AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: sempron 2600+
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/18/2005 06:12 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/18/2005 06:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sanekiwi
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 10/18/2005

this is all new to me and is a big upgrade...my computer is a PII running 455mhz...time for a change so Ive got a semprom 2600+ socket 754 64bit processor with a foxconn winfast 760GXK8MB-RS motherboard and 512mb PC3200 ram.
I plan to run XP pro.
the problum Im having is power...what do I need to run it ?
Ive had a look around and think that this may do it
http://www.dse.co.nz/cgi-bin/d...fron...uct/View/XH6903' ">http://www.dse.co.nz/cgi-bin/d...24/Product/View/XH6903

any advice and tips would be great
 10/18/2005 07:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stealth13777
Senior Member

Posts: 895
Joined: 12/23/2004

That power supply is an overpriced piece of s***. Here is one that will do the job and it costs $30 less... and I can testify to its quality because I have it.

Thermaltake Silent Purepower 420Watt psu w/ 18A on the 12V rail $39' ">http://www.newegg.com/Product/...p?Item=N82E16817153006

-------------------------
-The Desktop: Abit NF7-S V2 w/ the old AXP-M 2500+ (OC'd) and TT Volcano 12, 1 gig RAM, 37GB WD Raptor, 80Gb Hitachi, XFX NVidia GEForce FX 5700LE (OC'd), Enermax Aluminum Case and XClio 450watt psu, DL DVD-R/RW, DVD-ROM (+ floppy)
SB Audigy 2 ZS
-Everyday:HP Laptop 15.4WS w/Turion64x2 TL-56, 2gig, 160gb, Lightscribe DVD-R/RW, NVidia graphics, Vista
 10/18/2005 07:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sanekiwi
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 10/18/2005

thanks for your imput...and your right...probly is an over priced hunk of junk but where I come from you dont get much of a choice...Im on holiday in aussie at the moment and will have a look around for that when I get back to new zealand but doutb that I could pick one up for that price there...I suspect a hundred bucks or more /dry.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='dry.gif' />
 10/19/2005 07:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
r3sil3
Senior Member

Posts: 4102
Joined: 10/05/2005

watch out for that winfast motherboard, its a hunk of crap.....

as for a PSU, you will want something with atleast 17a on the 12vrail...

I personally tell everyont to get a epower puma, tis what i have and has 28a on the 12v rail and is only 50 usdollars.

-------------------------
NO PC As Of NOW!

I'll still be on here once in a while.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information