Increase font size
Topic Title: Acer Aspire T180 and AMD Sempron 3400+ 64
Topic Summary: Need to upgrade CPU
Created On: 10/18/2007 11:27 AM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/18/2007 11:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MickY_G

Hi all. I am a newbie to this forum and I really, really need some good, honest advice as I am sure I will no doubt get. I have an Acer Aspire T180 with an AMD Sempron 3400+ 64 processor in it. I have had it about a year now and I am running Vista Ultimate on it quite sucessfully. However, I now wish to upgrade the CPU to a dual core processor. I have benchmarked the computer with both Lavalys Ultimate Edition and also PC Wizard 2008 and both inform me that the CPU is a socket AM2. Personally, I don't understand a word about any of this as I am new to upgrading CPU's. I have phoned Acer here in the UK but they are totally and completely useless to say the least and told me to phone the company where I purchased the computer from. They were very helpful but could still not give me all the details I wanted, so that I could buy the correct CPU upgrade. However, Acer did inform me that the Aspire T180 would take a dual caore up to a speed of 5200+ (I think thats what they said anyway)? I dont even know the make of the motherboard as I believe that Acer dont make the MOBO's themselves, but have them built by outside companies, to Acer specs. My last computer was an Acer Aspire T135 (AMD Sempron 3200+ 64) and I know for a fact that had a Gigabyte MOBO in it but this T180 I now have has nothing on the MOBO at all, to tell me what make it could be. Seeing as Acer and ebuyer (whom I purchased the computer from) both told me that the T180 is a socket AM2, I have recently purchased an AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 4600+ 2.40GHz (AM2), in the hope that this will suffice for