AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: 2800+ Socket A, 754 pin. Which is better?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/10/2005 04:40 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/10/2005 04:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
224inc
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Joined: 10/05/2005

Which one of these is better since Socket A runs at 2.0mhz and 754 runs at 1.6? I have a socket A but would love to know if it is worth getting a 754.
 10/10/2005 04:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
elite_athlon
Senior Member

Posts: 7392
Joined: 06/07/2005

well 754 cpu's are cheaper and have a bit of performance boost.

-------------------------
Join a real forum - http://www.compsupportforums.com/
 10/10/2005 04:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
224inc
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Joined: 10/05/2005

QUOTE(athlonxp2800+/333 @ Oct 10 2005, 04:41 PM)well 754 cpu's are cheaper and have a bit of performance boost.
[right][snapback]520378[/snapback][/right]


I don't understand, or maybe I'm just stupid. But wouldn't a processor running at 2.0Mhz be better than one running at 1.6? How is the 1.6 better?
 10/10/2005 04:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
elite_athlon
Senior Member

Posts: 7392
Joined: 06/07/2005

well your talking about a sempron64 right?

-------------------------
Join a real forum - http://www.compsupportforums.com/
 10/10/2005 04:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
224inc
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Joined: 10/05/2005

QUOTE(athlonxp2800+/333 @ Oct 10 2005, 04:45 PM)well your talking about a sempron64 right?
[right][snapback]520381[/snapback][/right]


Well the 754 is the 64 bit right? The socket A isn't. I'm just trying to understand how the 64 bit is better even though it runs at a lower Mhz rate.
 10/10/2005 04:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
elite_athlon
Senior Member

Posts: 7392
Joined: 06/07/2005

well the socket A is 32-bit and most of the 754ones or 64-bit, and since its also the 754 are based on the K8 arcutechture, while the socket A have K7,
plus the fact that its 64-bit makes it much more powerful.

-------------------------
Join a real forum - http://www.compsupportforums.com/
 10/10/2005 05:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
224inc
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Joined: 10/05/2005

QUOTE(athlonxp2800+/333 @ Oct 10 2005, 04:55 PM)well the socket A is 32-bit and most of the 754ones or 64-bit, and since its also the 754 are based on the K8 arcutechture, while the socket A have K7,
plus the fact that its 64-bit makes it much more powerful.
[right][snapback]520397[/snapback][/right]

I don't mean to sound like an idiot here. But what makes the 64 bit much more powerful and in what sense. Also, what is the whole purpose of having the higher Mhz rate then if the 64 bit ends up being even more powerful and cheaper?
 10/10/2005 05:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
someone124
Senior Member

Posts: 2213
Joined: 10/09/2004

the K8 architecture used in socket 754 and 939 is much faster and more efficiant than the K7 architecture used in socket A. Therefore, a processor that is 1.6 GHz using the K8 architecture will usually outperform a K7 processor at 2 GHz

Remember, it is all about how the CPU is designed, GHz don't really have much to do with overall speed.

But, for your upgrade question, don't upgrade to socket 754, as it is being phased out. I would recommend going with Socket 939 because there are more options for it, it has an integrated memory controller (which makes it faster) and it will just be around longer, and it is not any more expensive.

so go with Socket 939 /wink.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='wink.gif' />

-------------------------
Got F@H?|This is why we use AMD | Proud Owner of a DFI board| HUG ME!|
<img src="http://di
 10/10/2005 05:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
224inc
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Joined: 10/05/2005

QUOTE(someone124 @ Oct 10 2005, 05:25 PM)the K8 architecture used in socket 754 and 939 is much faster and more efficiant than the K7 architecture used in socket A. Therefore, a processor that is 1.6 GHz using the K8 architecture will usually outperform a K7 processor at 2 GHz

Remember, it is all about how the CPU is designed, GHz don't really have much to do with overall speed.

