AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Which Sempron for DFI NF4X-Infinity?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/10/2006 12:33 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/10/2006 12:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hawkmielle
Member

Posts: 27
Joined: 01/19/2005

I am looking to replace my AMD64 3000+ (older 130nm Clawhammer?) with a Sempron processor and do a little overclocking with it. The NF4X-Infinity is supposedly pretty flexible when it comes to overclocking.

My local store carries stock on Sempron 2800+ to 3300+. Which one would overclock well with my motherboard and ram? Just trying to get a little extra performance until the new M2 CPU and motherboards are available later this year.

Thanks



-------------------------
Sempron 3100+ / Zalman 6000Cu
300x9 - 2.7Ghz, 1.485v, 4:3 @ 225Mhz ram
DFI NF4X-Infinity (nF4 on skt 754) Rev A 10/19/2005
OCZ 2x1024Mb Platinum EL PC3200
OCZ Powerstream SLI 520W
eVGA 7800GT 256Mb / NV5 Silencer
Creative Labs X-Fi ExtremeMusic
1 x 250Gb Seagate SATA, 2 x 120GB WD SATA
NEC DVD Burner
Antec Sonata Case
Viewsonic VP930b LCD
Twinhan 1020A DVB-S<!--/
 01/10/2006 12:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
boule
Senior Member

Posts: 2621
Joined: 10/24/2005

Go for the 3100, it has twice the cache of the 3300

-------------------------
Desktop:
AMD Athlon XP 2800+ (Barton) @ 200x10.5=2100MHz | Asus A7N8X Deluxe | Corsair 2xCMX512-3200C2PT @ 2.5-3-3-8 | MSI GeForce FX 5600 128MB | Hitachi Deskstar T7K250 160GB SATA II | Antec NeoPower 480W | Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty

Laptop:
Dell Latitude 120L | Intel Pentium M 740 | OCZ 2x1GB PC2-5400 | Western Digital Scorpio WD1200VE 120GB
 01/10/2006 02:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
game_boy87
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Joined: 01/07/2006

I would go with the 3100 if you are willing to spend the extra money, I have a 2800 and enjoy it a lot.
 01/10/2006 03:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zeppelinrox
Senior Member

Posts: 8484
Joined: 11/30/2005

this is a great article of the 3100+ oc'ed
http://www.xbitlabs.com/articl...ispl...on-3100-oc.html' ">http://www.xbitlabs.com/articl...y/sempron-3100-oc.html

-------------------------


Overclocking Help and Links . Why DRM, BluRay and HD-DVD Blow Great tools-> OC Bible v1.52 and Guidemania v1.2
 01/10/2006 07:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
felixforever
Senior Member

Posts: 981
Joined: 12/01/2005

i have a 2800+ in mine and it works great, im sure u can get something with a little more power though i <3 this board

-------------------------
Opteron 165 CCBBE, DFI Lanparty UT RDX200 Ati, Sapphire X1900Gt

I dont know whats worse, the Fanboys, the Flamewars or the DRM paranoia
 01/11/2006 09:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hawkmielle
Member

Posts: 27
Joined: 01/19/2005

Thanks for the quick feedback.

I think I will pick up the retail Sempron 3100+. Can't loose really for about $117cdn. If it does not overclock well I can bump it down into my spare MSI K8N Neo Platinum board and replace the Abit KV7+Barton2500 in my home theatre computer.

Pulled off the Zalman last night to find out again that my Clawhammer is a CAAMC 0344WPMW stepping C0. I remember now why I hadn't much success with it before, that version was notoriously poor for getting much extra out of them. I cannot complain though it has been a real workhorse.

-------------------------
Sempron 3100+ / Zalman 6000Cu
300x9 - 2.7Ghz, 1.485v, 4:3 @ 225Mhz ram
DFI NF4X-Infinity (nF4 on skt 754) Rev A 10/19/2005
OCZ 2x1024Mb Platinum EL PC3200
OCZ Powerstream SLI 520W
eVGA 7800GT 256Mb / NV5 Silencer
Creative Labs X-Fi ExtremeMusic
1 x 250Gb Seagate SATA, 2 x 120GB WD SATA
NEC DVD Burner
Antec Sonata Case
Viewsonic VP930b LCD
Twinhan 1020A DVB-S<!--/
 01/11/2006 03:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
r3sil3
Senior Member

Posts: 4102
Joined: 10/05/2005

It will OC well, I have my 2800 @ 2.4 and is limited becayuse of my BIOS.

