ghz why is this and how can make it faster. thanks

-------------------------
Aaron
 05/03/2005 09:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TLH
Moderator

Posts: 3641
Joined: 11/19/2004

Can you list more specs on this chip.i.e.serial number,fsb,cache,etc.
Any info will help us.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

1100t on M5A99x-EVO with 2x4gb and 6870 running Win7 on Force120 ssd in Corsair 600t cooled by H100. Folding for team 34106
 05/03/2005 01:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tyko
Member

Posts: 20
Joined: 05/02/2005

all the info i can see is scil-506329505 AMD sempron 2800+ (2.00) soca link- (7941) and AMD sempron with 256kb cache operates at 2000 mhz socket A

-------------------------
Aaron
 05/04/2005 09:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tyko
Member

Posts: 20
Joined: 05/02/2005

can anyone please help

-------------------------
Aaron
 05/07/2005 04:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JHawk56
Elite

Posts: 1084
Joined: 07/27/2004

Hello tyko. A Sempron 2800+ normally runs at 2083 MHz (166.7 FSB x 12.0 multiplier). It sounds like your motherboard's FSB is set to 133 (133.3 FSB x 12 = 1600 MHz). You need to set it to 166. How to do that depends on your motherboard. Look it up in the manual, or if you can identify the motherboard for us, we can try to help.

If it's an old enough (or cheap enough) motherboard, it may not have the 166 setting.

John

-------------------------
My ECS/PCCHIPS/Amptron PCs<br>ASRock K7VM2
 05/07/2005 06:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tyko
Member

Posts: 20
Joined: 05/02/2005

thanks my motherboard is a k7 with pc chips fsb266 km 266/8235

-------------------------
Aaron
 05/07/2005 07:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JHawk56
Elite

Posts: 1084
Joined: 07/27/2004

QUOTE (tyko @ May 7 2005, 05:29 PM) thanks my motherboard is a k7 with pc chips fsb266 km 266/8235
OK. None of that is the model name of the motherboard, but it looks like enough to give it a go.

PCCHIPS is the motherboard manufacturer.

K7 is the series name for all AMD Athlon, Duron, and some Sempron processors. PCCHIPS puts a great big "K7" on their boxes, so some people think this is the model name.

FSB266: PCCHIPS also sticks this in great big letters on some of the boxes. It means the maximum front side bus is 266 MHz. That's the same as the 133 FSB I said it looked like your mobo is set to. Sometimes the number is doubled (2 x 133 = 266) because the K7 processors do work on both the rise and fall of each cycle. This is bad news, since it would need to say "FSB333" to support Semprons at full speed.

KM2266: The VIA KM266 chipset, which only supports FSB266. All PCCHIPS boards with KM266 are some version of the model M825.

8235: This is the VIA model number of the "southbridge," one of the two chips in the KM266 chipset.

You may be able to set your board to run faster than 266 (133) FSB, although you won't be able to get to the full 333. It would be very helpful to know which version of the M825 you have. Look for a version number somewhere on the motherboard. It could be in various places.

For example, this M825G v8.0 has it printed on a white sticker after "M825G:"


On this M825 v7.1, it's silkscreened at the lower left corner of the mobo:


Let us know what you find.

-------------------------
My ECS/PCCHIPS/Amptron PCs<br>ASRock K7VM2
 05/07/2005 07:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TLH
Moderator

Posts: 3641
Joined: 11/19/2004

Your Socket A Sempron 2800+ is running 1.6ghz because your fsb is 133.You have the correct multiplier of 12 running.You need the fsb at 166 to get the full 2ghz performance.
If you can find out which motherboard you have you may be able to update your bios files.You can get new versions/updates from the PCchips website.
You'll have to read the manual to find out how to do this for your board.
This is probably the only way you're going to get your board running 333fsb.
You're probably going to be tied by the km266 chipset though,in which case you'll need a new motherboard with support for 333fsb or higher.

Or you could just settle for 1.6ghz

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

1100t on M5A99x-EVO with 2x4gb and 6870 running Win7 on Force120 ssd in Corsair 600t cooled by H100. Folding for team 34106
 05/08/2005 10:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tyko
Member

Posts: 20
Joined: 05/02/2005

thanks for you help so far my motherboard v 7.2A it has a jumper with just two settings 100MHZ or 133MHZ its set to 133 is they any way to set it bigger if not can you recommend a motherboard

-------------------------
Aaron
 05/08/2005 04:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JHawk56
Elite

Posts: 1084
Joined: 07/27/2004

tyko, you have a few options.