But, for your upgrade question, don't upgrade to socket 754, as it is being phased out. I would recommend going with Socket 939 because there are more options for it, it has an integrated memory controller (which makes it faster) and it will just be around longer, and it is not any more expensive.

so go with Socket 939  /wink.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='wink.gif' />
[right][snapback]520432[/snapback][/right]

Thanks so much for clearing that up for me. That was a big help. In the meantime until i get enough dough to get a 939 and mobo which I'm guessing I'll need since the one i have now is for the Socket A, what can I do to increase overall speed and efficiency? Will more memory help?
 10/12/2005 02:58 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
paw64
Member

Posts: 57
Joined: 06/15/2005

I love this MoBo, and this is the best of the 754s.


http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicat...7&CMP=AFC-AFFIL' ">http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicat...7&CMP=AFC-AFFIL


-------------------------
Is that... smoke?
 10/12/2005 07:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TLH
Moderator

Posts: 3641
Joined: 11/19/2004

As far as I understand it 64bit architecture can handle info in packets twice as big as 32bit therefore doing twice as much work per cpu clock cycle.Unfortunately most programs are still written for the 32bit environment.
Wait for a while and save up for a Socket 939 board like someone124 said.By the time you get that and a 64bit OS there should be more 64bit programs about to make full use of the technology.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

1100t on M5A99x-EVO with 2x4gb and 6870 running Win7 on Force120 ssd in Corsair 600t cooled by H100. Folding for team 34106
 10/14/2005 02:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
224inc
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Joined: 10/05/2005

QUOTE(paw64 @ Oct 12 2005, 02:58 AM)I love this MoBo, and this is the best of the 754s.
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicat...7&CMP=AFC-AFFIL' ">http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicat...7&CMP=AFC-AFFIL
[right][snapback]521570[/snapback][/right]

Sorry, that link went to nowhere.
 10/20/2005 08:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Skip
Member

Posts: 38
Joined: 03/09/2005

QUOTE(paw64 @ Oct 11 2005, 10:58 PM)I love this MoBo, and this is the best of the 754s.
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicat...7&CMP=AFC-AFFIL' ">http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicat...7&CMP=AFC-AFFIL
[right][snapback]521570[/snapback][/right]

Link is broken. Love to see it since I'm in the market for a 754 mobo.
 10/20/2005 10:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stealth13777
Senior Member

Posts: 895
Joined: 12/23/2004

the speed increase from going to a slower clock speed socket 754 chip would be minimal... plus you can always overclock. my chip (socket a) benchmarks as good or better than many of the 754 chips

-------------------------
-The Desktop: Abit NF7-S V2 w/ the old AXP-M 2500+ (OC'd) and TT Volcano 12, 1 gig RAM, 37GB WD Raptor, 80Gb Hitachi, XFX NVidia GEForce FX 5700LE (OC'd), Enermax Aluminum Case and XClio 450watt psu, DL DVD-R/RW, DVD-ROM (+ floppy)
SB Audigy 2 ZS
-Everyday:HP Laptop 15.4WS w/Turion64x2 TL-56, 2gig, 160gb, Lightscribe DVD-R/RW, NVidia graphics, Vista
 10/20/2005 11:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
marcus_667
Senior Member

Posts: 780
Joined: 09/26/2005

my semp 64 is on par with my athlon xp pc except for the ram thats it

-------------------------
First rig: Intel core 2 qx6700@ 3.5 gHz|ge-force 8800gtx sli|3 gig gskill ram|750 gig seagate and a 150 gig raptor | anted ninehundred case| enermax galaxy 1kw psu | dell 3007

Second Rig: Amd Athlon X2 6000+ | 8800 gtx|wd raptor 74 and a 320 seagate | 2 gig ram|sb x-fi | seasonic m12 700watt | coolermaster stacker 830 black | dell 2407
 10/20/2005 11:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
r3sil3
Senior Member

Posts: 4102
Joined: 10/05/2005

my sempron on a 754 socket, keeps up with an athlon 3200

im overclocked yes, but still.......

DONT GET SOCKET A, IT IS PHASED OUT

-------------------------
NO PC As Of NOW!

I'll still be on here once in a while.
 10/21/2005 12:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Jade_Monkey
Senior Member

Posts: 317
Joined: 08/06/2004

224, I don't mean to be a bully, but I have to say this. The Processors are rated at 2.08/1.6 GHZ not MHZ. I had to say it. Oh and check my post in Is It Worth It, and you will find that the 754 2800's are indeed betetr. My old 3DMark 05 CPU score with the 2800 socket A was 2180, and my CPU score with the 754 is 3296.