EDIT: Don't go by that review he put up about the 3100, it was a 130nm chip, You will get a 90nm Palermo which is a WAY better overclocker and based off of the Venice core.

-------------------------
NO PC As Of NOW!

I'll still be on here once in a while.
 01/13/2006 04:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hawkmielle
Member

Posts: 27
Joined: 01/19/2005

Thanks, I did notice the review was based on the first generation core rather than the new E6 Palermo. I would not have bought an old one, let alond hope to find one in the stores still.

Anyways, I picked up the 3100+ Sempron at lunch. It is a SDA3100AIO3BX LBBWE 0542DAA. Not much choice, it was the only one in stock. So I hope it is a good one!

Any suggestions on where I should start my overclock at? From what I have read about OCZ Platinum memory it will need to use a memory divider. My Platinum EB PC3200 has agressive timings but the consensus is that they do not overclock much more than another 10-20Mhz from the default 200Mhz.

Next week my new memory should arrive; OCZ EL Platinum PC3200 2x1Gb kit. Would have been happy to stay with the old stuff but BF2 and F.E.A.R. are asking for more /ohmy.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='ohmy.gif' />

-------------------------
Sempron 3100+ / Zalman 6000Cu
300x9 - 2.7Ghz, 1.485v, 4:3 @ 225Mhz ram
DFI NF4X-Infinity (nF4 on skt 754) Rev A 10/19/2005
OCZ 2x1024Mb Platinum EL PC3200
OCZ Powerstream SLI 520W
eVGA 7800GT 256Mb / NV5 Silencer
Creative Labs X-Fi ExtremeMusic
1 x 250Gb Seagate SATA, 2 x 120GB WD SATA
NEC DVD Burner
Antec Sonata Case
Viewsonic VP930b LCD
Twinhan 1020A DVB-S<!--/
 01/13/2006 04:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
boule
Senior Member

Posts: 2621
Joined: 10/24/2005

You can't manage fear with your eVGA 7800GT 256Mb ???

-------------------------
Desktop:
AMD Athlon XP 2800+ (Barton) @ 200x10.5=2100MHz | Asus A7N8X Deluxe | Corsair 2xCMX512-3200C2PT @ 2.5-3-3-8 | MSI GeForce FX 5600 128MB | Hitachi Deskstar T7K250 160GB SATA II | Antec NeoPower 480W | Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty

Laptop:
Dell Latitude 120L | Intel Pentium M 740 | OCZ 2x1GB PC2-5400 | Western Digital Scorpio WD1200VE 120GB
 01/13/2006 05:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hawkmielle
Member

Posts: 27
Joined: 01/19/2005

QUOTE(boule @ Jan 13 2006, 01:25 PM)You can't manage fear with your eVGA 7800GT 256Mb  ???
[right][snapback]593693[/snapback][/right]


No, the 1Gb of system memory is holding me back. The 7800GT is awesome! About 3/4 of the way through the game there is a large outdoor area which was chunking badly. I went to the task manager and saw that I was using 1.5Gb of memory and it was swapping like crazy to the hard drive. BF2 will also take advantage of the 2Gb or ram, which I am playing most nights.

-------------------------
Sempron 3100+ / Zalman 6000Cu
300x9 - 2.7Ghz, 1.485v, 4:3 @ 225Mhz ram
DFI NF4X-Infinity (nF4 on skt 754) Rev A 10/19/2005
OCZ 2x1024Mb Platinum EL PC3200
OCZ Powerstream SLI 520W
eVGA 7800GT 256Mb / NV5 Silencer
Creative Labs X-Fi ExtremeMusic
1 x 250Gb Seagate SATA, 2 x 120GB WD SATA
NEC DVD Burner
Antec Sonata Case
Viewsonic VP930b LCD
Twinhan 1020A DVB-S<!--/
 01/13/2006 08:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
boule
Senior Member

Posts: 2621
Joined: 10/24/2005

I tried fear on my system (primary pc in sig). Total disaster /blush.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='blush.gif' />

