AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Upgrading from AMD Sempron 3000+
Topic Summary: Compaq Presario SR1403WM
Created On: 02/21/2008 05:24 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/21/2008 05:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
almostalive2003
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 02/21/2008

Hi, I'm sorry I know that this question is asked a lot, but I am wondering what kind of new processor I am able to put into my system?

I have a Compaq Presario SR1403WM that I bought at Wal-Mart back in September 2005.
Compaq Presario SR1403WM Desktop PC - Product Specifications from HP.com

More info on my computer with a different processor listed in it from Compaq.com

The motherboard is a K8S-LA (Salmon) with a Socket 754 processor type. The BIOs version on it right now is 3.10 but theres an update to 3.15 listed on the second link. I currently have 768megs of DDR PC2300 ram. I plan on upgrading that to OCZ Platinum 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory. I am currently using an ATI Radeon 9550 256MB Graphic Card and plan on upgrading to SAPPHIRE Radeon X1650 512MB Graphic Card.

So any suggestion on what type of processor I can upgrade to would be very appreciated! Other questions, if the fastest processor that I can put into my system is a 64 bit one will that work just fine with my 32 bit Windows XP? or If I get a 64 bit version of Windows XP will the applications that don't have a 64 bit version run fine in the 32 bit version on the 64 bit XP?

This is all the information that I know right now that should be helpful in the suggesting me a new CPU. If you need any other information just tell me what and I should be able to find it.

A picture from CPU-Z


Thank you in advance for helping me and I'm sorry for asking a question thats been asked a million times. Hopefully I made your helping easier with the information that I gave.

EDIT: I think I have narrowed it down to two type of processors that I can put in it. The AMD Athlon 64 3400+ (ADA3400AXBOX) and the AMD Sempron 3400+ (SDA3400BXBOX). Should either of theses processors work for my computer??

Edited: 02/21/2008 at 07:14 PM by almostalive2003
 02/22/2008 08:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TLH
Moderator

Posts: 3641
Joined: 11/19/2004

Asus only have details on a K8S-MX but I suspect it is basically the same thing but with a few more options. The top cpu for that board is the Athlon 64 3700+. I think you'd be safe with either of the cpu's you listed but is it really worth going from a 3000+ to a 3400+?

TBH it may be worth you looking into a new system rather than upgrading with memory, gfx and cpu. Reasons for this are the fact that DDR2 is half the price of DDR, the 754 boards are only capable of single channel so your OCZ dual channel set is wasted on it and you'll get a big upgrade rather than a mediocre one by going AM2/AM2+.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

1100t on M5A99x-EVO with 2x4gb and 6870 running Win7 on Force120 ssd in Corsair 600t cooled by H100. Folding for team 34106
 02/22/2008 09:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MikeB12
Senior Member

Posts: 2452
Joined: 07/14/2007

yeah, I'd overhaul it..

similar situation http://forums.amd.com/forum/me...atid=24&threadid=92394

-------------------------
*Q6600@3330mhz 1.35v - True120 | Abit IP35pro | 2x2GB Gskil | 2 x EVGA GTS 250- shader 1890 | Corsair HX520 | OCZ Vertex 60GB/Seagate 7200.11 500GB
*x4 810@3250mhz 1.32v - Xigmatek S1283 | MSI K9A2 CF-F 790X | 2x1GB Kingston HyperX | 2 x MSI GTS 250- shader 1890 | Antec EW 500
*Q6600@3330mhz 1.36v - Scythe Mugen | Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L | 2x1GB Ballistx | XFX GTX 260 (192) shader 1512 | OCZ Stealth 500w
 02/22/2008 12:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
almostalive2003
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 02/21/2008

Thanks for the advice. I know that it would just be smarter to save the money and leave this system be but I'm also wanting to push this motherboard to its full potential which isn't much better but I also am going to give this computer to my parents when I do buy or build(which is what I want to do) me a new one. So I want to upgrade it to better than perfect for my parents for as long as the system will live.

The ram right now is my biggest priority. I know going from 768 to 2gigs makes a big difference in performance and that would help out a quite a bit for now. I know this isn't exactly the right place to ask but could you recommend a good type of ram that would work just fine with my system?

The gfx and cpu are being done more of just because I can. I really don't think I will see a big difference with them but will notice a bit. Going from a 1800Mhz L2 128 cache processor to a 2400Mhz L2 512 cache processor should make a decent difference I think.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information