AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: AMD Sempron 3300+ Compatibility problem
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/30/2008 01:13 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/30/2008 01:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SirShroomy
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 09/30/2008

Hi,

I recently upgraded my computer from a Sempron 2400+ to a Sempron 3300+. I did this for the extra speed from a 1.8 GHz to a 2.2 Ghz. Now I have been having alot of problems, I used the same fan and heatsink from my Sempron 2400+ processor which may or may not explain the heat problems I have been having, sometimes it goes over 80 Celsius.

I looked on AMD to see if my motherboard was compatible with my Foxconn/Winfast 748K7AA and it doesn't say it is compatible but the specs sheet from Winfast said any processor from the althon/sempron family with a 200-400 FSB would work. So does this matter?

I have also noticed in the device manager the processor isn't recognized as an AMD, but under System properties and General it saids it is AMD sempron 2.20 Ghz. Are there any drivers for this processor and if so where?

I have been having some application problems and weird happenings, so I starting to get worried.

I looked at basically all the other posts, and I read that memory and power can sometimes cause problems, but I have 2 GBs of good pc3200 memory and a 350Watt ATX12V Smartpower power supply.

Thank you for your time, Please help.
 09/30/2008 02:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
geezer_wheelz
Elite

Posts: 1462
Joined: 09/23/2006

Hi and welcome to the forum
Check out the link to the CPU cooling guide under my sig to try and cool that CPU down a bit
Your board should not have any troubles running that CPU
You might have to reinstall your operating system
Sometimes a CPU upgrade requires that
Good luck

-------------------------
Asus M4A79 Deluxe, Phenom II 940 BE, 20,770 3D06

Asus Moderator ~ My CPU Overheating Guide
 09/30/2008 09:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

g_w's overheating guide has the most covered.

Avoid using it if CPU goes over 65'C. May damage the CPU in the long run.
Instability is a sure side effect if temp is 80'C for a desktop socket A CPU.

-------------------------
 10/03/2008 01:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SirShroomy
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 09/30/2008

I fix the heat problem, I had too much thermal paste on the processor. But now that I got the heat down, I'm still getting the same program problems.

I have been reading that the computer shutting down when the computer is stressed could be a power supply problem, but how do I know for sure its the power supply?

I have been looking at a few ATX testers for power supply and I have been thinking about getting one to test the power supply but if everything is working now, won't the tester say its good till I stress the computer?

The computer also has a another weird symptom, when I turn the computer off, it seems like it doesn't want to go off and everything is beeping and blinking. Is this a motherboard or power supply issue?
 10/03/2008 02:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bogey
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5643
Joined: 03/25/2005

The only way to sure is to try a known good quality brand name working power supply with adequate specs:

Single +12V rail with about 20A
+5V rail with at least 30A
+3.3V rail with at least 30A

Your smartpower psu may have a problem with the +5V standby rail. Quite a few Antecs produced around this time had this problem. I believe it has dual +12V rails as well. A single +12V rail would be better.

The motherboard could also be the source of the problem. Around 2003 many motherboards were fitted with poor quality capacitors. Hopefully that's not the case. Test the system with a different power supply first.

-------------------------
MSI K7N2 Delta2 LSR|35w XP-M2400 11x214 1.62V|2x512MB OCZ EL 2 2 2 11 2.9V|9600XT|Seasonic 350w
Abit AN7|XP-M2800 10.5x227 1.62V|2x512MB Mushkin XP4000 2 3 2 11 3.2V|9600XT|Seasonic 550w
Asus A7V600|XP-M2600 6-11x202 1.6V|2x512 Crucial PC3200 2.5 3 3 9 2.7V|PCI 32MB gfx|Corsair 450w

Edited: 10/03/2008 at 02:49 AM by bogey
 10/10/2008 03:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SirShroomy
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 09/30/2008

I replaced my power supply, because of course it went out. I'm wondering if the failing power supply might have damaged the processor, because now that I have a new power supply installed the processer causes the system to crash under stress.

I also reinstall Windows XP while having the processor, I think I may need to reinstall it again because of the power supply problem may have corrupted the fresh install.

I have the processor set to 200Mhz clock and I have 400DDR RAM, so I don't see what is causing the system instability..

Could the processor had damaged the power supply or more likely the power supply damaged the processor?

Is there a way to test the processor with some kind of software??
 10/10/2008 03:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bogey
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5643
Joined: 03/25/2005

It could be the motherboard causing the problem as mentioned previously. I would doubt the processor is faulty.

What's the new power supply?

-------------------------
MSI K7N2 Delta2 LSR|35w XP-M2400 11x214 1.62V|2x512MB OCZ EL 2 2 2 11 2.9V|9600XT|Seasonic 350w
Abit AN7|XP-M2800 10.5x227 1.62V|2x512MB Mushkin XP4000 2 3 2 11 3.2V|9600XT|Seasonic 550w
Asus A7V600|XP-M2600 6-11x202 1.6V|2x512 Crucial PC3200 2.5 3 3 9 2.7V|PCI 32MB gfx|Corsair 450w
 10/10/2008 03:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SirShroomy
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 09/30/2008

An Antec Basiq BP500UB 500W ATX12V Version 2.01 Active PFC Power Supply - OEM.

I reisntalled my previous processor and it runs with no problems.

Do you think changing the voltages to the processor will make a difference?

Edit:

Would it help if I ran CPU-Z on my computer, I have been reading the other posts on the forum to see if there is something else I can try.
 10/20/2008 12:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SirShroomy
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 09/30/2008

I have been trying to get this processor working, I have notice that even though the processor is within operating temps, it does idle at a high temp 65 degree Cel. Could this make it unstable?

I notice with my Sempron 2400+ is idles at 41 degrees Cel.

Do recommended a heatsink and fan for the Sempron 3300+??
 10/21/2008 10:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

it does idle at a high temp 65 degree Cel. Could this make it unstable?

Yes.

I find it a bit strange that the stock cooler would show a 24'C difference during idle btwn these two.
Have you made sure the HSF/cooler is optimally installed and all excessive thermal paste removed from the die of the CPU?

If your motherboard BIOS has Vcore adjustment, you can try lowering it by 0.025V-0.05V.

Speeze used to have socket A HSFs with fair price/performance ratio.
Glacialtech also had some good models.

-------------------------
 10/24/2008 07:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nauttboy
B1FF

Posts: 112
Joined: 11/09/2005

Wow, that's the same mb and cpu i try to boot up. Maybe I ask what video card did you use? AGP or PCI?

Originally posted by: go_for

it does idle at a high temp 65 degree Cel. Could this make it unstable?


Yes.

Have you made sure the HSF/cooler is optimally installed and all excessive thermal paste removed from the die of the CPU?


So Extra thermal paste is not good? I thought the more the marrier.

-------------------------
Update:04-01-10
G-byte + X2 245______HP DV6768SE TL-60@2.0
500gb, 4gb Ram______320gb@7200, 3gb Ram
Win7 Ult 64bits_______ Vista Home Prem
 11/01/2008 10:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Orn
Titanic Jelly Hammer

Posts: 3481
Joined: 01/04/2008

nope, more grease more temp fluctuations
 02/10/2009 12:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
georgemathews
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 02/10/2009

Yea I was thinking the same thing with the thermal paste. Good thing i Read this.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information