-------------------------
Desktop:
AMD Athlon XP 2800+ (Barton) @ 200x10.5=2100MHz | Asus A7N8X Deluxe | Corsair 2xCMX512-3200C2PT @ 2.5-3-3-8 | MSI GeForce FX 5600 128MB | Hitachi Deskstar T7K250 160GB SATA II | Antec NeoPower 480W | Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty

Laptop:
Dell Latitude 120L | Intel Pentium M 740 | OCZ 2x1GB PC2-5400 | Western Digital Scorpio WD1200VE 120GB
 01/15/2006 08:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
VTwedge
Member

Posts: 26
Joined: 03/05/2005

QUOTE(boule @ Jan 13 2006, 05:50 PM)I tried fear on my system (primary pc in sig). Total disaster /blush.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='blush.gif' />
[right][snapback]593948[/snapback][/right]

tried it on mine: sempron 3100 overclocked to 2250mhz,2x512mb crucial ram at 1T timings,ati radeon connect3d x800gto unlocked to 16 pipelines and running at X800XT PE speeds and it literally flew on it as far as i could tell. fear benchamrk was 100% over 40 fps and highest w as 193 fps textures were at maximum shaders too light on max, anisotropy 2X etc etc its your card that messed u up in fear

-------------------------
[FONT=Arial]
AM2 WINDSOR X2 5000 2.6GHz
ARCTIC COOLER FREEZER 64 PRO CPU cooler
2 X connect3d X1950XTX 48 SHADERS 16 pipes 650/2000 CROSSFIRE
2x1024 CORSAIR running at 747mhz 4-4-4-12 at 1T timings
MSI K9A PLATINUM crpssfire 3200 motherboard
22 inch widescreen LG 226wtq monitor
160GB SATA2 MAXTOR hard drive
THERMALTAKE ARMOR JR case
3X120MM FANS 1X92MM FAN 1X92mm exhaust
 01/16/2006 04:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
boule
Senior Member

Posts: 2621
Joined: 10/24/2005

That's because of your graphic card... Other than that, our systems are practicly the same

-------------------------
Desktop:
AMD Athlon XP 2800+ (Barton) @ 200x10.5=2100MHz | Asus A7N8X Deluxe | Corsair 2xCMX512-3200C2PT @ 2.5-3-3-8 | MSI GeForce FX 5600 128MB | Hitachi Deskstar T7K250 160GB SATA II | Antec NeoPower 480W | Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty

Laptop:
Dell Latitude 120L | Intel Pentium M 740 | OCZ 2x1GB PC2-5400 | Western Digital Scorpio WD1200VE 120GB
 01/16/2006 10:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
r3sil3
Senior Member

Posts: 4102
Joined: 10/05/2005

FEAR runs on the system in my sig........i dont know why the 1GB is holding you back.

-------------------------
NO PC As Of NOW!

I'll still be on here once in a while.
 01/16/2006 10:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
boule
Senior Member

Posts: 2621
Joined: 10/24/2005

r3 you must have misunderstood, I told him that FEAR ran on his PC THANKS to his graphic card, because it's the only major difference with my PC, on which FEAR doesn't run /sad.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='sad.gif' />

-------------------------
Desktop:
AMD Athlon XP 2800+ (Barton) @ 200x10.5=2100MHz | Asus A7N8X Deluxe | Corsair 2xCMX512-3200C2PT @ 2.5-3-3-8 | MSI GeForce FX 5600 128MB | Hitachi Deskstar T7K250 160GB SATA II | Antec NeoPower 480W | Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty

Laptop:
Dell Latitude 120L | Intel Pentium M 740 | OCZ 2x1GB PC2-5400 | Western Digital Scorpio WD1200VE 120GB
 01/16/2006 10:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
r3sil3
Senior Member

Posts: 4102
Joined: 10/05/2005

ah, my bad.......

-------------------------
NO PC As Of NOW!

I'll still be on here once in a while.
 01/25/2006 09:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hawkmielle
Member

Posts: 27
Joined: 01/19/2005

So far so good with the Sempron 3100+.

I am currently running it at 9x275 for 2.45Ghz using a 4:3 memory divider to keep my ram running at 206/412. Have not touched the voltage on anything yet, the CPU is still running cool at 34 degrees.

