AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: 1494 MHZ to 2196 MHZ (47% overclock)
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06/02/2005 02:27 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/02/2005 02:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nathan_moorehead
Member

Posts: 47
Joined: 01/11/2005

I got my Sempron 2200 (1494 MHZ) up to 2196 MHZ, a 47% overclock. I ran CPU Burn-in 1.01 for 12 hours with Error Checking enabled http://users.bigpond.net.au/cpuburn/' ">http://users.bigpond.net.au/cpuburn/ without instability/errors. I then ran without Error Checking disabled for 12 hours and my temps peeked out at 62c, measured with the help of EVEREST Home Edition.

So, how far can you get your Sempron 2200? What's your peek temp?


9*244
 06/02/2005 02:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MD - Moderator
Deployer of Mjölnir - House Keeping

Posts: 11102
Joined: 11/05/2003

Thos cpu's overclock quite well since they have a lower multiplier.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Physics? Ha! This is clearly magic and devilry at work. Prepare firewood! We have witches to burn!


MODERATOR
 06/02/2005 02:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bogey
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5643
Joined: 03/25/2005

QUOTE(nathan_moorehead @ Jun 1 2005, 10:28 PM)Forgot, 9*244
[right][snapback]429608[/snapback][/right]


I'd be very interested to know what motherboard and memory you're using, Nathan. /ohmy.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='ohmy.gif' />

-------------------------
MSI K7N2 Delta2 LSR|35w XP-M2400 11x214 1.62V|2x512MB OCZ EL 2 2 2 11 2.9V|9600XT|Seasonic 350w
Abit AN7|XP-M2800 10.5x227 1.62V|2x512MB Mushkin XP4000 2 3 2 11 3.2V|9600XT|Seasonic 550w
Asus A7V600|XP-M2600 6-11x202 1.6V|2x512 Crucial PC3200 2.5 3 3 9 2.7V|PCI 32MB gfx|Corsair 450w
 06/02/2005 02:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Athlonuser
Overclocker

Posts: 797
Joined: 10/10/2004

Thats a good overclock. My Duron 1800 is only stable at 2.0ghz.

-------------------------
Desktop: AMD Opteron 170 2.7ghz OC, 440gb HDD space (3 HDDs in RAID-0), 4GB RAM, Hec X Power Pro 600W PSU, Gigabyte GTX 260 OC, two dvd burners, HT Omega Striker 7.1 sound card

Laptop: Dell Inspiron 15 N5040, Core i3 380M, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD
 06/02/2005 05:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nathan_moorehead
Member

Posts: 47
Joined: 01/11/2005

Motherboard

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Motherboard Properties:
Motherboard ID 63-150-0000010-00101111-040805-VIA$K7UPG001_K7UPGRADE-880 BIOS P1.50
Motherboard Name ASRock K7Upgrade-880

Front Side Bus Properties:
Bus Type DEC Alpha EV6
Bus Width 64-bit
Real Clock 244 MHz (DDR)
Effective Clock 489 MHz
Bandwidth 3911 MB/s

Memory Bus Properties:
Bus Type Dual DDR SDRAM
Bus Width 128-bit
Real Clock 204 MHz (DDR)
Effective Clock 407 MHz
Bandwidth 6519 MB/s

Chipset Bus Properties:
Bus Type VIA V-Link
Bus Width 8-bit
Real Clock 81 MHz (QDR)
Effective Clock 326 MHz
Bandwidth 326 MB/s

Motherboard Physical Info:
CPU Sockets/Slots 1 Socket 462
Expansion Slots 3 PCI, 2 AGP, 1 K8 Bridge Port
RAM Slots 4 DDR DIMM
Integrated Devices Audio, LAN
Form Factor ATX
Motherboard Size 220 mm x 300 mm
Motherboard Chipset KT880
Extra Features Hybrid Booster

Motherboard Manufacturer:
Company Name ASRock Inc.
Product Information http://www.asrock.com/product/index.htm' ">http://www.asrock.com/product/index.htm
BIOS Download http://www.asrock.com/support/index_BIOS.htm' ">http://www.asrock.com/support/index_BIOS.htm

CPU

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------


CPU Properties:
CPU Type AMD Sempron, 2200 MHz (9 x 244)
CPU Alias Thoroughbred-B
CPU Stepping B0
Instruction Set x86, MMX, 3DNow!, SSE
L1 Code Cache 64 KB
L1 Data Cache 64 KB
L2 Cache 256 KB (On-Die, Full-Speed)

