AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Sempron 2800+
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/19/2005 09:34 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/19/2005 09:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zadfz
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 01/19/2005

I Just bought a AMD Sempron 2800+, a MSI K7ND2, 512 mb Platinum 333mhz. I have install all those peice and format my pc. My CPU was running 2000mhz (at "Optimized" settings in the cell menu in the bios). The day after I upgrade my hard drive to a bigger and faster so I re-format again. But know... don't know why, my cpu is running at 1200mhz....

Can someone help me please !
 01/19/2005 09:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Silent_Shadow
Senior Member

Posts: 757
Joined: 07/14/2004

The 2800+ runs at an FSB of 166MHz and a multiplier of 12, giving you the 2000MHz.

If your FSB has been reset to 100MHz (e.g. by resetting CMOS), then you'd be getting 100x12 = 1200MHz.

Check the settings for your FSB in your BIOS and see what it says.
 01/19/2005 09:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Greyhound
Senior Member

Posts: 5449
Joined: 10/07/2003

Make sure your FSB ('CPU External clock' is set to 166MHz in BIOS.

Currently, your FSB is running at 100MHz which results in a clockspeed of 1.2GHz (100x12.0) instead of your processor's default 2.0GHz (166x12.0).

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

<center><font color=red>MODERATOR</center></font>

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 89W :: Asus M2N32SLI Deluxe :: 2x1024MB Muskin XP2-6400 DDR2-800 :: BeQuiet! Darkpower Pro 530W :: 2x WD Raptor 74GB/10k rpm, RAID 0 :: ATI Radeon X1950XTX
 01/19/2005 10:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zadfz
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 01/19/2005

Ok is someone able to give me a printscreen of where can I change those settings, i'm not a noob on computer but yes.. i'm noobs on overcocking

And Can I put it higher ????
 01/19/2005 10:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Silent_Shadow
Senior Member

Posts: 757
Joined: 07/14/2004

QUOTE (zadfz @ Jan 19 2005, 04:06 PM) Ok is someone able to give me a printscreen of where can I change those settings, i'm not a noob on computer but yes.. i'm noobs on overcocking

And Can I put it higher ????
I'd be very impressed of anyone doing a print screen of their BIOS.

Usually you'd hold down DEL while your system's starting up to enter BIOS.
It will probably be under a section called FREQUENCY CONTROL, but it depends on your motherboard/BIOS.
It should be in your motherboard's manual as to exactly where - but it's probably easier for you to just peruse.


Setting the value to greater than 166 would be overclocking - search these boards because there's hundreds of posts on overclocking and the issues/risks involved.
 01/19/2005 10:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zadfz
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 01/19/2005

Very strange... my friend have the same setup (cpu, mptherboard, ram and bought in same time)

Both of us were able to put 12*166FSB but on my pc when he's in idle the cpu temp is ~55-59 and my friend when playing civilization 3 demo was at ~44-49

Is there any thing I can do to drop the temperature ?
Is this dangerous ?
 01/20/2005 07:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cool_dood01
Junior Member

Posts: 10
Joined: 01/09/2005

I'm sure MD will reply with his answer (whic is very good to follow)

But, do you have any system fans/exhausts?

If not, it would be ideal to get some to pass warm air out, and cool air in.

Trev

-------------------------
AMD Sempron 3100+ / Abit KV8 PRO / 1gig DDR PC3200 / Sony DVD-RW +- / LG DVD / 1 X 80GB Maxtor Sata / 1 X 80GB Maxtor IDE + 1 x 160GB Maxtor IDE

AMD Sempron 2400+ / Abit KV7 / 512 DDR PC2700 / HP DVD-RW/ Pioneer DVD / 160GB Maxtor Sata + 80GB Maxtor Sata / 160GB Maxtor IDE
 01/20/2005 08:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zadfz
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 01/19/2005

Yes I have 2 3" fan and 1 8" fan

My friend just have 2 3" and this morning his pc was at 33° on idle and mine at 58°
 01/20/2005 08:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Silent_Shadow
Senior Member

Posts: 757
Joined: 07/14/2004

QUOTE (zadfz @ Jan 20 2005, 04:07 AM) Is there any thing I can do to drop the temperature ?
Yes, you can:Tidy up cables in the case to improve airflowAdd additional case fan(s)Purchase a better HSFUse better thermal paste on the CPU (e.g. Arctic Silver 5)Buy water cooling
 01/20/2005 11:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zadfz
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 01/19/2005

Ok but what explain the difference between mine and the one of my friend.... ?

Each cpu have is own spec ?
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information