AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Socket A Sempron 2800+
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/25/2005 07:08 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/25/2005 07:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kite
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 03/25/2005

I buyed a sempron 2800+, Socket A. AMD indicates on the box that it works at 200MHz!!
To my knowledge, Socket A sempron works at 166 max!! On the MSI K7 thing thing which I buyed in same time,
I configured the bus freqency at 200 MHz and the motherboard died !!! An ASUS A7n8x-x replaces it, but I dare more to pass it has 200MHz...
but I would like to put DDR3200... can somebody inform me that I do not die idiotic??? Thank you !
 03/25/2005 08:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zir_blazer
Code Warrior

Posts: 2840
Joined: 03/19/2004

The Sempron 2800+ works at 166 MHz FSB with a 12x Multiplier for a total of 2000 MHz. You can use 400 MHz Bus Memory Modules for overclocking purposes (You don't need them otherwise, with 333 MHz Bus Memory Modules it will work fine, but due to a price diference of one or two dolars, why not buy something better?). Can you give more detailed information? A Motherboard can not simply die for setting the FSB at 200 MHz, did you tried clearing the BIOS using the Jumpers?
 03/25/2005 10:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kite
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 03/25/2005

of course i tried to clear the bios ... the motherboard does not pas the proc test anymore !!

I don't want to overclock the proc, but now I just want to know why AMD indicates on the commercial box of my Sempron that it works at 200MHz !!

 03/27/2005 01:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMD808
Moderator

Posts: 3771
Joined: 10/09/2004

QUOTE (kite @ Mar 25 2005, 04:05 PM) of course i tried to clear the bios ... the motherboard does not pas the proc test anymore !!

I don't want to overclock the proc, but now I just want to know why AMD indicates on the commercial box of my Sempron that it works at 200MHz !!
Do you have a photo of the retail box?



-------------------------
MODERATOR

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 04/03/2005 10:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
djemi
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 04/03/2005

Hello,

I'm one of the new owner of Sempron 2800+ use with MSI K7N2 Delta-L motherboard.

I encounter the same problem when I try to 200Mhz bus frequency, the motherboard could not boot up. Yes, did clear BIOS using jumpers even I pull out motherboard battery but still its cant bootup. Anyway, I found a jumper (J10) to return to safe mode (100Mhz CPU FSB). I 'ON' my PC & go in to BIOS setting to reset to default save it. After that change back J10 (133Mhz CPU FSB) to original position. Wala... my motherboard able to bootup again.

Kite, i think you should check on your motherboard manual for FSB mode jumper.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information