The BIOS for version 7.2C of the M825 has had an overclocking option since BIOS revision 040202S. I'm told this can get you to 149 FSB, which would clock your Sempron at 12x149=1788 MHz.

If your v7.2 mobo has the same PLL chip as v7.1, you can use a Windows program called CPUCool to set the FSB higher. It has the 166 MHz FSB required by your Sempron. The KM266 chipset on your mobo is probably capable of that, and you're not likely to hurt anything trying. See if your mobo has a rectangular, black chip right in the middle of the mobo, just left of the gold heat sink, as in the v7.1 picture I posted above. Read all the markings on that chip and we can determine if you can use CPUCool.

If you just want to keep it simple and like the M825, you could upgrade to the M825G v9.2A, which has a KM266 Pro chipset and supports 166FSB right out of the box. You just set the jumpers for 166. My own preference would be the PCCHIPS M863G with SiS 741GX chipset. No jumpers to mess with, and easier to overclock if you are into that. It can use the BIOS from the slightly more expensive M863AG (or just get an M863AG instead) and access FSBs well over 200MHz. Most Semprons readily push past 200 FSB.

John

John

-------------------------
My ECS/PCCHIPS/Amptron PCs<br>ASRock K7VM2
 05/08/2005 05:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tyko
Member

Posts: 20
Joined: 05/02/2005

QUOTE (JHawk56 @ May 8 2005, 12:03 PM) tyko, you have a few options.

The BIOS for version 7.2C of the M825 has had an overclocking option since BIOS revision 040202S. I'm told this can get you to 149 FSB, which would clock your Sempron at 12x149=1788 MHz.

If your v7.2 mobo has the same PLL chip as v7.1, you can use a Windows program called CPUCool to set the FSB higher. It has the 166 MHz FSB required by your Sempron. The KM266 chipset on your mobo is probably capable of that, and you're not likely to hurt anything trying. See if your mobo has a rectangular, black chip right in the middle of the mobo, just left of the gold heat sink, as in the v7.1 picture I posted above. Read all the markings on that chip and we can determine if you can use CPUCool.

If you just want to keep it simple and like the M825, you could upgrade to the M825G v9.2A, which has a KM266 Pro chipset and supports 166FSB right out of the box. You just set the jumpers for 166. My own preference would be the PCCHIPS M863G with SiS 741GX chipset. No jumpers to mess with, and easier to overclock if you are into that. It can use the BIOS from the slightly more expensive M863AG (or just get an M863AG instead) and access FSBs well over 200MHz. Most Semprons readily push past 200 FSB.

John

John
See if your mobo has a rectangular, black chip right in the middle of the mobo, just left of the gold heat sink, as in the v7.1 picture I posted above. Read all the markings on that chip and we can determine if you can use CPUCool.
if im looking at the right chip it say's ICS LP950045A 0348 9422AAF OR IT COULD BE THIS CHIP FR312C KA7500C thanks agian john for all your help. Thanks Aaron

-------------------------
Aaron
 05/08/2005 06:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JHawk56
Elite

Posts: 1084
Joined: 07/27/2004

Hi Aaron,

The tiny print on those chips is very heard to read, at least for me. Sometimes it takes a magnifier. On the first chip, where you read "9422AAF" could that actually be "94228AF" or "94228BF"? Those would be valid PLL chip models that we could work with. Please take another look and use a magnifier and a flashlight if you need to.

John

-------------------------
My ECS/PCCHIPS/Amptron PCs<br>ASRock K7VM2
 05/08/2005 08:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tyko
Member

Posts: 20
Joined: 05/02/2005

Hi john i had a propper look at the chip and it say's 94228bf i hope this helps thanks.

-------------------------
Aaron
 05/10/2005 06:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tyko
Member

Posts: 20
Joined: 05/02/2005

iv downloaded cpucool but i dont have a clue how to use it. I can see where i pick what board iv got and that chip number.The only motherboard setting is M825LU mine is M825 is it the same.once iv put all that in im stuck i don't know what setting's to put in can you help. thanks

-------------------------
Aaron
 05/11/2005 12:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JHawk56
Elite

Posts: 1084
Joined: 07/27/2004

Hi tyko. Sorry for going AWOL on you.

