AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: HELP W/ AMD SEMPRON 3500+
Topic Summary: Upgrade Poss.
Created On: 11/20/2007 08:51 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/20/2007 08:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Looper55
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 11/20/2007

Hello,

Here are the specs for my processor:

Name: Mobile AMD Sempron 3500+
Code Name: Keene
Brand ID: 3
Package: Socket S1 (638)
Technology: 90nm
Core VID: 1.200 V
Specification: Mobile AMD Sempron Processor 3500+
Family: F
Model: C
Stepping: 2
Ext. Family: F
Ext. Model: 4C
Revision: DH-F2
Instructions: MMX (+), 3DNow! (+), SSE, SSE2, SSE3, x86-64
Core Speed: 1.8 GHz
Multiplier: x9.0
Bus Speed: 200 MHz
HT Link: 800 MHz

L1 Data: 64 KB
L1 Inst.: 64 KB
Level 2: 512 KB

And other basic computer specs:

Graphics: ATI Mobile Xpress 1100 256MB
RAM: 2GB DDR2 Dual-Channel
OS: Windows Vista Ultimate
Mainboard: Acer Prespa M w/e ATI Xpress 200 chipset v1.3

--------------------------------------

Basically, all I want to know are my CPU upgrade possibilites. This laptop is good for gaming, but to play something newer (ala Guitar Hero 3) I need a better CPU Processor. The BUS speed is atrocious. Thing is, I don't know what is compatible (I dont care about price). I know you guys are smart, and the most high end CPU ideas would be greatly appreciated. That laptop itself runs perfect, but gaming wise it isn't good enough. (Yes, the graphics card is crap and thats the next update).
 11/20/2007 08:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Looper55
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 11/20/2007

And, help with overclocking too please!
 11/21/2007 01:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Overmind
Assimilator

Posts: 8052
Joined: 01/22/2004

For more advanced games, you require a better video card. That cannot be changed because it's onboard. A better CPU and OC will not make a significant difference in games.

-------------------------

World's best Red Alert 2: Yuri's Revenge mod and Star Trek: Starfleet Command 3 mod: Overmind.ro
 07/17/2008 12:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
htechboy
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 07/17/2008

I'd just recently upgrade my dell inspiron 1501. replaced semporn 3500 1.8Ghz with (mobile) Turion TL-62 2.1Ghz with 1MB cache. it really rocks my world.

both chips are socket s1, (638 pin) and my dell's chipset actually was amd64 chipset so it was so ready for upgrade to Turion

semporn is a 25w chip,
Turion 64 x2 is a 35w chip. seems the fan works a little harder now due to the extra watts and tons of applications I'm running at the same time, as always......

my system now: Turion TL-62
2GB ram,
fujitsu 7200 notebook hard drive.
ATI renden Xpress 1150
OS: Vista

Improvement:
double my speed of copying files between hard drive folders,
smoother graphics on net games I play (Condition Zero, and Silkroadonline)
realized the performance (especially on higher CPU utilization)

I'd realized the different every time when I do the upgrade with my original (striped model). RAM, hard drive, and finally with the new chip is so worth the investment.

not sure about if your motherboard chipset is compatible, but if so, definitely go for Turion. those extra cache makes the huge different.

Edited: 07/17/2008 at 12:49 AM by htechboy
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information