AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: DEAD PC help.
Topic Summary: AMD 5000+ dual core w/AMB2N-LA MB
Created On: 11/19/2008 08:33 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/19/2008 08:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nauttboy
B1FF

Posts: 112
Joined: 11/09/2005

PC boots but nothing screen. Tried PCI video card doesn't work. unplugg HD/CD and turn on. Still nothing on screen. Swap RAM, no go.

What could cause the problem?

Will it try to start if CPU is fried?

integrated video card bad?


How can I test?

-------------------------
Update:04-01-10
G-byte + X2 245______HP DV6768SE TL-60@2.0
500gb, 4gb Ram______320gb@7200, 3gb Ram
Win7 Ult 64bits_______ Vista Home Prem
 11/19/2008 10:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
werty_ez
Fanboi

Posts: 66
Joined: 07/16/2008

bad bio 's but i guess you clear them aready im guessing cpu

-------------------------
22 inch samsung 2ms 8000:1 lcd display
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 280 XXX xfx
MSI K9N2 Diamond AM2+/AM2 NVIDIA nForce 780a SLI ATX AMD Motherboard -
mushkin XP ASCENT w/ eVCI technology 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR2 1066
AMD Phenom 9950 BLACK EDITION 2.6GHz 4 x 512KB at 3.1Ghz
CPU COOLER ZALMAN|9700 LED
XCLIO Greatpower 1000W
NZXT TEMPEST Crafted Series

windows xp
 11/20/2008 12:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cvsi3
Elite

Posts: 1955
Joined: 01/31/2008

Who is the MB Manufacture? Has this pc worked before? or is it a new build?

-------------------------
i7 2600K - Asus Maximus Extreme-Z - G.Skill DDR3 2133 CL9 - MSI 5870 - Corsair 1200w PSU - 2 x Western Digital Raptors Raid 0 - Swiftech Apogee XT Water Block - Swiftech MCP655 Pump - 120mm Quad Rad - Windows 7 - Ubuntu x64

5311Mhz Validation
 11/20/2008 01:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
FrozenSteel
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 6365
Joined: 06/11/2004

Hows your PSU? What make and model do you got? How many watts? Did you backprobe all voltages to see if their correct?

-------------------------
Alienware m17x R4
17.3" 1920x1080 -- Intel Core i7-3820QM -- 16GB DDR3 1600MHz -- Intel 520 180GB SSD -- 750GB 7200RPM Data HDD -- Slot BD-ROM -- 2GB AMD 7970m -- Intel Centrino 6250+WiMax -- Mediacom 20 Mbps Internet Connection
 11/20/2008 09:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nauttboy
B1FF

Posts: 112
Joined: 11/09/2005

This pc was brought to me to be fix. He said the pc went to sleep/hibernate/standby and never wake back up.

Yes I clear CMOS. Funny there's 2 CMOS jumper it looks like together.
Originally posted by: werty_ez

bad bio 's but i guess you clear them aready im guessing cpu


The only thing I saw on the motherboard is AMB2N-LA.
Originally posted by: cvsi3

Who is the MB Manufacture? Has this pc worked before? or is it a new build?


this is a HP build PC Pavilion m5770n.

-------------------------
Update:04-01-10
G-byte + X2 245______HP DV6768SE TL-60@2.0
500gb, 4gb Ram______320gb@7200, 3gb Ram
Win7 Ult 64bits_______ Vista Home Prem
 11/21/2008 01:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

nb, I think you mean: HP Pavilion Media Center TV m7750n Desktop PC. Motherboard, A8M2N-LA

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfr...=2093&product=3339301


Could test with another PSU.

-------------------------
 11/21/2008 06:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nauttboy
B1FF

Posts: 112
Joined: 11/09/2005

Question: Why would it be the PSU? It might not have enough juicei?

