AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: AMD Sempron 3000+ Driver Problems
Topic Summary: AMD Sempron 3000 Drivers
Created On: 04/15/2009 02:22 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
Answer This question was answered by go_for, on Wednesday, April 22, 2009 9:54 PM

Answer:
Gigabyte GA-K8NS Pro, BIOS, etc.
 04/15/2009 02:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Captain game hard
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 04/15/2009

I'm haivng problems with my new AMD Sempron 3000+ Processor. No matter how many of the drivers amd's driver download software recommends, which is usually those for the athlon 64, I still cant get my computer to identify the processor by name.

It still id's the processor as "AMDprocessor model unknown". With the old proc, it called it by its exact name. AMD Sempron 2600+. Also, aside from this, my system continuously gets that random restart that windows identifies as a "serious error". On top of that, anytime i put a disk in a drive to install a program, whether its a game or a dvd player program, the installer will get up to 5%, then the installer either crashes and takes irreperable damage, requiring a reformat and installation of windows. I mean of course the install shield wizard that XP uses, which is in part tied in the installer on the disk. Thus if the installer crashes installing bejewled twist, then i cant install power dvd, win xp service pack 3 or anything. And either after that happens or if it doesn't, the system experiences a random(or is it?) restart and pops up with the windows recovered from a serious error message.

The only two things i can assume is that either driver robot cannot find the proper driver because the word sempron is not incluyded in the procs name thus it assumes its an athlon xp64 and goes with that, or the processor itself is faulty. Because like I said, most other Semps ive used identified themselves to the system automatically. My system reads this thing like a side character in a sci-fi movie trying to decifer alien text because the main interpreter character isn't around. Thus the system remains stable for anywhere from 5 minutes then restarts to a half hour. Depending on what im having it do at the time.

Of course if i try to install anything, the system crashes within 5 seconds.

Any help would be greatly appriciated. I've already bought that driver robot program and it only made things worse by installing athlon drivers. also i tried e-mailing tech support already. Instead i got a reply stating that support@amd.com, does not exist.

Also if this helps, i know for certain that its not an outdated driver problem, because before the first of 7 reformats this has forced, all hardware drivers were installed and fully up to date, with all hardware performing at top level. So again, its either the system cant look for sempron drivers because it does not know to, or its a faulty processor.

-------------------------
If you game against me, you must really like getting a rocket to your face!

400 watt PS
1.8 Ghz AMD Sempron 3000+
2 GB PC-3200 ram
200 GB HDD Space divided among 3 hard drives
52x24x52x CD-Burner
16x DVD ROM
Gigabyte GA-K8NSP Motherboard
nVidia GeForce 7800GS AGP 8X With 256MB GDDR3 Ram
 04/15/2009 04:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Overmind
Assimilator

Posts: 8052
Joined: 01/22/2004

You should update the BIOS and then your CPU will be correctly detected.

-------------------------

World's best Red Alert 2: Yuri's Revenge mod and Star Trek: Starfleet Command 3 mod: Overmind.ro
 04/16/2009 01:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bogey
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5643
Joined: 03/25/2005

Please list the components of the system, including information on the power supply.

-------------------------
MSI K7N2 Delta2 LSR|35w XP-M2400 11x214 1.62V|2x512MB OCZ EL 2 2 2 11 2.9V|9600XT|Seasonic 350w
Abit AN7|XP-M2800 10.5x227 1.62V|2x512MB Mushkin XP4000 2 3 2 11 3.2V|9600XT|Seasonic 550w
Asus A7V600|XP-M2600 6-11x202 1.6V|2x512 Crucial PC3200 2.5 3 3 9 2.7V|PCI 32MB gfx|Corsair 450w
 04/16/2009 11:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Captain game hard
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 04/15/2009

OK, System specs are as follows:

Power supply: 420 watts
Main board: Gigabyte GA-K8NS Pro
Chipset: nVidia Nforce-3
Ram: 2GB DDR1 PC-3200 400Mhz Hynix memory 2x 1GB
Processor: Currently AMD Sempron 3000+ 1.87Ghz
Video Card: nVidia GeForce 7800 GS w\ 256 GDDR3 Ram AGP8x (yeah baby)
btw\ that card chews 300 watts.

AC97 Realtek onboard sound.
Internet is cricket wireless.
Marvell Yukon 10-100-1000 gigabit lan
Hard drives: 1x 40 gb seagate
2x 80 gb western digital
Optcal drives: 1 Lite-on 52x24x52 CD-RW
1 Lite-on 16x DVD Rom Drive

And the usual assortment of fans and case mod lighting.

Again, a summary of what I think may be wrong.

Driver robot downloaded the wrong drivers, and assumed i was usuing a 64 bit athlon.

The processor is bad.

The power supply is being pushed beyond max. Seems likely because it wont load windows overclocked, when the real power demanding begins.

Or the slot was damaged when i removed the previous processor, because the thermal grease glued the proc to the heatsink.

-------------------------
If you game against me, you must really like getting a rocket to your face!