No problems at all getting it to run this fast so far. Played several hours of BF2 already without any problems.

Will try and see if I can push it to 9x300 with a 3:2 memory divider after work today.

-------------------------
Sempron 3100+ / Zalman 6000Cu
300x9 - 2.7Ghz, 1.485v, 4:3 @ 225Mhz ram
DFI NF4X-Infinity (nF4 on skt 754) Rev A 10/19/2005
OCZ 2x1024Mb Platinum EL PC3200
OCZ Powerstream SLI 520W
eVGA 7800GT 256Mb / NV5 Silencer
Creative Labs X-Fi ExtremeMusic
1 x 250Gb Seagate SATA, 2 x 120GB WD SATA
NEC DVD Burner
Antec Sonata Case
Viewsonic VP930b LCD
Twinhan 1020A DVB-S<!--/
 01/27/2006 11:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hawkmielle
Member

Posts: 27
Joined: 01/19/2005

My first try at 300x9 with a 3:2 divider locked up at the desktop. So I upped the voltage to 1.5 on the CPU and have had no more lockups or bad behaviour. Played 3-4 hours of Battlefield2 in the last two nights without a problem. Temperature only went up to 38 degrees.

The 3:2 is not exact, CPU-Z shows CPU/14 as the extact divider number, causing the memory to only run at 192. Perhaps part of the reason my score in 3Dmark did not go very much moving from 275x9 to 300x9.

Very happy with the results so far.

Thanks for the recommendations everyone.



-------------------------
Sempron 3100+ / Zalman 6000Cu
300x9 - 2.7Ghz, 1.485v, 4:3 @ 225Mhz ram
DFI NF4X-Infinity (nF4 on skt 754) Rev A 10/19/2005
OCZ 2x1024Mb Platinum EL PC3200
OCZ Powerstream SLI 520W
eVGA 7800GT 256Mb / NV5 Silencer
Creative Labs X-Fi ExtremeMusic
1 x 250Gb Seagate SATA, 2 x 120GB WD SATA
NEC DVD Burner
Antec Sonata Case
Viewsonic VP930b LCD
Twinhan 1020A DVB-S<!--/
 01/27/2006 05:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
r3sil3
Senior Member

Posts: 4102
Joined: 10/05/2005

Hey, How do you like that Infinity? WHats the CPU go up to? 450?

Does it have Chipset Voltage? VDImm Voltage?

-------------------------
NO PC As Of NOW!

I'll still be on here once in a while.
 01/27/2006 07:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hawkmielle
Member

Posts: 27
Joined: 01/19/2005

I have ended up really liking this board, more than I ever expected. Since I did not have enough money to do a complete upgrade all at once, I wanted to migrate as much stuff with me, but be able to get a PCI-E slot for the 7800GT. Was going to pick up the Asus K8N4-E but there was no stock on it, used Asus many times in the past. Ended up with the DFI, which was cheaper ($90 cdn), but it did not have firewire.

Never owned a DFI before, but have been pleasantly suprised at the BIOS options this has for a average level board (non LANParty series). It has certainly allowed me to overclock the Sempron more than I thought I would get.

As for your questions:
CPU does go up to 450
Ram voltage 2.5-3.2V
Chip voltage 1.5-1.7V
CPU volatage 0.8-1.85V
2:1,3:2,4:3,1:1 memory dividers
plus lots and lots of memory settings

supports 2Gb memory well (early Sempron memory controllers did not? other forum)

on auto timings, memory only ran at 333, probably because it was double sided and the manual said that is what it would run at. Turn it to manual and DD400 works great.




-------------------------
Sempron 3100+ / Zalman 6000Cu
300x9 - 2.7Ghz, 1.485v, 4:3 @ 225Mhz ram
DFI NF4X-Infinity (nF4 on skt 754) Rev A 10/19/2005
OCZ 2x1024Mb Platinum EL PC3200
OCZ Powerstream SLI 520W
eVGA 7800GT 256Mb / NV5 Silencer
Creative Labs X-Fi ExtremeMusic
1 x 250Gb Seagate SATA, 2 x 120GB WD SATA
NEC DVD Burner
Antec Sonata Case
Viewsonic VP930b LCD
Twinhan 1020A DVB-S<!--/
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information