AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: AMD Sempron Rebooting
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/10/2004 02:53 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/10/2004 02:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tanquecito
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 12/10/2004

Ok, here's a freaky one:

I have an Biostar M7VIG400 Ver 7.1 with integrated, audio, video, lan and modem, with 2x256MB DDR PC 2700 (Centon Electronics inc.) -Taiwaneese brand (And 32MB shared with Video). A AMD Sempron 2400+, various HDD from 80Gig (System) to 2x120 Gig plus a CDRW ( Lite On). All drivers installed from the Biostar CD it came with. It didn't recognize the processor even when setting to 166mhz. Then we upgraded the BIOS to the newer version dated 08/03/2004 from the Biostar webpage. It has a KM266Pro-8235 Chipset.

Since assembled (I sale computers and this is definetely not my first one assembled), everything running as it is supposed to.

Now, the software part:

Installed is Windows XP Pro SP1 spanish ed., upgraded to SP2 from Microsoft's website, Norton 2004, Office 2003. Well, as soon as we started to use Word 2003 with packs installed, the computer started to reboot every other time. Sometimes it lets me work for a while and sometimes as soon as I type just a few words, sometimes when I 'paste' some text from internet, sometimes when I open a file. It's very weird.

So, I took extreme measures: I formatted HDD, I reinstalled Windows XP Pro, SP1, then updated to SP2, Norton 2004, MS OFFICE XP (with it's respective patches), and same problem remained. It reboots the computer or sometimes it just sends a message window with a report number, that in ANY case, can't read it since it reboots the machine.

Hope to hear from sombody soon!

Thanks!

Luis.
 12/11/2004 04:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Riz
B1FF

Posts: 118
Joined: 09/23/2004

the rebooting problem you have is probably because of the SP2.....its going to work fine if you dont install SP2...i have a sempron2400+ with asus motherboard....it started acting wierd...after installing SP2...so i did the same as you did...formatted the HDD and installed the windows.....again...but this time i didnt install SP2...it works fine...

-------------------------
Phenom II X4 965 c2 @3.83Ghz (1.485V) HT@2070 (1.22V) NB@2484(1.23V)
MSI GD70 8GB Corsair Dominator 1656 @ 8 8 8 24
Asus 2x5870 (Crossfire) Stock
Antec 750W Zalman CNPS9900LED
LiteOn Blue Ray 2x WD Caviar Black (Raid 0)
Antec 902 Win7 x64
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information