AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: where is amd sempron s939?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/11/2006 06:25 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/11/2006 06:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
issa_amd
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 03/25/2006

hi,all

where is sempron s939 to buy it?
iam form egypt and this processor not found in my country
and why is sempron s939 not found in amd websit!!!

please i need to answer.....
 04/11/2006 07:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nagaty_h
Senior Member

Posts: 3154
Joined: 01/13/2006

it is oem (they call it in egypt tray).. not retail.. u wont find it here..

-------------------------
 04/11/2006 09:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
k2aka111
Senior Member

Posts: 3321
Joined: 03/14/2006

You can only get a 939 sempron from people who build coputers, as in HP or compaq. Sorry they are being released untill 6/6/06 (ironic number)

-------------------------
Selling Asus M2N32-SLI deluxe & X2 4200+. PM me if interested
 04/20/2006 03:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
esoella
Member

Posts: 34
Joined: 04/16/2006

As has been said it is found in machines from HP, Compaq and the like
if you can get those machines in Egypt it might be a S939
are those machines sold there? Maybe they are sold under
a different brand name ( Camel perhaps ).
Also maybe you can order one online and get it delivered,
I assume you want the whole machiie as a proccesor on its
own is not of much use really is it?

Here is an example:-

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfr...eric...=reg_R1002_UKEN
 04/20/2006 05:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nagaty_h
Senior Member

Posts: 3154
Joined: 01/13/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: trickyT
As has been said it is found in machines from HP, Compaq and the like
if you can get those machines in Egypt it might be a S939
are those machines sold there? Maybe they are sold under
a different brand name ( Camel perhaps ).
Also maybe you can order one online and get it delivered,
I assume you want the whole machiie as a proccesor on its
own is not of much use really is it?

Here is an example:-

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfr...eric...=reg_R1002_UKEN


i live in egypt, and here computers made by known brands are very expensive if compared to locally assembled computers.. assembling it urself is the cheapest here and thats what i do..

-------------------------
 04/20/2006 05:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
esoella
Member

Posts: 34
Joined: 04/16/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: nagaty_h
i live in egypt, and here computers made by known brands are very expensive if compared to locally assembled computers.. assembling it urself is the cheapest here and thats what i do..




I suppose these processors will become available on ebay as most people
who buy the 939 semperon machines do so because they intend to upgrade.

Infact there already are!!
http://search.ebay.com/search/...ll?s...prclo=&saprchi=

But you might have a problem geting it shipped to Egypt but if you keep
an eye on ebay you may get lucky.
 04/20/2006 06:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nagaty_h
Senior Member

Posts: 3154
Joined: 01/13/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: trickyT
I suppose these processors will become available on ebay as most people
who buy the 939 semperon machines do so because they intend to upgrade.

Infact there already are!!
http://search.ebay.com/search/...ll?s...prclo=&saprchi=

But you might have a problem geting it shipped to Egypt but if you keep
an eye on ebay you may get lucky.


put a little more cash and get a brand new retail athlon64 3000+...

(also, theres a little trick using aramex to create a virtual address and ship anything from the us to egypt )

u can also do like me and wait for AM2.. its near.. and ive read that AM2 semprons will have reosanable prices..

-------------------------
 04/20/2006 08:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
esoella
Member

Posts: 34
Joined: 04/16/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: nagaty_h
put a little more cash and get a brand new retail athlon64 3000+...

(also, theres a little trick using aramex to create a virtual address and ship anything from the us to egypt )

u can also do like me and wait for AM2.. its near.. and ive read that AM2 semprons will have reosanable prices..



You can always get more if you pay more but pound for pound or $ for $ a
939 sempron is a great buy.
I can get a 939 semperon system with 17 TFT monitor for ~£410 whereas an
athlon64 is system would be ~£570, OK the Athlon has a 200gig not 80gig
drive and 512 not 256 ram but thats not justified by the extra £160 (£50
would be more appropiate).
Compared to my Cryix MII 300 with 5gig of drive space thats a huge leap
for me!! And the system will be just as upgradeable as the Athlon64 system methinks.
I am getting a system about 10 times (maybe more) more powerful than what I have,
I doubt I would notice the difference between 10 and 11 or 12 times more powerful.
Also the semp is as good as the athlon for what I will be doing anyway.
I don't want to spend too much because I am unfamiliar with modern machines
but I will be 'getting in cheap' with a lot of 'upgradeabiility' so a 939 sempron
seems ideal for me. I can then wait for the next good upgrade oppertunity at my
leisure rather than 'jump in' and buy a system at a technological 'dead end'.
I hope to pick one up this weekend
 04/21/2006 06:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nagaty_h
Senior Member

Posts: 3154
Joined: 01/13/2006

the sempron s939 on ebay is sold with average of $100..
on newegg the a64 3000+ is $113..
http://www.newegg.com/Product/...asp?...N82E16819103537

-------------------------
 04/21/2006 11:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MD - Moderator
Deployer of Mjölnir - House Keeping

Posts: 11102
Joined: 11/05/2003

Did you ask this question already?

http://forums.amd.com/index.php?showtopic=73112

MD

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Physics? Ha! This is clearly magic and devilry at work. Prepare firewood! We have witches to burn!