-------------------------
Motherboard: Asus M2N-E
Processor: AMD Athlon X2 6400+
RAM: 2x OCZ2P8002GK
Graphics Card: BFG GTX 260 OC 896MB
Hard Drive: Seagate 1TB SATAII
Optical Drive: LG GSA-H62l
Power Supply: Tagan TG700-U88 BZ
Case: Antec Nine Hundred
Operating System: Windows Vista Business 64
 10/21/2005 03:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
blizard
Senior Member

Posts: 1524
Joined: 12/03/2004

QUOTE(224inc @ Oct 10 2005, 10:40 PM)Which one of these is better since Socket A runs at 2.0mhz and 754 runs at 1.6?  I have a socket A but would love to know if it is worth getting a 754.
[right][snapback]520375[/snapback][/right]


First of all should ppl give information when asked instead of pushing forward their own interest. The best way to do this is to show some proof of what your tell ppl.

From socket 754 and all later sockets are built on the same design which means that they have memory controller integrated on CPU, are buillt or prepared for SMP (which leads to todays dual core CPU Atlon64 X2) and have motherboard supporting this by PCI express (and AGP on the older MB).

Both socket 754 and socket 939 will be phased out when socket M2 will be launched. M2 will use DDRII for memory.

Socket 754 was the first socket supporting Athlon64 (with AMD64 technology) which today are mainly a socket for Sempron. There are different generation of core revision: Athlon64 - Clawhanmmer, NewCastle; Sempron from start only 32 bit and later also 64 bit (different core revision with the latest built from Venice (Palermo) with some parts turned of/down).

Socket 939 and MB are today in the more accepteble price range. You have Athlon64, Athlon64 X2 (dual core CPU) and FX. There are talk about Sempron also on this line of MB/socket, but not yet on market for sale.

Both sockets have PCI express motherboard based on nf4 (nf4-4x: socket 754) chipset or AGP boards based on nf3 250GB on market.


The answer to your question depends on what application you use to compare these two CPU. There are also difference between Socket A MB (which FSB you use) for the total performance of these system.

Go here for a Interactive CPU chart' ">http://www23.tomshardware.com/...=74&model2=77&chart=21.

-------------------------
Abit AT8-32X (Xpress3200)/Athlon64 X2 4200+@stock/Corsair VS 2GB/Samsung SATA II 2x 250 GB/Club3D X1950XT GDDR3 256MB+ PowerColor Theatre 550 pro (PCIe x1)
 10/21/2005 04:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Serge84
Senior Member

Posts: 202
Joined: 10/15/2005

The sockit A semprons are diff from the 754 lines. Sempron A's are bumped up Athlon XP's. Sempron 64's are the athlon 64's duron. Plus the fsb is going to be as high as your clock speed. 1.6ghz Clock speed, 1.6Ghz Fsb. For sempron 64's. Thats a big difference verses a 2.0ghz Sempron A with only about 333mhz fsb. Its about 4 times the performance difference. FSB is better then clock speed because it makes the processes between the mother board and the cpu just as fast as it can process data.

Sempron A's are like only really running alot lower speeds then a sempron 64. The clock speed doen't matter these days. It also must be compared with the fsb. Thats why a sempron 64 2800 can out perform a 3ghz pentium 4 because it has twice the fsb. Its like compareing it to a pentium 4 3.2ghz or higher pritty much. Then the sockit 939's well they have 2000fsb so thats why they are better. A athlon running at 2ghz can pritty much woop any 32bit pentium 4. I don't care if it can go upto a 4ghz speed. It means nothing these days. Intels only have 800fsb. AMD's have 2 times the performance difference.
 10/21/2005 08:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
r3sil3
Senior Member

Posts: 4102
Joined: 10/05/2005

Basically, My socket 754 Sempron 1.6 (1.9 Overclocked) GHz, can keep up with a Pent 4 3.2GHz with HT.....


its all on bus speed....core speed isnt as important, 1.6ghz can do anything, its the bus/memory talking that slow you down.


-------------------------
NO PC As Of NOW!

I'll still be on here once in a while.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information