400 watt PS
1.8 Ghz AMD Sempron 3000+
2 GB PC-3200 ram
200 GB HDD Space divided among 3 hard drives
52x24x52x CD-Burner
16x DVD ROM
Gigabyte GA-K8NSP Motherboard
nVidia GeForce 7800GS AGP 8X With 256MB GDDR3 Ram
 04/16/2009 11:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Captain game hard
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 04/15/2009

Also, if it is the bios that needs updating, my bios is the award modular bios. And im having a very difficult time finding an update, I would really appriciate the URL to the page that has the update.

-------------------------
If you game against me, you must really like getting a rocket to your face!

400 watt PS
1.8 Ghz AMD Sempron 3000+
2 GB PC-3200 ram
200 GB HDD Space divided among 3 hard drives
52x24x52x CD-Burner
16x DVD ROM
Gigabyte GA-K8NSP Motherboard
nVidia GeForce 7800GS AGP 8X With 256MB GDDR3 Ram
 04/17/2009 12:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

Answer Answer
Gigabyte GA-K8NS Pro, BIOS, etc.

-------------------------


Edited: 04/17/2009 at 01:13 AM by go_for
 04/17/2009 02:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bogey
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5643
Joined: 03/25/2005

So what power supply is it?

-------------------------
MSI K7N2 Delta2 LSR|35w XP-M2400 11x214 1.62V|2x512MB OCZ EL 2 2 2 11 2.9V|9600XT|Seasonic 350w
Abit AN7|XP-M2800 10.5x227 1.62V|2x512MB Mushkin XP4000 2 3 2 11 3.2V|9600XT|Seasonic 550w
Asus A7V600|XP-M2600 6-11x202 1.6V|2x512 Crucial PC3200 2.5 3 3 9 2.7V|PCI 32MB gfx|Corsair 450w
 04/17/2009 11:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Captain game hard
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 04/15/2009

It's the power supply that came with the case. It just says "warrior" on the label where the brand/model name would be. Warrior, is also the name of the cases model. I got it from newegg about 3.5 years ago. They don't sell it anymore i dont think. Geeks.com may have it but i doubt it. If you to get an idea of what kind of setup i got as far as a case/powersupply goes, just search for "warrior" in the store directories for cases, but like i already stated, you may have a hard time finding it as its stock power supply is 420 watts.

But if you do find it, mine is the black one. Its a sweet looking case. Altho definetly not the right kind for my motherboard, lol.

The thing can hold 10 drives but the board holds like...13-15 internals.

Oh, I probably shoulda given more detailed specs on the mobo,

4x dual drive PATA
1x FDD cable hook up
4x Single channel SATA
PATA 3 and 4 are controlled by a raid chip that doubles as a standard ATA controller. Which is what i use it for since that allows me more capacity for individual HDD's for storing games.
I suspect SATAs 3 and 4 are also controlled by thatchip but i can tell since those connectors arent detected by the raid bios when it comes time for that chip to boot up.

Sometimes it sucks having 3, count 'em, 3 bios chips.

1 main
1 back-up for the main
1 giga-raid bios

-------------------------
If you game against me, you must really like getting a rocket to your face!

400 watt PS
1.8 Ghz AMD Sempron 3000+
2 GB PC-3200 ram
200 GB HDD Space divided among 3 hard drives
52x24x52x CD-Burner
16x DVD ROM
Gigabyte GA-K8NSP Motherboard
nVidia GeForce 7800GS AGP 8X With 256MB GDDR3 Ram
 04/17/2009 11:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Captain game hard
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 04/15/2009

Originally posted by: go_for

Gigabyte GA-K8NS Pro, BIOS, etc.


Thanks go_for! I will definetly download a new bios and see how that works.

-------------------------
If you game against me, you must really like getting a rocket to your face!

400 watt PS
1.8 Ghz AMD Sempron 3000+
2 GB PC-3200 ram
200 GB HDD Space divided among 3 hard drives
52x24x52x CD-Burner
16x DVD ROM
Gigabyte GA-K8NSP Motherboard
nVidia GeForce 7800GS AGP 8X With 256MB GDDR3 Ram
 04/18/2009 12:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Captain game hard
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 04/15/2009

Kudos to you, go_for!

I upgraded my bios from gak8nsp F10 to F13. Processor has been properly identified. and system has remained stable when i put her through her paces in a way that only a hard core gamer can. Strange....most of the time when i do that, the system gets scared for life....like NPC's in some games run in terror when the player character appraoches when im in control...and the webcam is pointed at me....

not really....

But really its performace with this processor has surpassed its previous performances. Before it would crash with just one internet browzer open. Now im installing 2 games on 2 different hard drives, got amd forums open in one window, playlist.com in another, listening to choke by kazy, and typing this reply in a third. so far has taken several minutes and not even one bit of lag. Not even a reset.

Again, thanks go_for.
My 4 year old system is back in the single core big leagues...Altho it has out classed several dual-cores in its time...heh he he he he.

-------------------------
If you game against me, you must really like getting a rocket to your face!

400 watt PS
1.8 Ghz AMD Sempron 3000+
2 GB PC-3200 ram
200 GB HDD Space divided among 3 hard drives
52x24x52x CD-Burner
16x DVD ROM
Gigabyte GA-K8NSP Motherboard
nVidia GeForce 7800GS AGP 8X With 256MB GDDR3 Ram
 04/18/2009 03:42 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

ok. Thanks for the update

-------------------------
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information