AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: OC help on Semp 3000+ socket A <noob>
Topic Summary:
Created On: 05/23/2006 08:51 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/23/2006 08:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Silver_Raven2006
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 05/23/2006

Ok. Here's my system:

AMD Sempron 3000+
Biostar M7NCD Ultra Socket A
2 Gig Crucial DDR 400 Ram (1 x 1g and 2 x 512m)
Leadtech NVidia GeForce 6600 GT
Soundblaster Live 24bit
One SATA and Two IDE HD's and Two DVD Burners (if it makes a diff)
500 watt Rosewill Power Suply

*by the way it's all stock cooling in a Thermaltake Xazer 5 case.

I want to overclock this thing a bit but N-Tune causes me to blue screen every time. So I have decided that it sucks. A freind refered me here. Can anyone provide step by step OC procedures? I know alot about computers I just never oc'd before. My freind said I could prolly get 2.2-2.3 out of it. I want to get as much as posible without risking damage. 2.2 should be enough. Thanks in advance for you help.

I've read several forums on the subject but none seem to give good answers that I trust will apply to my setup. I have sifted through the Bios and looked stuff over so that I have an Idea of whats there. I can set all the stuff that everything says too. The only thing is I don't know what to change or what to change it too. My FSB is set to 200 mhz right now and I have DDR 400 PC3200 ram. So if I change the Multiplier to x11 then won't I be limiting my ram? How do i get around this? I use Crucial ram so I think I can oc it too but it's not the high end stuff so i'm afraid it will eventualy get fried. I'm just lost and frustrated. My brain hurts.
Can someone walk me through the steps to ocing this stupid thing please? I would be very happy if you did.
 05/24/2006 04:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bogey
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5643
Joined: 03/25/2005

Semprons are superlocked. i.e. you can't change the multiplier. You're stuck with x12.

The first thing to do is make sure your memory passes memtest. Make a bootable floppy or cd and test the memory before trying any ocing.

http://www.memtest86.com/


You must have the "pro" version of the board since the "non pro" version only has two memory slots. According to the bios setup guide ftp://ftp.biostar-usa.com/manu...CD%2...7NCDPRObios.pdf you only have the choice between 166 and 200 for cpu frequency. Set the cpu frequency to 166 and the memory frequency to 100% or AUTO. The default SPD setting will run the memory at 200 which means the cpu and memory will run out of sync.

I recommend you read that guide thoroughly.

Trying to run at 12x200 is ambitious to say the least. The bios only has limited options for overclocking.

-------------------------
MSI K7N2 Delta2 LSR|35w XP-M2400 11x214 1.62V|2x512MB OCZ EL 2 2 2 11 2.9V|9600XT|Seasonic 350w
Abit AN7|XP-M2800 10.5x227 1.62V|2x512MB Mushkin XP4000 2 3 2 11 3.2V|9600XT|Seasonic 550w
Asus A7V600|XP-M2600 6-11x202 1.6V|2x512 Crucial PC3200 2.5 3 3 9 2.7V|PCI 32MB gfx|Corsair 450w
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information