-------------------------
Update:04-01-10
G-byte + X2 245______HP DV6768SE TL-60@2.0
500gb, 4gb Ram______320gb@7200, 3gb Ram
Win7 Ult 64bits_______ Vista Home Prem
 11/21/2008 06:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

I have seen rails burn out on PSU,s. Had one not long ago from a new client, his 12+ rails where dead.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 11/21/2008 06:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nauttboy
B1FF

Posts: 112
Joined: 11/09/2005

Why I asked is because I dont understand. With that dead rail, will it still output some juice? Like I said earlier, Hard Drive, DVD, FAN, panel lights all working.

-------------------------
Update:04-01-10
G-byte + X2 245______HP DV6768SE TL-60@2.0
500gb, 4gb Ram______320gb@7200, 3gb Ram
Win7 Ult 64bits_______ Vista Home Prem
 11/21/2008 06:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

YES

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 11/21/2008 08:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nauttboy
B1FF

Posts: 112
Joined: 11/09/2005

Cool, thanks for the quickreply.

What do you think of the fanless PSU? I saw on Ebay, pretty cool I thought. Very small.

-------------------------
Update:04-01-10
G-byte + X2 245______HP DV6768SE TL-60@2.0
500gb, 4gb Ram______320gb@7200, 3gb Ram
Win7 Ult 64bits_______ Vista Home Prem
 11/21/2008 09:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

tried a lot of them. noisy or not , nothing replaces good fan setup.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 11/22/2008 11:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nauttboy
B1FF

Posts: 112
Joined: 11/09/2005

Well, I was also looking at this http://cgi.ebay.com/PicoPSU-12...%7C39%3A1%7C240%3A1318 for my other project. You think this could run sempron 2g and below?

-------------------------
Update:04-01-10
G-byte + X2 245______HP DV6768SE TL-60@2.0
500gb, 4gb Ram______320gb@7200, 3gb Ram
Win7 Ult 64bits_______ Vista Home Prem
 11/22/2008 11:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

what am I looking at?

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 11/22/2008 12:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nauttboy
B1FF

Posts: 112
Joined: 11/09/2005

That's a power supply with 120W output. This is the fanless i was talking about.

I should stay with my topic instead of hijacking my own thread.


Anyway, i'll keep you guy updated with what i found out with my pc not booting.

-------------------------
Update:04-01-10
G-byte + X2 245______HP DV6768SE TL-60@2.0
500gb, 4gb Ram______320gb@7200, 3gb Ram
Win7 Ult 64bits_______ Vista Home Prem
 12/16/2008 05:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nauttboy
B1FF

Posts: 112
Joined: 11/09/2005

the guy took it to shop it was the motherboard they say.

-=** Thread closed **=-

-------------------------
Update:04-01-10
G-byte + X2 245______HP DV6768SE TL-60@2.0
500gb, 4gb Ram______320gb@7200, 3gb Ram
Win7 Ult 64bits_______ Vista Home Prem
 12/16/2008 07:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MD - Moderator
Deployer of Mjölnir - House Keeping

Posts: 11102
Joined: 11/05/2003

Those epox boards tended to die from bad caps...

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Physics? Ha! This is clearly magic and devilry at work. Prepare firewood! We have witches to burn!


MODERATOR
 12/17/2008 05:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bogey
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5643
Joined: 03/25/2005

Maybe that sempron 3300 isn't dead after all.

-------------------------
MSI K7N2 Delta2 LSR|35w XP-M2400 11x214 1.62V|2x512MB OCZ EL 2 2 2 11 2.9V|9600XT|Seasonic 350w
Abit AN7|XP-M2800 10.5x227 1.62V|2x512MB Mushkin XP4000 2 3 2 11 3.2V|9600XT|Seasonic 550w
Asus A7V600|XP-M2600 6-11x202 1.6V|2x512 Crucial PC3200 2.5 3 3 9 2.7V|PCI 32MB gfx|Corsair 450w
 03/17/2009 03:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Automatic
Junior Member

Posts: 20
Joined: 03/06/2009

***** capacitors. Im still trying to figure out why vista is running on the hardware specs of that computer. I imagine even after a defective mobo the system is going to be running very slowly.

-------------------------
Computer Help & Repair
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information