CPU Physical Info:
Package Type 453 Pin PGA
Package Size 4.95 cm x 4.95 cm
Transistors 37.6 million
Process Technology 6Mi, 0.13 um, CMOS, Cu
Die Size 84 mm2
Core Voltage
I/O Voltage

CPU Manufacturer:
Company Name Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
Product Information http://www.amd.com/us-en/Proce...oduc...,30_118,00.html' ">http://www.amd.com/us-en/Proce...tion/0,,30_118,00.html

CPU Utilization:
CPU #1 100 %

CPUID

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------


CPUID Properties:
CPUID Manufacturer AuthenticAMD
CPUID CPU Name AMD Sempron™ 2500+
CPUID Revision 00000681h
Extended CPUID Revision 00000781h
Platform ID CBh (Socket A)

SPD

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------


[ DIMM1: 512 MB PC3200 DDR SDRAM ]

Memory Module Properties:
Serial Number None
Module Size 512 MB (2 rows, 4 banks)
Module Type Unbuffered
Memory Type DDR SDRAM
Memory Speed PC3200 (200 MHz)
Module Width 64 bit
Module Voltage SSTL 2.5
Error Detection Method None
Refresh Rate Reduced (7.8 us), Self-Refresh

Memory Timings:
@ 200 MHz 2.5-3-3-8 (CL-RCD-RP-RAS)

[ DIMM3: 512 MB PC3200 DDR SDRAM ]

Memory Module Properties:
Serial Number None
Module Size 512 MB (2 rows, 4 banks)
Module Type Unbuffered
Memory Type DDR SDRAM
Memory Speed PC3200 (200 MHz)
Module Width 64 bit
Module Voltage SSTL 2.5
Error Detection Method None
Refresh Rate Reduced (7.8 us), Self-Refresh

Memory Timings:
@ 200 MHz 2.5-3-3-8 (CL-RCD-RP-RAS)


Memory Read

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

2731 MB/s

Memory Write

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

926 MB/s

Memory Latency

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

108.8 ns
 06/04/2005 03:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
aasmaukr
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Joined: 04/23/2005

i had my sempron 2200+ stable @ 210x11 (2310MHz) in win 2k3 with 2.0 Vcore, i can't get it stable over 2266 in win xp. Maybe with my peltier cooling... /tongue.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='tongue.gif' /> i'll get it in a month.

Edit: i did 2310 on air.
 06/04/2005 04:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Stone_age
Alpha Geek

Posts: 2523
Joined: 03/16/2004

QUOTE(bogey @ Jun 2 2005, 02:43 PM)I'd be very interested to know what motherboard and memory you're using, Nathan.  /ohmy.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='ohmy.gif' />
[right][snapback]429862[/snapback][/right]


If you look at his next post, you'll notice the ram speed is at 200. I have one of those boards. There isn't any ratio select for the ram, and when the ram is set at 200, and you go over 200, the ram does not follow. ie, at 244, it's 40mhz Async, as the ram is still at 204.

Front Side Bus Properties:
Bus Type DEC Alpha EV6
Bus Width 64-bit
Real Clock 244 MHz (DDR)
Effective Clock 489 MHz
Bandwidth 3911 MB/s

Memory Bus Properties:
Bus Type Dual DDR SDRAM
Bus Width 128-bit
Real Clock 204 MHz (DDR)
Effective Clock 407 MHz
Bandwidth 6519 MB/s

I have gone 208 x 11.5 @ 1.75v on my sempron 2200, by doing the L5 mod.

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1055T, Asus M4A89GTD Pro/USB3
Phenom II X4 945, Gigabyte MA785G-UD3H
Zacate E-350, MSI E350IS -E45

http://classicplatforms.com
 06/06/2005 01:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nathan_moorehead
Member

Posts: 47
Joined: 01/11/2005

Do Sempron's have unlocked or locked multipliers?
 06/06/2005 02:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bogey
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5643
Joined: 03/25/2005

QUOTE(nathan_moorehead @ Jun 5 2005, 09:37 PM)Do Sempron's have unlocked or locked multipliers?
[right][snapback]431889[/snapback][/right]


Semprons have locked multipliers, Nathan. If you know what you're doing, there are ways around that.

Stone Age knows what he's doing and didn't get past 208MHz clock. You should follow his example and see if you can get your memory in syncro with the cpu.
Otherwise your overclock with detiorate overall performance.

If you can get to 200/200 you're doing well. 208/208 may be your limit.

9x200=1800

9x208=1872

running prime95 reveals instability problems.