MODERATOR
 04/21/2006 09:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
esoella
Member

Posts: 34
Joined: 04/16/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: nagaty_h
the sempron s939 on ebay is sold with average of $100..
on newegg the a64 3000+ is $113..
http://www.newegg.com/Product/...asp?...N82E16819103537




Yes...but there are also semprons on newegg for $130!! however some a64
are much more expensive, there is a a64 3200+ for $157.
According to the rating it is 6.7% faster yet costs 38% more!! Hardly
value for money!
One 33% faster costs 300% more!! And you would not notice a 33% increase
in speed in reallity it's a kind of vanity thing I think.

The main reason want one is because the systems available to me to buy
are much cheaper with semperons in.

This is the system I am getting for £279
http://www.comet.co.uk/comet/html/cache/567_312010.html


For £429 an extra £150 I can get this:-
http://www.currys.co.uk/martpr...cur_...gory_oid=-20730

However I don't think its good value, yes it has more memory and hard drive
but thats worth just an extra £32 which leaves £118 for the better procesor
and (slightly) better graphics. So given I could sell the processor for the price
of an a64 (as you pointed out!! I am paying £118 for slightly better graphics!!
Thats almost 50% more than the cost of the entire system!

So thats why I am getting it, I think it's a good deal, and anyway the more
expensive system is sold out and has been for ages!!

I almost bought it today but I wanted the shop to prove to me it was
a 939 motherboard (I didn't believe it could be at the price!! but they couldn't.
Anyway the guy in the shop opened it up and I took down the motherboard number,
MS-7184 which I just checked out is a socket 939 board.
Incidently it's the same mobo as the more expensive system.

Here is the proof from the manufacturers sites:-

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfr...eric...R1002_UKEN#N255

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfr...umen...cname=c00587147

Incidently I notice they have the same chipset ATI Radeon Xpress 200
which means my comments about the more expensive system having
better graphics is wrong? Making it even more of a bargain.

I am going to buy it tomorrow so if anyone wishes to advise me otherwise
be quick.

I think it's a super deal and it will be like lightening compares to my current
Cryix MII 300 system!! (A dinosaur).





 04/22/2006 04:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
esoella
Member

Posts: 34
Joined: 04/16/2006

Well I have taken the plunge and I am on my new machine

Not sure if it is a 64 bit processor, maybe someone can help me,
using AIDA32 it says:- (amongst other things)


Instruction Set
AMD 3DNow! Supported
AMD 3DNow! Professional Supported
AMD Enhanced 3DNow! Supported
AMD Extended MMX Supported
AMD64 Supported
Cyrix Extended MMX Not Supported
IA-64 Not Supported
IA MMX Supported
IA SSE Supported
IA SSE 2 Supported
IA SSE 3 Supported

So AMD64 is supported so is it a 64-bit processor, one would
think so but it also says IA-64 not supported which leaves
a doubt in my mind. Anyone know what IA-64 is?


Actually I just loked it up and it means Intel Architecture
so I would not expect to have that!!

Looks like it is a 64 bit machine )
It only has 128 L2 cache but I expected that anyway.

I must try some benchmarks now to compare it to my old
Cryix MII300
 04/22/2006 05:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nagaty_h
Senior Member

Posts: 3154
Joined: 01/13/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: trickyT
Well I have taken the plunge and I am on my new machine

Not sure if it is a 64 bit processor, maybe someone can help me,
using AIDA32 it says:- (amongst other things)


Instruction Set
AMD 3DNow! Supported
AMD 3DNow! Professional Supported
AMD Enhanced 3DNow! Supported
AMD Extended MMX Supported
AMD64 Supported
Cyrix Extended MMX Not Supported
IA-64 Not Supported
IA MMX Supported
IA SSE Supported
IA SSE 2 Supported
IA SSE 3 Supported

So AMD64 is supported so is it a 64-bit processor, one would
think so but it also says IA-64 not supported which leaves
a doubt in my mind. Anyone know what IA-64 is?
Actually I just loked it up and it means Intel Architecture
so I would not expect to have that!!

Looks like it is a 64 bit machine )
It only has 128 L2 cache but I expected that anyway.

I must try some benchmarks now to compare it to my old
Cryix MII300


64bit intels are ia64,, 64bit amds are amd64.. so ur sempy is 64bit..

-------------------------
 04/22/2006 07:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
esoella
Member

Posts: 34
Joined: 04/16/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: nagaty_h
64bit intels are ia64,, 64bit amds are amd64.. so ur sempy is 64bit..




Yes it looks like it is a sempy64 however it does not say that on the box
or in the advertising it just says sempron and it does not say it is a 939
chip either. I would have thought such information would have been a big
selling point so I am really surprised they omit it.

I have to say I am pretty pleased with myself cos a few months ago
it loked like I would have to spend over £400, maybe £500 for a 939
system and I got one for £279, at that price I suspected it was a socket-A
system (some very similar systems are).

I have had no problems so far except it won't read some of my CDs
I recorded but I think that is because it doesn't like the brand of disk,
it does read my older CD's though.
I will try installing the old cd player in the new machine to see if that helps
but I am a bit worried I might get some software conflicts if I have to
install the older cd writing software as well but hopefully I won't
have to cos I only want to read the disks. I have some video which
was real slow on my old system and I want to see how the sempy64
handles it
I have gone from a 66mhz bus to a 1600mhz bus so I am hoping it will be
a tad faster
 04/22/2006 08:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
esoella
Member

Posts: 34
Joined: 04/16/2006

Wow I am amazed, just tried out my poker site and I can play about 5 tables
with about 10% CPU, before I was at 100% on just 2 and that waws at low res
with al the animataion turned off.
Howver I myself struggle to play 2 tables never mind 5 so it won't help me make
money!! The difference in performance is amazing.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information