Your PLL chip is an ICS 94228 (the "BF" suffix doesn't matter). It is supported by CPUCool. I have an older version of CPUCool that does not list the M825LU. You can select that one as long as it shows the ICS 94228 PLL when it asks you to confirm the mainboard choice. If not you can choose the ECS/Elitegroup K7VMM, since that's the same mobo under a different name.

Under the functions menu, select "Change front side bus / change CPU speed." You'll notice here you can enter the PLL chip type directly. Change it to ICS 94228 if it's not that already. Now look at the little selection window under the words "Frequency to set." If you scroll with the up/down arrows, you will see the various FSB settings you can select. For each FSB is also shown a PCI bus speed. Since we are not trying to overclock your CPU, just get it up to normal speed, I see no reason to go in steps. You can go directly to the 166.7 MHz FSB. Also notice that at 166.7 FSB, the PCI bus speed is at 33.3 MHz, just like at 133.3 FSB. That 33.3 MHz is the normal specification for the PCI bus. That's another reason to jump directly to 166.7, because the FSBs in between 133.3 and 166.7 have PCI speeds above the normal 33.3 MHz. That's OK within reason, put your hardware might not like the really high PCI speeds.

So scroll right to the 166.7 FSB. Then click the "Set Frequency" button and then click "OK."

Hopefully your CPU is now at 2083 MHz. To confirm, click OK at upper right to go back to the main CPUCool screen. "Current Freq." should read 2083 MHz.

If it did not work, try the Fine Tuning option back on the FSB-changing screen. At the top section of the fine tuning screen, check the box for "Use frequency 'fine 1' in CPUCool." Then play with the various + and - boxes until the FSB reads 166.8-something. (I'm having you go just a bit past 166.7 to ensure the "5" divisor kicks in -- that's what brings the PCI bus speed back to normal.) Click "Freq set" and confirm "OK." You'll either be at 166.8 FSB, or lock up. If you lock up, turn off power to the PC (at the power supply), then back on, and start the system.

The current version of CPUCool "forgets" your settings when it is shut down, until you pay the shareware fee and register your copy, which is well worth it. Then it will remember your motherboard and PLL, and you can set it to change the FSB automatically every time Windows loads. So I'd play around with it and if it works for you (remember to select the right motherboard or PLL each time), go ahead and send Wolfram Podien his money. Beats buying a new mobo.

Good luck and if you have questions, please ask.

John


-------------------------
My ECS/PCCHIPS/Amptron PCs<br>ASRock K7VM2
 05/11/2005 02:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Booze46
Senior Member

Posts: 914
Joined: 02/23/2005

u better go and buy a better mobo - this kind of overclocking is going to corrupt all data on your box. If it is a pure game machine don't worry!
 05/11/2005 02:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JHawk56
Elite

Posts: 1084
Joined: 07/27/2004

Booze, please share with us your experience of running KM266 chipsets at 166 FSB, using processors rated for that FSB.

John

-------------------------
My ECS/PCCHIPS/Amptron PCs<br>ASRock K7VM2
 05/11/2005 02:58 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Booze46
Senior Member

Posts: 914
Joined: 02/23/2005

QUOTE (JHawk56 @ May 11 2005, 04:32 PM) Booze, please share with us your experience of running KM266 chipsets at 166 FSB, using processors rated for that FSB.

John
John,
not sure what u are after? This chipset is not meant to be overclocked this far.
There is no bus divider means screw the FSB and u screw PCI/AGP bus same amount.
 05/11/2005 03:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JHawk56
Elite

Posts: 1084
Joined: 07/27/2004

The divisor is a function of the PLL chip, in this case an ICS 94228. It implements a "5" divisor at 166.67 FSB.

ICS 94228 Data Sheet' ">http://www.icst.com/datasheets/ics94228.pdf

John
(going to bed)

-------------------------
My ECS/PCCHIPS/Amptron PCs<br>ASRock K7VM2
 05/11/2005 03:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Booze46
Senior Member

Posts: 914
Joined: 02/23/2005

QUOTE (JHawk56 @ May 11 2005, 05:19 PM) The divisor is a function of the PLL chip, in this case an ICS 94228. It implements a "5" divisor at 166.67 FSB.

ICS 94228 Data Sheet' ">http://www.icst.com/datasheets/ics94228.pdf

John
(going to bed)
..and therefore u say it is safe to overclock like this? This chipset runs at 333 without any concerns?
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information