AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Which Sempron for DFI NF4X-Infinity?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/10/2006 12:33 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 Previous Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/13/2006 08:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TedSexington
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 04/13/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: Hawkmielle
My first try at 300x9 with a 3:2 divider locked up at the desktop. So I upped the voltage to 1.5 on the CPU and have had no more lockups or bad behaviour. Played 3-4 hours of Battlefield2 in the last two nights without a problem. Temperature only went up to 38 degrees.

The 3:2 is not exact, CPU-Z shows CPU/14 as the extact divider number, causing the memory to only run at 192. Perhaps part of the reason my score in 3Dmark did not go very much moving from 275x9 to 300x9.

Very happy with the results so far.

Thanks for the recommendations everyone.



nice job....I have my Sempron 3100 Palermo sitting at 2.62GHz (292x9)

I am able to boot into windows and use apps at 300x9 but if I run stress tests it is an unstable config.....not sure if you have used OCCT or prime95 with that config...interested to see if it is fully stable.

I have run prime95 for over 9 hrs with my current settings and it is all good.
my specs are as follows:

CPU: 292x9 @1.65V
Cooling: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
RAM: 512MB PC3200 @ 238.9MHz
Mobo: ASUS K8N
Graphics: ASUS n6200 clocked from 350/400 to 446/500

at that Vcore my temps were a little warm so installed the aftermarket cooler and now it is sweet....I could run my system at same settings as you ie. fsb and Vcore but I found them to be unstable if tested properly.
 04/18/2006 10:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hawkmielle
Member

Posts: 27
Joined: 01/19/2005

Thanks!

I have not done any of the typical torture tests on my machine. However, I do consider it reliable. Nothing but smooth sailing since the first results I posted back in January. No lockups, freezes or posting issues at all. My games are running great.

What type of Ram are you using, is it generic? That is a pretty [content edited] good speed on them if it is. The chips on my OCZ EL Platinum's have low latency and tight timings but only offer modest overclocking and virtually no response to extra voltage. Currently getting 2.5.-4-2-8 @ 225Mhz from them and not expected to get much more than that. Did you try running a different divider to lower the memory speed to see if your instability at 300x9 was ram related rather then CPU headroom?

Have not attempted anything higher than 300x9 with memory @ 225 yet. I think the next easiest overclock on my machine will be to increase the core and memory frequencies on my 7800GT.

-------------------------
Sempron 3100+ / Zalman 6000Cu
300x9 - 2.7Ghz, 1.485v, 4:3 @ 225Mhz ram
DFI NF4X-Infinity (nF4 on skt 754) Rev A 10/19/2005
OCZ 2x1024Mb Platinum EL PC3200
OCZ Powerstream SLI 520W
eVGA 7800GT 256Mb / NV5 Silencer
Creative Labs X-Fi ExtremeMusic
1 x 250Gb Seagate SATA, 2 x 120GB WD SATA
NEC DVD Burner
Antec Sonata Case
Viewsonic VP930b LCD
Twinhan 1020A DVB-S<!--/
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information