AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Barton 3000+ overheating
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/21/2005 04:33 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/21/2005 04:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ivanhoe
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 03/21/2005

Hello,I have a AMD Barton 3000+ and I was not able even to turn the PC on!The temperature in BIOS showed on startup +58 to +60.5C!!! I had an original cooler,that comes up with this Barton.So I bought a better cooler Speeze VultureSpin and replaced the original -- http://www.speeze.com/v2/newawards_1_v2.html' ">http://www.speeze.com/v2/newawards_1_v2.html (similar).
Idle it has now about 50C to 57C,but at load in games it reaches +65C! and crashes!My case is also even opened on both sides,but it has no effect.When I close it,I am not able to play any game! My motherboard is:
MB Microstar® K7N2-DELTA 2 LSR: UDMA133RAID, SERIAL ATA RAID, 3xDDRAM 400MHz, DUAl DDR, 5xPCI, 1xAGP8x, 1xFDD, 1xSerial, 1xParalell, 8xUSB 2.0, PS2 mouse & keyboard , D-LED, Live BIOS, PC Alert III®, Fuzzy Logic® III
I have heard,that some Bartons series were not properly produced,but somehow they got into stores.Maybe I have one of that series.I think,that these temperatures are not normal.Mobo temps are from 35C to 47C,but powersupply is also overheating - 55C! What to buy? Or how to solve this problem a little bit?
 03/23/2005 08:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kokeman57
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 03/23/2005

What is the wattage of your power supply? Should be running a 350 or 400 watt my suggestion. Also depends on what else is running in your tower, such as extra fans, lights, extra plug on your video card. A power supply that is to small for the power your system is pulling from it, will cause everything to heat up. Did you use thermal paste between the heat sink and the CPU?
 03/24/2005 09:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ivanhoe
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 03/21/2005

I have a 300 W power supply. - So is that a reason why is everything so overheated? Specs:
MB Microstar® K7N2-DELTA 2 LSR
120 GB Maxtor
512 DIMM SDRAM 333Mhz (A-Data,Mercury)
MSI GF 5600 256MB
Audigy 2 ZS
Asus CDRW
LG DVDRW
Floppy,modem,ethernet card
case vent - turned off (not able to start PC when on)
Thermal paste I left original ,the Barton came with a fan, but I have replaced it with a better one.Yes,there is a paperthin layer between the heatsink and the CPU.
 03/24/2005 11:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jkulysses
Senior Member

Posts: 623
Joined: 02/05/2005

What is the +12V amperage on your psu though? That is what matters more than anything. It should say on a sticker on the side of your psu. Also, did you update the bios on your mobo? I bet your psu is junk and you don't have proper case ventilation.

-------------------------
Athlon 64 3200+ 939
Zalman 7000 All Copper w/LED
MSI Neo 4 Platnium
2 x 512 Corsair Value Select RAM DDR400
MSI 6600GT PCI-E Video Card
OCZ Modstream 450 watt
Coolermaster Stacker Case

Gamertag: JkUlysses
 03/25/2005 08:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ivanhoe
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 03/21/2005

This is what I found:
+3,3V @ 28A
+5V @ 30A
+12V @ 15A
-5V @ 0,3A
-12V @ 0,8A
+5VSB @ 2A
Is the +12V amperage so important? So higher amperage at any voltage is better?. See also my post Barton 3000+ vs Sempron 3000+, Socket A procs...I upgraded nothing...
So I plan to buy a psu I dont know what mark, but is has (400W):
+5V/33A; -5V/0.5A; +12V/17A; -12V/0,8A; +3,3V/28A, VSB +5V/2A
Should that be ok?
BTW I see, that you have a 6600GT MSI, I plan to buy that one, are you happy with it?
 03/25/2005 10:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jkulysses
Senior Member

Posts: 623
Joined: 02/05/2005

15A in not good at all, but should still be enough to boot your system up unless the psu is bad. Don't buy the psu you are looking at. 17A on the +12V is junk and a waste of money. I had a 400 watt with 18A on the +12V rail and when i added my 6600GT my system became unstable when playing games because my psu couldn't handle it. I recommend no less than 24A on the 12V rail. Check this one out, I'm ordering one tonight. Awesome deal. http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/...etai...ductCode=273002' ">http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/...jsp?ProductCode=273002

And yes, i do like my video card. I see it has come down in price a few dollars since i got mine too. Huge improvement over the FX5200 it replaced.

-------------------------
Athlon 64 3200+ 939
Zalman 7000 All Copper w/LED
MSI Neo 4 Platnium
2 x 512 Corsair Value Select RAM DDR400
MSI 6600GT PCI-E Video Card
OCZ Modstream 450 watt
Coolermaster Stacker Case

Gamertag: JkUlysses
 03/25/2005 07:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ivanhoe
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 03/21/2005

Waw super deal!So in my country there are no such good psu in the stores.Hmm,so ok I will watch for better psu.But is it neccessary to buy such a strong psu like you are going to buy?I mean I dont want to invest over 100 Euro into a psu.But thanks for information
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information