AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Sempron 64 2600+ Overclocking problems
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/13/2006 08:47 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/13/2006 08:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ricardo2kn6
Member

Posts: 32
Joined: 01/01/2006

I bought a sempron 64 2600+ and i've had the cpu running up to 2000mhz and it was stable for months! i Then bought a hitachi sata 80gb hard drive and tried setting windows up! To my amazement the thing wouldn't even go past the memory and cpu check screen on boot! (wouldn't detect any ide devices at all)
So, i reset C-mos and changed my boot priorities and so on back to my preferences! apart from not touching the fsb this time!! Everything is fine! boots up ok but obviously not as responsive as before! So i try again to overclock the fsb! just by 10mhz to see how things where! and nope same problem again! is there any reason for my new hard drive not to like the f/s/b being upped??
I'd be so gratefull for any help on this situation at all guys!
Rik

Amd 64 2600+
ECS 755-A2 (Mobo)
2 x Elixir DDR 400 Pc3200 512mb
Hitachi 80 gb 8mb cache sata
Hitachi 80 gb 2.5mb cache
airianet 430w psu
Nvidia G-force FX 5.200
 03/13/2006 10:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zeppelinrox
Senior Member

Posts: 8484
Joined: 11/30/2005

i know nothing about sata drives but reading stuff about overclocking and sata drives, sometimes the mobo does not lock the sata ports or something so it causes hard drive corruption.

you need to find out if you have sata ports that are locked.

i think this is correct.

seach the forum for the words lock and sata

-------------------------


Overclocking Help and Links . Why DRM, BluRay and HD-DVD Blow Great tools-> OC Bible v1.52 and Guidemania v1.2
 03/30/2006 05:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ricardo2kn6
Member

Posts: 32
Joined: 01/01/2006

Yeah thanx mate i've now binned the ECS Mobo and gone for an A-Bit NF8, much more worthy of overclockin!
 03/30/2006 06:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zeppelinrox
Senior Member

Posts: 8484
Joined: 11/30/2005

good move
and just to confirm... http://www.xbitlabs.com/articl...oard...cs-755a2_5.html
quote:

Originally posted by: Unknown ECS 755-A2 cannot lock the frequencies of AGP and PCI buses at their standard values


-------------------------


Overclocking Help and Links . Why DRM, BluRay and HD-DVD Blow Great tools-> OC Bible v1.52 and Guidemania v1.2
 04/05/2006 07:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ricardo2kn6
Member

Posts: 32
Joined: 01/01/2006

Well i now have my A-Bit NF8-V, I need a hand with all the settings in my bios so i can overclock this dang thing, sooo many things i can change and no idea which ones!! Anyone have a clue ??
If i put my F/S/B to 225 x8 then all is fine, If i go 1Mhz higher it still boots up but back to stock 1600Mhz although still says 226x8 in the bios! /dry.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid="<_<" border="0" alt="dry.gif" />
 04/06/2006 03:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jarvis1906
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Joined: 04/03/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: ricardo2kn6
Well i now have my A-Bit NF8-V, I need a hand with all the settings in my bios so i can overclock this dang thing, sooo many things i can change and no idea which ones!! Anyone have a clue ??
If i put my F/S/B to 225 x8 then all is fine, If i go 1Mhz higher it still boots up but back to stock 1600Mhz although still says 226x8 in the bios! /dry.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid="<_<" border="0" alt="dry.gif" />



First off..are you new to overclocking? I bought the same board and installed yesterday.
I had the same problem with the BIOS, but I somehow got to 280 X 8 (2.24GHZ) @ 1.5 vcore.
I have a Sempron 64 2800+....I heard that the BIOS V 1.7 is not good for overclocking and that could be
the reason. I have that BIOS and I will definitely re-flash to BIOS 1.5 today, because it is definitely being
touted as the Ultimate stable BIOS for OCing..if of course you don't mind incorrect voltage readings and
your Sempron will not be detected as it's proper name.

What multi are you using? I am using 3X as my system did not want to work properly at 2X with a 280 FSB.

Post back when you can and I hope this helps! Good luck!

btw..I just upgraded from an ECS 755 A2. Since I use IDE cables and not SATA drives, I had no problem with the PCI/AGP locks. I am sure that they are locked on this motherboard because my Sempron was clocked at the max HTT for this board. 250 X 8 = 2 GHZ. I had no problems at all with this board in this
configuration and I only upgraded to the NF8 because I need Vcore selection, amongst other things.




-------------------------
Sempron 64 3100+ OC'd to 2.5 GHZ (313 FSB @ 1.58 volts)
Abit NF8 Motherboard
Aspire X-Cruiser Case
1 GB DDR 3700 Elixir Ram @ 133 Div.
Thermal Take Big Typhoon HSF
Generic 450W PSU
Radeon 9550 @ 460/280*2
Dual Maxtor 7,200 RPM Drives @ 120 GB
Audiophile 24/96 Soundcard


 04/06/2006 08:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kritical
Senior Member

Posts: 244
Joined: 10/06/2005

i had the EXACT same problem with my Gigabyte board and sempron 2600+ 64. it would read my Sata hardrive as sumthing else and would not pass the startup screen, unfortunately the only solution to this is to getta nforce 2 board as most of the via chips dont allow locking agp and pci, therefore ur sata ports overclock aswell and become unstable.
 04/18/2006 11:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ricardo2kn6
Member

Posts: 32
Joined: 01/01/2006

F/S/B :- 280
HTT :- 3x
mem devider :- 166 (224.3 Mhz)
V-Core 1.54
28.5 C Idle & 43.5 C under load (Prime 95 NOT MUCH RAM TEST)
DDR voltage 2.65

All is well and stable set to this .
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information