-------------------------
MSI K7N2 Delta2 LSR|35w XP-M2400 11x214 1.62V|2x512MB OCZ EL 2 2 2 11 2.9V|9600XT|Seasonic 350w
Abit AN7|XP-M2800 10.5x227 1.62V|2x512MB Mushkin XP4000 2 3 2 11 3.2V|9600XT|Seasonic 550w
Asus A7V600|XP-M2600 6-11x202 1.6V|2x512 Crucial PC3200 2.5 3 3 9 2.7V|PCI 32MB gfx|Corsair 450w
 06/06/2005 04:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
marcus_aurelius
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Joined: 05/26/2005

Hi there I'm a newbie just wanna ask which is better a Sempron 2200+ on Thorton core or on Thoroughbred core.

I have a Sempron 2200 overclocks about 2.2ghz ((245*9) aircooled) any higher than that brings the system down freeze.

What's the highest clock speed this variant goes... thanks!


-------------------------
-486-
 06/08/2005 03:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nathan_moorehead
Member

Posts: 47
Joined: 01/11/2005

QUOTE(marcus_aurelius @ Jun 6 2005, 12:22 AM)Hi there I'm a newbie just wanna ask which is better a Sempron 2200+ on Thorton core or on Thoroughbred core.

I have a Sempron 2200 overclocks about 2.2ghz ((245*9) aircooled) any higher than that brings the system down freeze.

What's the highest clock speed this variant goes... thanks!
[right][snapback]431949[/snapback][/right]


You hit the limit for my 2200, I couldn't get past 244x9, so if you could get your hands on a Thorton I would be interested to know if it overclocks any higher.

(with advanced bios features on like Fast V-Link, Fastwrites, 32bit transfer, etc, I couldn't get past 231x9)
 06/08/2005 03:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nathan_moorehead
Member

Posts: 47
Joined: 01/11/2005

Brand AMD
Series Athlon XP
Model AXDA3000DKV4E
CPU Socket Type Socket A
Core Barton
Name Athlon XP 3000+
Operating Frequency 2.1GHz
FSB 400MHz
L1 Cache 64KB+64KB
L2 Cache 512KB
Process Type 0.13 µm
Hyper-Transport Support No
64 bit Support No
Multimedia Instruction MMX, SSE, 3DNOW! Professional
Voltage 1.65V
Cooling Device None - Processor Only

I am slightly disapointed by the Operating Frequency of this CPU, I see a different L2 cache but...if I shell out 130 dollars for this cpu would I REALLY get that big of a performance boost, we're only talking about .03 difference of my current GHZ cpu.
 06/08/2005 06:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
marcus_aurelius
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Joined: 05/26/2005

I have a Thorton based Sempron 2200, well it will boot 2.2ghz (2.205ghz to be exact) but sometimes it would freeze at some point most specifically on loading windows desktop, this would something to do with the temperature I think and maybe with the electric current too. It was hitting 48c idle, I'm using the HSF that came with the CPU futhermore I'm using a generic powersupply (300watts) though this is just to test how further this CPU can go. I'll be pushing it higher as soon as I have the right tools for overclocking. Now it was running 1.935ghz (215x9) rock stable temperature average is 40c idle 50 underload.




-------------------------
-486-
 06/08/2005 09:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
oicurafox2000
Member

Posts: 165
Joined: 12/19/2004

If you guys are still spending money on the 462 platform,I suggest buying the 1.8GHz Duron. Its around 40.00$,and easily overclocks to 2.5GHz. I had the 2400 Sempron,and could never get it over 2.2GHz. With the Duron I just modded the L5(to give me X24 multi,and mobile) cut some traces on the L6(DON'T DO THIS,UNLESS YOU KNOW WHAT YOUR DOING)and modded the L8 to allow my board 2.0+ volts. /tongue.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='tongue.gif' /> ....If anyone is curious,I can explain in more detail. /wink.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='wink.gif' />
 06/08/2005 11:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MD - Moderator
Deployer of Mjölnir - House Keeping

Posts: 11102
Joined: 11/05/2003

Yep some of the Durons are overclocking like mad...but they are getting rare in some places...

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Physics? Ha! This is clearly magic and devilry at work. Prepare firewood! We have witches to burn!


MODERATOR
 06/08/2005 04:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nathan_moorehead
Member

Posts: 47
Joined: 01/11/2005

Good news is my board expands to allow 64bit, so if that is allot better I could save up for a 64bit. I was just under the impression that 64bit hasn't matured to the point 32 has, and a high price 32bit would outperform a low-med priced 64 bit.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information