AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Sempron 1.250 ?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/12/2004 04:15 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/12/2004 04:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
colinkhalid
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 11/12/2004

I have just recieves a new PC from Dabs U.K it was sold as an Athlon XP 2800 but on the BIOS screen at boot it say its an Athlon 1.250.

Could this be a Sempron chip with the FSB set incorrecltly ?

Win XP reports it as an Athlon 1.2 (Does not mention XP)

Or have they put the wroung CPU in



 11/12/2004 06:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
eddaweaver
Senior Member

Posts: 1390
Joined: 03/10/2004

the person who built it failed to set the front side bus to 166MHz. It is on 100MHz, and needs to be set to 166MHz for the CPU to run at the correct speed.

You can use this program to see whether the CPU is a Sempron or Athlon XP; if it is an Athlon XP, it should have 512kb of Level 2 cache.

http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php' ">http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php
 11/12/2004 05:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
colinkhalid
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 11/12/2004

thanks for that ! I thought that was the case. Poor service from Dabs in this case

Now I can go ahead and try and sort it out

Thanks again
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information